Newspaper Databases at UT Libraries
- African American Newspapers. Series 1, 1827-1998Access to the full-text of over 200 U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans.
UT Libraries has access to Series 1 only. - America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1993Search and browse American newspapers across three centuries.
- Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Full-text of one of the most influential U.S. African-American newspapers based in Chicago. It historically covered segregation, Jim Crow violence, the Great Migration, and civil rights. Digitized with full article images. Coverage from 1910 to 1975.
- Harper's Weekly, 1857-1877Full-text access to Harper's Weekly (1857-1877), America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper during the Civil War and Reconstruction.
- The Nashville Tennessean, 1812-2009
Full-text of a major Nashville newspaper. It became The Tennessean in 1972. Digitized with full article images. Coverage from 1812 to 2009.
- The Tennessean, 2010-recentFull-text of The Tennessean from 2010 to current issues.
- Additional Newspaper DatabasesExplore the Libraries' other newspaper databases listed here.
Selected Databases at UT Libraries
- American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian SocietyDigital access to American periodicals published between 1866 and 1877 from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), one of the most prestigious historical societies in the United States. Covers the Reconstruction era.
- American History, 1493-1945From the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, this archive documents American history from the earliest settlers to until the end of World War II.
- American PeriodicalsThis database contains full-text of periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- Archives UnboundDigital collections of historical documents. Collections include material focused on African American and civil rights history, early cinema, and the mountain south.
- C19, The Nineteenth Century IndexMulti-disciplinary database for English language material printed in the 19th Century.
- Eight CenturiesA vast scholarly database for finding published material from the 12th century through 1960. This resource is nearly exhaustive in its coverage of historical periodicals: 9,000 periodicals in 17 languages. The majority of the citations link to Open Access repositories for full-text access. Formerly called 19th Century Masterfile (NCM) (1788-1925), indexing American and British periodical literature from the 19th century.
- Everyday life & women in America : c.1800-1920
Primary source material addressing 19th and early 20th century issues including politics, social and gender issues, religion, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, pastimes, and more.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryA collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Sabin Americana : History of the Americas, 1500-1926Primary source material based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography about the Americas. Includes original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, Native Americans, and more from 1500 to 1926.
- Ulrichsweb
A source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types.
- Vogue ArchiveA searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included, with rich indexing enabling researchers to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
Other Online Resources
- Anarchy ArchivesAn online research center on the history and theory of Anarchism. Provides full-text access to Anarchist periodicals.
- Chronicling America - Historic American NewspapersSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1756-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Library of Congress Digital Periodical CollectionAccess thousands of digitized periodical and newspaper titles from the Library of Congress.
- Making of America (Cornell)The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts. As of March 2018, content is available in the HathiTrust Digital Library.
- Modernist Journals ProjectThe Modernist Journals Project digitizes English-language literary magazines from the 1890s to the 1920s. It also offer essays and other supporting materials from the period.
- Penn's Online Books Page: SerialsThis site lists freely accessible archives of serials (such as magazines, journals, newspapers, and other periodicals).
- Pulp Magazines Project: 1896-1946The Pulp Magazines Project is an open-access archive and digital research initiative for the study and preservation of one of the twentieth century's most influential print culture forms: the all-fiction pulpwood magazine.
- Research Society for American Periodicals: ResourcesThe Research Society for American Periodicals is an interdisciplinary organization of scholars interested in American magazines and newspapers. The "Resources" page provides links to a variety of available full-text magazines and newspapers.
Accessing Periodicals at UT Libraries
In addition to the periodical resources available in the Libraries' databases, UT Libraries' holdings include many periodicals, both in print and on microform.
- Hoskins Library StorageA One Search search on the Libraries' homepage will indicate the location of the resource: Hodges Library Sacks or Hoskins Library Storage. If the location for an item is in Storage, you may request a library pick-up in Hodges Library or an article scan (see the Hoskins Library Storage site).
- Resource SharingWhen UT Libraries doesn't own a resource you need, you may request it through Resource Sharing, which will attempt to borrow it from another library. Allow plenty of time for your request to be fulfilled.
