It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Periodicals and Periodical Culture: Home
This research guide provides an overview of resources related to American periodicals and periodical culture, and supports English 551, "Readings in American Literature."
Full-text of a major Nashville newspaper. Including earlier titles: The Nashville Whig (1812-1817) -- The Nashville Whig and Tennessee Advertiser (1817-1819) -- Nashville Whig (1819-1826) -- Nashville Republican & State Gazette (1827-1834) -- Nashville Republican (1834-1837) -- Republican Banner (1837-1875) -- Daily American (1875-1894) -- The Nashville American (1894-1910) -- Nashville Tennessean (1907-1910) -- Nashville Tennessean and the Nashville American (1910-1920) -- Nashville Tennessean (1920-1922) -- Nashville Tennessean (1923-1972) -- The Tennessean (1972-2002). For later issues of the Tennessean, see Tennessean (Jan. 1, 1999- present) and Tennessean, ProQuest Recent Newspapers (2010-recent except latest 3 months).
Digital access to American periodicals published between 1866 and 1877 from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), one of the most prestigious historical societies in the United States. Covers the Reconstruction era.
Full-text of the The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History’s archive of letters, diaries, maps, pamphlets, printed books, newspapers and ephemera documenting the political, economic and social history of the United States from 1493-1945. The majority of the material is from manuscript collections.
Full-text of periodicals including popular and scholarly titles, children's magazines, and trade journals. Includes American Periodical Series Online and American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries.
A vast scholarly database for finding published material from the 12th century through 1930. This resource is nearly exhaustive in its coverage of historical periodicals: 9,000 periodicals in 17 languages. The majority of the citations link to Open Access repositories for full-text access. Formerly called 19th Century Masterfile (NCM) (1788-1925), indexing American and British periodical literature from the 19th century.
Full-text primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library, including monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues,religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
Hathi Trust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Click on the LOG IN button to get full access. Select University of Tennessee, Knoxville from the drop-down list, and log in with your NetID/password.
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more. Click here to search this database with other primary source databases.
A source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1925 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.
The Modernist Journals Project is a multi-faceted project that aims to be a major resource for the study of modernism and its rise in the English-speaking world, with periodical literature as its central concern. The historical scope of the project has a chronological range of 1890 to 1922,
The Pulp Magazines Project is an open-access archive and digital research initiative for the study and preservation of one of the twentieth century's most influential print culture forms: the all-fiction pulpwood magazine.
A One Search search on the Libraries' homepage will indicate the location of the resource -- library stacks or storage. If the location for an item is Library Storage, you may request a reading room appointment in Hoskins Library, a library pick-up, or an article scan.
When UT Libraries doesn't own a resource you need, you may request it through Interlibrary Services, which will attempt to borrow it from another library. Allow plenty of time for your request to be fulfilled.