Skip to Main Content

Microform Research Collections: Equipment & Finding Aids

Subject research collections reproduced on microfilm, microfiche, or microcard.

Access to Microform Collections

The holdings of the University Libraries include older newpapers, periodicals, and research collections in microformat. Microforms owned by the library are searchable using the library's online catalog. The catalag is the best place to begin a search to identify which sets are held by the Libraries and individual holdings within the set. Search the catalog by title, author, or subject to retrieve the collection.

Most microform research sets are cataloged by the collective or generic title. Others will have individual records in the catalog for contents of the set when the set has been fully analyzed. The Libraries has added individual catalog records for sets when these records are available. Individual records give the call number, and the reel/fiche number for the title within the set. In some cases, records contain a URL link to the full-text of a title within a digital microform collection.

Microform Readers/Printers

A variety of microform equipment is awailabe for reading, printing, scanning, and saving/transmitting.

Reader/printers - you can view and print
Viewer/Scanners - you can digitize images and transmit them electronically (per Fair Use guidelines)

Equipment is located in:

Hodges Library, Map Services, ground floor. (assistance provided at the service desk)

Hoskins Library Storage, 2nd floor reading room.

Agriculture & Veterinary Medicine Library, Agriculture Campus.

Databases

ProQuest History Vault 
Primary source materials from ProQuest's University Publications of America (UPA) microfilm collection in digital format. Topics include African-American History, Southern plantation records, Vietnam War, Women's rights, American politics, etc.  

Guides to Microform Collections

If there are no analyzed records to identify set contents, the user must consult specialized guides, finding aids, and indexes to help retrieve items included in sets. Microform guides are usually cataloged under the same call number as the associated microfilm or microfiche, even though they may be paper guides. Guides available in print are shelved in Room 120 by LC call number in the Indexes/Guides to Microform Collection along the wall at the back of the microfiche cabinet area.

Online guides may be searched by subject/title/keyword to identify materials in collections. Check the online catalog for UT Library holdings.

  • Adam Matthew Publications
     
  • Black Literature, 1827-1940.
    Full-text on microfiche in Hodges Library Room 120, Call No. PS508.N3B43
     
  • British Parliamentary Papers
     
  • English Short Title Catalogue (British Library)
    An index to works published in the British Isles and North America between 1473 and 1800, mainly, but not exclusively, in English.
     
  • ProQuest/UPA Microform Collection Guides
    Guides to Microforms is a system for searching archival manuscripts in popular microform collections from University Publications of America. It enables researchers to identify primary source documents in such fields as African American Studies, southern history, political history, women's studies, labor studies, international relations, and more. Fulltext contents of source guides to each research collection are included.