Associate Professor & Music Librarian
Natalie L. Haslam Music Center G04 (ground floor)
(865) 974-9893
Music Subject Guides
The Literature and Pedagagy Guides are designed for use by music faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of each genre. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.
Career information can be found in the Resources for Careers in Music subject guide.
Many of the resources in this guide may also be accessed through the UT George F. DeVine Music Library homepage.
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Revised August 2010, Nathalie Hristov
Suggested Links
Orchestra Video Performances
- Anton Bruckner's Symphony No. 9Berliner Philharmoniker's Digital Concert Hall streams classical music concert videos to your tablet, smartphone, smartTV or PC. The sound quality is similar to that of a CD, and the picture quality similar to HD television. This database provides access to both archived videos and live streams of Berlin Philharmonic productions, as well as several documentaries. Search this collection by composer, conductor, soloist, and/or genre.
Databases and Indexes
- Music Online: Classical Scores LibraryCollection of scores of the classical canon, as well as resources for the discovery of lesser-known contemporary works. Encompasses all major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century.
- Music & Performing ArtsAn audio and video collection for classical, opera, jazz, world, popular music, and American music. Also includes theatre, dance, and film resources.
- Music IndexIndexing and abstracts covering every aspect of classical and popular music. Coverage from 1970 to present.
- Music Periodicals DatabaseSupports music scholarship, theory, and practice with indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals. Coverage from 1874 to current.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full TextBibliography on writings about music with some full-text articles. Covers traditional music, popular music, classical music, and more. Coverage from the early 19th century to present.
- FirstSearchSearch millions of bibliographic records from worldwide library collections.
Journals
- Percussive Notes byCall Number: ML1.P48
- The American Music TeacherCall Number: ML1 .A55
- American string teacherCall Number: ML27.U5 A8356
- Bulletin. - Council for Research in Music Education.Call Number: Hoskins Storage ML1 .C68
- The InstrumentalistCall Number: ML1 .I5
- Journal of research in music education.Call Number: ML1 .J6
- Music educators journal.Call Number: ML1 .M24
- The StradCall Number: ML800 .S87
- Symphony magazineCall Number: ML1 .A7283
- Tennessee musicianCall Number: ML1 .T4
Music by Black and Latinx Composers for Orchestra
The George F. DeVine Music Library has a robust collection of music by underrepresented composers. To search for printed orchestral music in our collection by Black and Latinx composers, go to the Advanced Search Option in our catalog and search the title field for “Music by Black and Latinx Composers Collection.” Add the term “ORCHESTRA” in the subject search field. Finally, choose the option at the top of the search box to search the UT Collections.
