Research Guides: Veterans & Military Affairs: Special Collections

What is Special Collections?

Special Collections acquires, arranges, preserves, and promotes the use of rare and unique materials that support the information, instruction, and research needs of the University of Tennessee community. Special Collections seeks to create and provide broad access to local collections for scholars in regional, national, and international communities, as well as the general public. Special Collections focuses its collecting activities with an awareness of the collecting priorities and holdings of other local, state, and national repositories.

Contact Special Collections

Special Collections

121 John C. Hodges Library
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996

Phone: (865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu
Hours: 9:00am-5:30pm, Monday-Friday

Digital Collections

Digital Civil War Collection
One of Special Collection’s main collection strengths is the Civil War and Reconstruction Era. UT Libraries’ Digital Civil War Collection provides a selection of digitized journals and correspondence. These materials provide unique insight into the era’s military and regional culture by capturing the perspectives and personal experiences of soldiers as well as civilians affected by the war through personal relationships or geographic location.
World War II Oral Histories
Over the last 25 years, the Center for the Study of War and Society (CSWS) at the University of Tennessee has conducted hundreds of oral history interviews focusing on individual veterans experiences throughout the war both and at home and abroad. The oral history audiotapes have now been digitized and mounted online for the broadest possible dissemination by UTK University Libraries.