This guide provides a list of key databases for the subject along with links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs. Call number ranges and subject headings for finding books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings in the Music Library are also included.
Career information can be found in the Resources for Careers in Music subject guide.
Many of the resources in this guide may also be accessed through the UT George F. DeVine Music Library homepage.
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Revised June 2017, Chris Durman
Journals
- Computer Music JournalCall Number: ML1.C65
- Electronic MusicianCall Number: ML1380.E4
- Journal of Technology in Music LearningCall Number: ML1 .J74
- KeyboardCall Number: ML1.C9153
- MixCall Number: HD9697.P563U55
- Musical America: International Directory of the Performing ArtsCall Number: REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005(***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.)
- Perspectives of New MusicCall Number: ML1 .P47
- RecordingCall Number: ML73.M885
Suggested Links
- 120 Years of Electronic MusicThe history of electronic music from 1800 to 2015
- International Computer Music AssociationThe International Computer Music Association is an international affiliation of individuals and institutions involved in the technical, creative, and performance aspects of computer music.
- Computer Music Center at Columbia UniversityThe Computer Music Center at Columbia University is an innovative music and arts technology facility with a long history of creative excellence.
- Institut de Recherche et Coordination Acoustique/Musique (IRCAM)IRCAM, the Institute for Research and Coordination in Acoustics/Music, is one of the world's largest public research centers dedicated to both musical expression and scientific research.
- The Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States (SEAMUS)The Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States (SEAMUS) is a non-profit national organization of composers, performers, and teachers of electro-acoustic music representing every part of the country and virtually every musical style.
- SynthtopiaSynthtopia is a portal devoted to a wide range of electronic music. The site includes electronica news, music reviews, instrument reviews, and articles.
- Australasian Computer Music Association (ACMA)The Australasian Computer Music Association provides a forum for Australian and New Zealand composers and researchers with an interest in music technology and computer music.
Key Databases
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent places to begin your research:
- Oxford Music Online
Comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship. Search by instrument, era, region, and more.
Search for journal articles on your topic in the following databases:
- Music Periodicals Database
Supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals. Coverage from 1874 to current.
- Music Index
Indexing and abstracts covering every aspect of classical and popular music. Coverage from 1970 to present.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Bibliography on writings about music with some full-text articles. Covers traditional music, popular music, classical music, and more. Coverage from the early 19th century to present.
Listen to examples of computer and electronic music in these databases:
- Naxos Music Library
A streaming audio database featuring a comprehensive collection of classical music. Search by composer, artist, label, and more. Includes guides on musical eras and other topical resources.
- Music & Performing Arts
An audio and video collection for classical, opera, jazz, world, popular music, and American music. Also includes theatre, dance, and film resources.