A collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science.
Not a primary source, (this is a secondary source) this food timeline, from 17,000BC - 2013, details the origins of foods and recipes throughout history and regions, including when certain regions began to cook, what they ate, and lists recipes that were used in the past.
The collection includes promotional recipe pamphlets, published mainly by food and appliance manufacturers and trade associations. Dating from the late 19th century to the present, the advertising ephemera reflects the evolution of the modern American diet.
Tennessee Farm and Home Science is a quarterly progress report released by University of Tennessee Agricultural Experiment Station from 1952-1994. This digital collection includes issues from 1952-1990. The publication’s primary focus is on agricultural research conducted at Experiment Stations across the state, but also features faculty spotlights and field day schedules, as well as news about Experiment Station personnel changes.
Tennessee Farm News is a series of weekly news releases published by the University of Tennessee Extension Service. It was published from 1918 through 1989, with several title variations over the years. Announcements cover historical crop yields, market prices, farm facts, and farm shows in the state, as well as home economics topics and 4-H club updates. Courses and agricultural development programs offered by the University of Tennessee are also frequently mentioned.
Virginia Pearl Moore was the first home demonstration agent in Tennessee. She worked to improve schools while also beginning home demonstration work, in particular organizing canning clubs for the young girls in these rural areas. Through canning clubs (sometimes called tomato clubs) girls learned to grow and can their own produce and, to show off what they had learned, hosted demonstrations for their friends and families, and entered competitions at county and state fairs.
Physical books in Hodges Library:
Search for the word cookery in One Search to find cookbooks in Hodges Library. Our oldest cookbook was published in 1792, and is housed in UT Special Collections' Rare Books.
From the University of Wisconsin: books and government publications on the nutritional value of foods, how to grow productive gardens in less than ideal conditions, and cookbooks with recipes for dealing with scarcity; works from the U.S. and England published between 1917 and 1919
Collection documenting the evolution of the restaurant and dining business in Louisiana with copies of menus, news, and other documents related to the industry. Students interested in the history of Southern cooking would be good for this resource.
Offers access to approximately 2000 restaurant menus dating from 1870-1930 collected by Henry J. Bohr, an editor of a 19th century hotel and restaurant trade publication. Contains secondary source material as well as primary source materials.
Collection originating through the energetic efforts of Miss Frank E. Buttolph (1850-1924), a somewhat mysterious and passionate figure, whose mission in life was to collect menus. Offers access to extensive collection of nearly 19,000 restaurant menus.