European History: Primary Source Databases: 20th Century

Primary source material from hundreds of fairs and expositions around the world. Of local interest, the collection has documents from the 1982 Knoxville World’s Fair and the 1913 Knoxville National Conservation Exposition.

Collection includes online versions of wire copy, correspondence, memos, and internal publications from the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive.

Contemporary and historical images from the Associated Press. Includes photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text

A collection of primary source material documenting the First World War. In four parts, Personal Experiences, Propaganda and Recruitment, Visual Perspectives and Narratives, and A Global Conflict.

Color digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 19th and early 20th century London. Also includes secondary sources such as maps and essays.

Primary source documents from 1490 to 2007 related to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world.

Full-text of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century through to the 20th century. Topics range from race to local customs to war.

Primary sources of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries in Britain and the U.S.

Contains speeches, publications, and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs at Chatham House, an international affairs policy institute founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference. Audio recordings from 1966 are linked to transcripts. Coverage 1920-2008.

Full-text of books, serials, pamphlets, and essays published from 1450 to 1914. Collection tracks the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Titles are in English as well as many other languages.

The Times (London) is considered the "world's newspaper of record." Full-text to over 200 years of the publication.

The Sunday Times Historical Archive provides the complete run of the newspaper from 1822 to 2006, including all of its supplements.

A source for the study of political reporting and public opinion in Germany. Coverage from 1918 - 1934 describes and comments on the political, social and cultural events between the end of the First World War and the beginning of the "Third Reich".

Full-text collection of both national and regional British newspapers. Digitized with full article images. 
Coverage from 1732 to 1950.
 

Full-text of an important London newspaper. Coverage from 1896 to 2004.

Full-text of popular British photo-journalism magazine, published from 1938 to 1957.

Full-text of popular British humor magazine.

Full-text of this important business and political magazine. Covers science and technology as well as cultural topics. Coverage from 1843 to 2015.

Complete searchable run of one of the world’s most authoritative daily business newspaper. Great for studying economic and business history and current affairs from 1888 to 2010.

UTK has access to part 1. , 1888-2010.

Full-text of the first pictorial weekly newspaper. Coverage from 1842 to 2003.

Full-text of The Independent, a British newspaper. Coverage from 1986 to 2021.

The Sunday Times Historical Archive provides the complete run of the newspaper from 1822 to 2006, including all of its supplements.

Full-text of one of the oldest British newspapers.

Indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890-1982.

Online Access - 2 simultaneous users

A vast scholarly database for finding published material from the 12th century through 1960.

Newsreels historically shown in movie theatres and television produced by Time Inc. from 1935-1967.