Original source material from British and European archives for the study of history, literature, sociology, education and cultural studies from a gendered perspective. Includes manuscripts, printed works and illustrations. Topics include: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility and The Body.
Full-text primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library, including monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues,religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes projects and archives with more than 3,600 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents. Also includes reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Full-text documents on important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health. Documents span from 1940-2014, with the bulk from 1950-1990. Formerly called: Archives of Human Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940.
For current newspaper articles, try these databases first.
Note: Due to copyright restrictions, some free-lance articles and images may not be available. You can search for specific titles in UT Collections to see if we have microfilmed copies.