Secondary Sources
For a more comprehensive list, see the Literature & Languages Databases.
- MLA International BibliographyIndex of research in literature, language, and folklore.
- Literature OnlineA fully searchable library of more than 300,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
Back issues of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences. - Project MuseFull text of over 200 scholarly journals from over 30 publishers.
- Gale Literature Resource CenterProvides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
- Gale Literature Criticism
Criticism published from an author's own time to the present as well as biographical and bibliographical information. Browse by topic, author, and popular literature works.
- Academic Search CompleteThis multidisciplinary database provides full-text for over 3,900 scholarly publications.
P.O.W. Camp, Virginia, 1862
Casino Theatre, Broadway & 39th, 1900
Socio-Cultural History
- Everyday life & women in America : c.1800-1920
Primary source material addressing 19th and early 20th century issues including politics, social and gender issues, religion, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, pastimes, and more.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000Full-text of documents from 1600-2000.
- America : History and Life with Full TextPrimary index for U.S. and Canadian history. Indexes articles, book reviews, and dissertations.
- Twentieth Century Advice Literature : North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the FamilyProvides a visual and searchable archive illustrating how American day- to-day life, attitudes, mores, and behaviors changed over time.
Gilded New York
UT Special Collections
Unique materials on the Civil War can be found in the Libraries' Special Collections, first floor Hodges Library. Here is a guide that will list some of the major collections. Additional items may be located by searching the Libraries' catalog. Civil War researchers may be particularly interested in:
- Henry Pippitt Diaries, 1862-1865Full-text with transcriptions of three journals kept by Union soldier Henry Pippitt intimately describe life in Company G of the 104th Ohio Volunteer Infantry during the Civil War.
- UT Special Collections Civil War Era Digital CollectionThis collection includes full-text of diaries and letters from 1839-1869.
19th Century Newspapers
Access to these databases, except when noted otherwise, is limited to UT users.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. NewspapersSearchable digital images of 19th century newspapers.
- Proquest Historical NewspapersCivil War and Reconstruction era titles include Boston Globe Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, Hartford Courant, Baltimore Sun, NY Times, NY Tribune, and San Francisco Chronicle. Dates vary. You can select newspapers to search from this page by clicking on change button at top of page. Link searches both newspapers and periodicals together.
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1993Early American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, with emphasis on the early years.
- The Civil War Part I: A Newspaper PerspectiveFull-text of the New York Herald, Charleston Mercury, and Richmond Enquirer for the war years.
- Chronicling America : Historic American NewspapersOpen access database of full-text U. S. newspapers developed under the auspices of the Library of Congress. UT Libraries are part of this cooperative venture and have added selected Tennessee newspapers.
- African American Newspapers. Series 1, 1827-1998Provides full-text access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans from more than 35 states.
- African American Newspapers. (Legacy) 1827-1909A collection of 19th century newspapers including:
The Christian Recorder (1861–1902)
The Colored American (1837–1841)
Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851–1855; 1859–1863)
Freedom’s Journal (1827–1829)
The National Era (1847–1860)
The North Star (1847–1851)
Provincial Freeman (1854–1857)
Weekly Advocate (1837–1837)
