Critical Race Theory Resources: Library Resources

A new edition of a seminal text in Critical Race Theory. Since the publication of the third edition of Critical Race Theory: An Introduction in 2017, the United States has experienced a dramatic increase in racially motivated mass shootings and a pandemic that revealed how deeply entrenched medical racism is and how public disasters disproportionately affect minority communities. We have also seen a sharp backlash against Critical Race Theory, and a president who deemed racism a thing of the past while he fanned the flames of racial intolerance and promoted nativist sentiments among his followers. Now more than ever, the racial disparities in all aspects of public life are glaringly obvious. Taking note of all these developments, this fourth edition covers a range of new topics and events and addresses the rise of a fierce wave of criticism from right-wing websites, think tanks, and foundations, some of which insist that America is now colorblind and has little use for racial analysis and study. Award-winning authors Richard Delgado and Jean Stefancic also address the rise in legislative efforts to curtail K-12 teaching of racial history. Critical Race Theory, Fourth Edition, is essential for understanding developments in this burgeoning field, which has spread to other disciplines and countries. The new edition also covers the ways in which other societies and disciplines adapt its teachings and, for readers wanting to advance a progressive race agenda, includes new readings and questions for discussion aimed at outlining practical steps to achieve this objective.

The Film Theory in Practice series fills a gaping hole in the world of film theory. By marrying the explanation of film theory with interpretation of a film, the volumes provide discrete examples of how film theory can serve as the basis for textual analysis. The third book in the series, Critical Race Theory and Bamboozled, offers a concise introduction to Critical Race Theory in jargon-free language and shows how this theory can be deployed to interpret Spike Lee's critically acclaimed 2000 film Bamboozled. The most common approach to issues of "race" and "otherness" continues to focus primarily on questions of positive vs. negative representations and stereotype analysis. Critical Race Theory, instead, designates a much deeper reflection on the constitutive role of race in the legal, social, and aesthetic formations of US culture, including the cinema, where Bamboozled provides endless examples for discussion and analysis. Alessandra Raengo's Critical Race Theory and Bamboozled is the first to connect usually specialized considerations of race to established fields of inquiry in the humanities, particularly those concerned with issues of representation, capital, power, affect, and desire.

Critical Race Theory (CRT) in the realm of Education has a long history in the US, and is now a bourgeoning field of inquiry in the UK. Critical Race Theory and Education is the first book-length response to CRT from a Marxist perspective. It looks at CRT's origins in Critical Legal Studies, critiques the work of major US and UK Critical Race Theorists and also looks at some of CRT's strengths. CRT and Marxism are contextualized with respect to both neo-liberal global capitalism and imperialism and to antiracist socialist developments in South America. The book concludes with some suggestions for classroom practice.

This book provides a concise introduction to critical race theory and shows how this theory can be used to interpret Jordan Peele's Get Out. It surveys recent developments in critical race studies and introduces key concepts that have helped shape the field such as Black masculinity, white privilege, the Black body, and miscegenation. The book's analysis of Get Out situates it within the context of the American horror film, illustrating how contemporary debates in critical race theory and approaches to the analysis of mainstream Hollywood cinema can illuminate each other. In this way, the book provides both an accessible reference guide to key terminology in critical race studies and film studies, while contributing new scholarship to both fields.

Over the past decade, Critical Race Theory (CRT) scholars in education have produced a significant body of work theorizing the impact of race and racism in education. Critical Race Theory Matters provides a comprehensive and accessible overview of this influential movement, shining its keen light on specific issues within education. Through clear and accessible language, the authors synthesize scholarship in the field, highlight major themes and assumptions, and examine strategies of resistance and practices for challenging the existing inequalities in education. By linking theory to everyday practices in today's classroom, students will understand how CRT is relevant to a host of timely topics, from macro-policies such as Bilingual Education and Affirmative Action to micro-policies such as classroom management and curriculum. Moving beyond identifying problems into the realm of problem solving, Critical Race Theory Matters is a call to action to put into praxis a radical new vision of education in support of equality and social justice.

