Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science

Data Archives - US

Data Archive - University of Wisconsin
The central depository of data collections of the social science research community at the University of Wisconsin. Is possible to download data for secondary analysis

Fedstats
Links to statistical information compiled by more than 70 agencies of the U.S. Government

Harvard/MIT Data Center
The principal distributor of quantitative social science data for Harvard and MIT

Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research (ICPSR)
A membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of research and instructional data for the social sciences

Population Reference Bureau
A "one-stop source" for U.S. Population data. Thirteen subject areas covered. Most of the data is from U.S. Census. Has a lot of charts and tables

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Index to statistical data of all kinds from federal, state, private, and international sources. Links to full-text when available. Previously known as LexisNexis Statistical

Rand Corporation
Contains datasets, public use databases, and research tools covering law and business, health, education, and others

Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN)
" ... a university-based organization that creates demographic media, such as user guides, web sites, and hands-on classroom computer materials that make U.S. census data accessible to policymakers, educators, the media, and informed citizens"

University of Virginia Geospatial and Statistical Data Center
Provides "social science and spatial data and analysis"

U.S. Census Bureau
"... the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy"

Yale University Social Science Data Archive
Direct access to numeric data on the internet

Data Archives - International

EIU Country Data
From the Economist Intelligence Unit – (UT Only) Contains a comprehensive database of economic indicators and forecasts. Data is usually from 1980 forward. Forecasts out 5 years. Also has regional data

GDF Online
Global Development Finance Online (UT Only) From the World Bank, provides access to debt and financial flows for 136 countries from 1970 forward

IDB International Data Base
(UT only) Contains demographic and socio-economic data for over 200 countries

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Index to statistical data of all kinds from federal, state, private, and international sources. Links to full-text when available. Previously known as LexisNexis Statistical

SourceOECD
Online access to Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development); contains statistical data files

WDI
World Development Indicators Online 1960-2007, From the World Bank, provides development indicators, with time series for 208 countries from 1960 to 2007, where data is available

Subject Guide