Public Opinion:Databases/Data Resources

The databases listed here are useful for finding journal articles. Connect directly to the UT Databases at http://www.lib.utk.edu/databases.

• Academic Search Premier
  Contains both popular periodicals and scholarly journals. "Public Opinion Polls" is a subject category.

• Business Source Complete 
  Covers approximately 3000 business journals. Includes such titles as Advertising Age, American Demographics, and Broadcasting. Major subject headings are PUBLIC OPINION, POLLS AND SURVEYS, ATTITUDE SURVEY

• PAIS International and PAIS Archive 
  Covers a wide range of public opinion information from journals, books, and government documents. Major subject heading is PUBLIC OPINION.
   
• PsycINFO (via ProQuest) 
  An index of the world's psychological journal literature which includes abstracts for articles on the psychological aspects of public opinion. Subject terms are PUBLIC OPINION AND ATTITUDES. 
   
• Sociological Abstracts/Sociofile CSA 
  The electronic version of Sociological Abstracts. Terms are PUBLIC OPINION, SURVEYS, OPINION POLLS, or search the specific subject of interest.
   
• ProQuest Statistical Insight  1973+ 
  This database contains references to statistics from state and federal governments, private publishers. and international organizations. Use terms like attitude surveys, opinion, consumer surveys.

American National Election Studies (ANES)
Public opinion data covering elections, voter participation, and voter characteristics, 1948 - current

CQ Researcher
Contains reports about current and controversial issues. Excellent for finding overviews, pros/cons, and lists of key resources

Gallup
Comprehensive polling of public opinion on a variety of issues, including politics, elections, and the Congress

General Social Survey (GSS)
Data on "the structure and development of american society," 1972-2010

Opinion Archives (1850 - current)
A collection of leading scholarly journals of opinion in politics [and arts and culture]

Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
" ... an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics ... and public policy issues."

Points of View Reference Center
Provides information to multiple sides of a current issue

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
An extensive archive of public opinion information, providing access to the iPOLL database, a database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the U.S. since 1935, and access to the datasets of survey results through RoperExpress. [note:  This link connects you to the iPOLL database. To search the Datasets Collection, click on the Datasets link at the top of the iPOLL page]

Vossische Zeitung Online (1918 - 1934)
The Vossische Zeitung is a source for the study of political reporting and public opinion in Germany. Please click Logout when exiting database
[note: Expressed in German and English; see drop-down menu at right for preference]