It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Literature and Pedagagy Guides are designed for use by music faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of each genre. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.
Provides a reliable and authoritative source for scores of the classical canon, as well as a resource for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. The collections encompass all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. With full, study, piano, and vocal scores, this comprehensive collection will enhance the study of music history, performance, composition and theory for a variety of scholars.
Extensive audio and video for classical, opera, jazz, world, & American music.
Includes African American Music Reference, American song, Classical Music Library, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Opera in Video, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, and Jazz Music Library.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliography on writings about music featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It covers over one million publications from around the world on traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects, enhanced with the full text of over 200 periodicals. Coverage begins in the early 19th century and extends to the present.
Music by Black and Latinx Composers for Double Bass
The George F. DeVine Music Library has a robust collection of music by underrepresented composers. To search for printed music in our collection for double bass by Black and Latinx composers, go to the Advanced Search Option in our catalog and search the title field for “Music by Black and Latinx Composers Collection.” Add the term “DOUBLE BASS” in the subject search field. Finally, choose the option at the top of the search box to search the UT Collections.