It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This research guide will help students find and cite primary source materials, with special attention to resources related to topics frequently covered in ENGL 102 courses.
Offers access to historic records of the LGBTQ community. Sources in this database include: records of LGBTQ organizations, publications by LGBTQ individuals, and records concerning the government response to the AIDS crisis.
Gaze was a print newspaper published in Memphis, Shelby County, Tennessee, from the late 1970s into the early 2000s, by Memphis Gay Media and later by the Memphis Gay Coalition. This collection of newspapers which varied in frequency through the years was donated to Rhodes College by Vincent Astor. During the late 1970s through the 1990s Gaze was a source of information pertaining to the gay community in Memphis, including articles, news of interest, advertisements and photographs. Topics included gays, lesbians, gay activists, the gay community, the gay liberation movement and others items of pertinence. This long-running newspaper provided readers with a picture of what life was like in Memphis during these years for the gay community.
The Chattanooga Women's Oral Histories digital collection features interviews with women in and around Chattanooga, Tennessee. Interviewees were asked questions such as "What are some of your early memories of Chattanooga?" and "What do you perceive to be the core elements of a successful city?" The interviews celebrate the accomplishments and experiences of women business leaders, advocates, educators, social activists, and community builders across generation, socioeconomic, and cultural backgrounds.
Comprises thousands of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
This publication is the female student handbook published originally by Women's Student Government Association (Associated Women Students) from 1930 to1970. This handbook was then incorporated into a single handbook for all students of University of Tennessee Knoxville.
Offers access to hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Items in this database cover a variety of social topics all from a female perspective.
Provides photographs documenting the National Woman's Party's push for ratification of the 19th Amendment as well as its later efforts for passage of the Equal Rights Amendment. To search this collection use the search bar at the top of the screen. To browse, click the "collection items" button beneath the collection title.
Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time. The database features over 104,729 pages.
Latin American Women Writers is an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and about the feminist movement.