Path 1 (Quick Approach):

1. Go to Kefauver Help

2. Follow the instructions on that page to find material you're interested in.

3. Write an email to mpa@utk.edu with:

• the MPA number,
• title
• number of the box you'd like to see.

You may only order 1 box at a time.

Path 2 (More Adventurous Approach):

1. Go to the Index of Collections (best viewed in Chrome)

2. Click on the MPA number of the collections you want to look at. A finding aid will appear.

3.  Look over the finding aid.

4. If you find material you want to research:

5. Write an email to mpa@utk.edu requesting the MPA #, title, and box number you'd like to see.You may only order 1 box at a time.

What are the Modern Political Archives?

We keep the records (not just paper, but sound and visual recordings, photos and electronic records) that congresspeople, judges, and other Tennesseans involved in government have created or collected.

Why are these documents important?

Because of the work legislators do: Deciding the rules of the land. Being part of a body that at its best moments ends segregation, brings electricity to the Tennessee Valley, and tries to make life more fair. 

Why should I use archival materials in my research?

Archival records are primary sources: The raw material researchers use to find out about the past.

They differ from secondary sources (books, articles), which may be put together by people who were not involved in the events or the time period they're writing about. 

How can I find materials at the MPA?

If you're doing research on Kefauver, start with this Kefauver page.

The Index of Collections (best viewed with Chrome) provides links to each collection's finding aid, so you can find out more about those papers.

What is a finding aid (or guide)?

A finding aid is a guide to a specific collection of materials. It will:

1. Describe the different parts of the collection and their relationships to one another,
2. Provide a list of the collection’s contents
3. Help you to see what items we have so you can request them by box number.
4. Tell you how you can cite materials you find in the collection. 

Special Collections has produced a video walk-through of a finding aid (after the "how to use 'Scout' intro):
How to Use a Finding Aid

When you request materials, you'll let us know the following information from the finding aid:

--the title of the collection

--the MPA number of the collection. It's like a call number. All collections at the MPA have an MPA number, which looks something like this:    MPA.0101 

--the box or boxes you want from that collection (You will have some idea of what boxes you want from looking at the finding aids or container lists.)

Tips for Using the Modern Political Archives

--Make an appointment via mpa@utk.edu (let us know some times you'd like to come by, between 9am-5pm M-F, in addition to the title, MPA number, and box number(s) you want to look at)

--If you haven't already, fill out the MPA researcher registration form

--Bring a laptop, smartphone* or camera (you can take photos), a pencil, loose paper

--All other material will go into the lockers provided

--Only one box open at one time; only one folder removed from a box at a time

--Use placeholders to mark the location of the folder 

--No food, drink, or gum in the reading room