What exactly is critical race theory? This concise and accessible exploration demystifies a crucial framework for understanding and fighting racial injustice in the United States. This book explains the centrality of race in American history and politics, and how the often mischaracterized intellectual movement became a political necessity. Ray draws upon the radical thinking of giants such as Ida B. Wells, W.E.B. Du Bois, and Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., to clearly trace the foundations of critical race theory in the Black intellectual traditions of emancipation and the civil rights movement. From these foundations, Ray explores the many facets of our society that critical race theory interrogates, from deeply embedded structural racism to the historical connection between whiteness and property, ownership, and more. In succinct, thoughtful essays, Ray presents, analyzes, and breaks down the scholarship and concepts that constitute this often misconstrued term. He explores how the conversation on critical race theory has expanded into the contemporary popular conscience, showing why critical race theory matters and why we should all care.

In the modern world, ideology is prominent in elite educational journalism. Because of this, for many audiences, it is not apparent what is a myth and what is fact. For time immemorial, journalism has striven to reconcile these challenges. Perspectives on Critical Race Theory and Elite Media uses the tools of critical theory and critical race theory to critique how journalism now resides in something other than reporting facts and considers how elite media instantiates a new understanding of a complicated world. Covering key topics such as segregation, equity, media dissemination, and religious language, this premier reference source is ideal for sociologists, industry professionals, researchers, academicians, scholars, instructors, and students.

Critical Race Theory provides a framework for exploring racism in society, taking into account the role of institutions and drawing on the experiences of those affected. Applied to the world of sport, this framework can reveal the underlying social mores and institutionalised prejudices that have helped perpetuate those racial stereotypes particular to sport, and those that permeate broader society. In this groundbreaking sociological investigation, Kevin Hylton takes on the controversial subject of racial attitudes in sport and beyond. With sport as his primary focus, Hylton unpacks the central concepts of 'race', ethnicity, social constructionism and racialisation, and helps the reader navigate the complicated issues and debates that surround the study of 'race' in sport. Containing rigorous and insightful analysis throughout, the book explores key topics such as: the origins, applications and terminology of Critical Race Theory the meaning of 'whiteness' the media, sport and racism anti-racism and sport genetics and scientific racism. The contested concepts that define the subject of 'race' in sport present a constant challenge for academics, policy makers and practitioners in the development of their ideas, policies and interventions. This innovative and challenging book is essential reading for anybody looking to fully understand this important subject.

Race Critical Theories brings together many of the key contributors to critical theorizing about race and racism over the past twenty years. Each previously published text is accompanied by a fresh statement - in most cases written by the authors themselves - regarding the political context, implications and effects of the original contribution.

The field of critical race theory has gotten increasingly more attention as an emerging perspective on race, the law, and policy. Critical race theory examines the social construction of the law, administrative policy, electoral politics, and political discourse in the U.S. Race Is ? Race Isn't presents a group of qualitative research studies, literature reviews, and commentaries that collectively articulate critical race theory in secondary and post-secondary educational settings. The editors explore links and conflicts with other areas of difference, including language, ethnicity, gender, and sexual orientation, with the goal of opening a dialogue about how critical race theory can be incorporated into education research methodologies.

Critical Race Theory is one of the hottest and most controversial topics in the world today, but what is it, really? Rightly understood, Critical Race Theory is a reinvention of an older, terrible idea, Marxism, using race "as the central construct for understanding inequality" in place of economic class. That is, Critical Race Theory is Race Marxism. The evidence of this claim is so overwhelming upon even casual examination that it is a shock that it isn't immediately plain to everyone who encounters it. Therefore, this book by James Lindsay, the leading investigator of Critical Race Theory, serves less to make the case that Critical Race Theory is Race Marxism and more to serve as a long permission slip to the public to call Critical Race Theory what it plainly is. Race Marxism exists to tell the truth about Critical Race Theory in unprecedented clarity and depth. Across its six weighty chapters, Lindsay explains what Critical Race Theory is, what it believes, where it comes from, how it operates, and what we can do about it now that we know what we're dealing with. It exposes Critical Race Theory for what it is by ranging widely across its own literature and a survey of some of the darkest philosophical currents of the last three hundred years in Western thought. Readers will come away understanding Critical Race Theory and be able to speak the truth about it with authority: Critical Race Theory is Race Marxism, and, like all Marxist Theories before it, it will not work this time.

