Colonial and 18th Century Primary Sources: American
- American History, 1493-1945
From the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, this archive documents American history from the earliest settlers to until the end of World War II.
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1993Early American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, with emphasis on the early years. Access limited to UT users.
- Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1815Newspaper full-text from 1728-1800. Access is limited to UT users.
- South Carolina Newspapers, 1732-1780
South Carolina newspapers from the Colonial Period. In 2024, database moved from the Accessible Archives platform to Coherent Digital's History Commons platform.
- American Periodicals
Contains full-text periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Explores primary sources dating from the earliest contact with European settlers to the mid-twentieth century.
Coverage from 1524 to 1997. - Sabin Americana : History of the Americas, 1500-1926Full-text based on the bibliography of works on the Americas compiled by Joseph Sabin. Covers 1500-1926. Access is limited to UT users.
- American Founding Era CollectionSearchable full-text versions of the papers of key individuals in the founding of the American republic.
- Virginia Company ArchivesContains full-text of the Company records plus added material on the history of colonial Virgina.
- Ancestry Library EditionLarge database of information for individuals including census records, birth, marriage and death records and immigration records. Includes material from the 17th and 18th centuries.
- Women and Social Movements in the United StatesFull-text of documents from 1600-2000. Access is limited to UT users.
- HeritageQuest OnlineA collection of six searchable genealogical and historical resources, including U.S. federal census records from 1790-1930 and over 20,000 book titles. Access is limited to UT users.
- Indigenous Peoples of North America
Full-text primary source collection documenting the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge.
Colonial and 18th Century Primary Sources: International
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
Citations to European books and other works related to the Americas. Based on the bibliography "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750."
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural ExchangePrimary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Primary source documents from 1490 to 2007 related to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world.
Colonial and 18th Century Primary Sources: British
- Colonial AmericaThis database provides the complete CO 5 files from the National Archives in London, England. These records cover the official correspondence between the Board of Trade & Secretaries of State & the British colonies in North America and the Caribbean. To be completed with 5 modules. Module 3, which covers the American Revolution, has just been released.
- Colonial State Papers
Access to manuscript papers and bibliographic records concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies. Coverage from 1574-1757.
- Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
A digitized collection of predominantly London newspapers of the 17th & 18th centuries. Also includes broadsides, newsbooks, pamphlets, periodicals, and a few provincial newspapers.
- Early English Books OnlineFull-text of virtually every book printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British North America from 1473-1700. Also includes English-language material from other countries. Digitzed from the Short Title Catalog I and II and the Thomason Tracts.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineFull-text of books published in the United Kingdom and elsewhere in the 18th century.
- Eighteenth Century JournalsFull-text of journals published in the 18th century from the collections of several libraries including the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center, University of Texas at Austin, the Bodleian Library at Oxford, and the British Newspaper Library at Colindale, London.
- U.K. Parliamentary PapersSearchable full-text of House of Commons sessional documents from 1715 to 1834 with supplementary material back to 1688. Contains many key documents for the American colonies.
- Medieval and Early Modern Sources OnlineIncludes full-text of British government documents for the early history of the American colonies, primarily in the Calendar of State Papers colonial series.
