Subject Headings
Rather than standard subject headings, these resources are grouped in the catalog as a local collection using the phrase "Resources for Careers in Music".
Open Access Archives
- The Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) reports archives. Includes consumer trends, sales and revenue, piracy impact, and industry economics.
- Playbill - performance data for Broadway plays with revenue and theater locations listed.
- Pew Research Center Reports on Music - includes demographics, consumer trends.
- Sounds Recording Industries: Occupational Employment Statistics - average salaries, employment rates, etc. for a number of occupations in sound recording industries collected by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Research Guides
- Entrepreneurship & Small Business - this guide includes, but is not limited to the following: how to start a small business, business forms, franchising information, acquiring funding, and business plans.
- U.S. Small Business Administration: Write Your Business Plan
- Industry Research - industry and market research resources
- NAICS codes suggestions:
- 459140 Musical Instruments and Supplies Retailers
- 5122 Sound Recording Industries
- 5162 Media Streaming Distribution Services, Social Networks, and Other Media Networks and Content Providers
- 711130 Musical Groups and Artists
- NAICS codes suggestions:
- Company Research - resources to search for company profiles, financials, top executives, market share, competitors, etc.
Reference Books
Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Reference Section:
- Musical America: International Directory of the Performing ArtsCall Number: Ref. ML13.M83(Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.)
- Money for performing artists byCall Number: Music Library Ref. PN2293 .E35 M66 1992
- Musik-Almanach 2007/2008 : Daten und Fakten zum Musikleben in Deutschland byCall Number: Ref. ML21.G3 M8 2007/2008
Select Print Resources
Retrieve these resources from the Music Library Stacks:
- All You Need to Know about the Music Business byCall Number: ML3790 .P35 2015ISBN: 9781501104893Publication Date: 2015-11-10
Making music in looking glass land : a guide to survival and business skills for the classical performer by Call Number: ML3790 .H54 2003ISBN: 9781892862051- Music Business: the Key Concepts byCall Number: Reference in Stacks ; ML102.M85 S77 2010ISBN: 9780415995344Publication Date: 2009-08-27
- Your own way in music : a career and resource guide byCall Number: Storage stacks ML3790 .U8 1990
- A dictionary of music production and engineering terminology byCall Number: Reference in Stacks ; ML102.M85 W3 1988
- Supporting yourself as an artist : a practical guide byCall Number: NX503 .H66 1989
- The performing artist's handbook byCall Number: ML3795 .P16 1984
- The music business : career opportunities and self-defense byCall Number: ML3790 .W4 1997
- Beyond talent : creating a successful career in music byCall Number: ML3795 .B42 2005
- Making a living in your local music market : realizing your marketing potential byCall Number: ML3790 .W39 2006
- Sound advice : the musician's guide to the record industry byCall Number: ML3790 .W27 1990
- Making a musical life byCall Number: MT170 .H45 2007
- Presenting performances : a handbook for sponsors byCall Number: Hodges PN1590.S7 W6 1977a
- The Music Guide to Austria and Germany byCall Number: Storage ML21 .B77ISBN: 0396072178Publication Date: 1976-01-01
- The American music handbook byCall Number: ML13 .P39 1974
- This business of artist management byCall Number: ML3790 .F7 2004
- More about this business of music byCall Number: ML3790 .K72 1994
- This business of music : the definitive guide to the music industry byCall Number: ML3790 .S5 2003
- Music business handbook and career guide byCall Number: ML3795 .B33 2006
- Music matters : the performer and the American Federation of Musicians byCall Number: ML3795 .S36 1989
- Getting it all together : a handbook for performing artists in classical music and ballet byCall Number: ML3795 .S87 1985
- Opera coaching : professional techniques and considerations byCall Number: MT956 .M66 2006
Current Database and Research Subscriptions
- Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full-text content covering all disciplines of business.
- IBISWorld
Offers current Industry Reports and Risk Reports with market trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, industry growth rates, and more.
- Insider IntelligenceMarket research data and reports from eMarketer and Business Insider Intelligence offering insights and trends related to digital marketing, media, and commerce.
- MarketResearch.com AcademicA collection of full-text market research reports. Includes market trends and analysis and consumer behavior.
- Mergent Online
Corporate profiles, downloadable financial data, stock prices, and annual reports for U.S. and international corporations.
Online Access - 20 simultaneous users - Mintel Academic. Mintel ReportsOffers category specific market research for USA Reports. Each report includes trends, consumer profiles, and interactive databooks.
- Passport
Provides business-related statistics, and market research reports on thousands of product categories and industries. Includes consumers and markets, with extended data with analysis and visualization tools.
- Plunkett Research OnlineIndustry analysis and market research for vital industry sectors. Includes market research and trend analysis, statistic information, profiles of leading companies, association and organizations lists.
- PrivCo
This link opens in a new window
Provides business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
- Winmo
Provides competitive intelligence on media companies, ad agencies, and more.
Now includes the new social media spend module that provides a window to digital ad buying behavior and impression data for Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, and YouTube.