Far from its origins in US legal studies in the 1980s, critical race theory has grown to become a leading approach to the analysis of racial inequality around the world. It has courted much controversy along the way, often misunderstood and poorly defined. So what precisely is critical race theory and what makes it different from other theories of race, racialization and racism? In this incisive book, Ali Meghji defines the contours of critical race theory through the notion of the 'racialized social system'. He thereby excavates a solid social theory that clears up many empirical and conceptual questions that continue to surface, offering a flexible, practical model for studying structural racism. In making his case, Meghji pays attention to the multiple dimensions of the racialized social system, focusing on core phenomena such as interaction orders, material interests, ideologies, emotions, and organizations. In a context where any work mentioning 'race' gets defined as critical race theory, this book expounds an approach that promises to be more generative for the social scientific study of race.

Critical race theory has hijacked the U.S. education system on every level. Parents, students, educators, and policymakers must know and support the truth about American history and reject this divisive and anti-American theory's obsession with skin color and prejudice. The problem with our nation's schools today is not just the low test scores in basic reading and math--which are an obstacle for the economy, not to mention students' futures. The challenge is that K-12 instruction has been hijacked by Critical Theorists who are "skeptical" of representative government and the freedoms we cherish. The debates over the retelling of America's past, on display in local school board meetings as well as conflicts between the New York Times' 1619 Project and President Donald Trump's 1776 Commission, involve not just historical facts, but how Americans define their nation. This battle over our national identity is a cultural battle, involving schools--cultural institutions--and the ideas we all need to share to get along with our neighbors, raise families, and pursue the American Dream. "Jonathan Butcher is one of our sharpest and most insightful analysts writing about education today. The nation owes him a debt of gratitude for work demystifying an obscure academic field, critical race theory, and fearlessly following where it leads when imposed on our public schools: abandoning the cherished belief that education can be a means of uniting our diverse country and replacing it with a pedagogy of grievance and despair." --Robert Pondiscio, Senior Fellow, American Enterprise Institute and author of How the Other Half Learns "Jonathan Butcher's timely book on critical race theory addresses what I have described as the civil rights issue of our times. Too few Americans understand how this dangerous ideology and how it has seeped down into our K-12 educational system. Butcher's book is part of a collective effort to educate the American people about the infiltration and indoctrination of our educational system." --Dr. Carol M. Swain, a former tenured professor at Vanderbilt and Princeton Universities

Words, like sticks and stones, can assault; they can injure; they can exclude. In this important book, four prominent legal scholars from the tradition of critical race theory draw on the experience of injury from racist hate speech to develop a first amendment interpretation that recognizes such injuries. In their critique of "first amendment orthodoxy," the authors argue that only a history of racism can explain why defamation, invasion of privacy, and fraud are exempt from free-speech guarantees while racist and sexist verbal assaults are not.The rising tide of verbal violence on college campuses has increased the intensity of the "hate speech" debate. This book demonstrates how critical race theory can be brought to bear against both conservative and liberal ideology to motivate a responsible regulation of hate speech. The impact of feminist theory is also evident throughout. The authors have provided a rare and powerful example of the application of critical theory to a real-life problem.This timely and necessary book will be essential reading for those experiencing the conflicts of free-speech issues on campus--students, faculty, administrators, and legislators--as well as for scholars of jurisprudence. It will also be a valuable classroom tool for teachers in political science, sociology, law, education, ethnic studies, and women's studies.