What's in this Research Guide?
This research guide focuses on the 1925 State of Tennessee v. Scopes Trial, or commonly referred to as The Scopes Trial or Scopes Monkey Trial, and the materials available in Special Collections that discuss the trial itself, along with the perspectives of onlookers locally and nationally. Taking place just eighty miles outside of Knoxville in Dayton, the Scopes Trial brought extensive media coverage to East Tennessee. Suddenly, a small town saw itself at the center of debates around classroom instruction, creationism, and the relationship between religion and law.
The photograph on the left depicts a scene of the Scopes Trial juror's swearing their oath in front of a packed courtroom.
Some Resources on the Scopes Trial
General:
The Scopes Trial: A Brief History with Documents by Jeffrey P. Moran, 2002. KF224.S3 M67 2002
Scopes: Creation on Trial by R. M. Cornelius and John David Morris, 1999. F224.S3 C67 1999
Trying Biology: The Scopes Trial, Textbooks, and the Antievolution Movement in American Schools by Adam R. Shapiro, 2013. QH362.S53 2013
Summer for the Gods: The Scopes Trial and America's Continuing Debate Over Science and Religion by Edward J. Larson, 1997. KF224.S3 L37 1997
Local:
Creation of an Evolving Controversy: A Symposium on the 70th Anniversary of the Scopes Evolution Trial by Bryan College Humanities Council, 1995. KF224.S3 S9 1995
D-Days at Dayton: Reflections on the Scopes Trial by Jerry R. Tompkins, 1965. KF224.S3 T6
You Be the Judge by Timothy Cruver and Janet Cruver, 2000. KF224.S3 C78 2000
A Religious Orgy in Tennessee: A Reporter's Account of the Scopes Monkey Trial by H. L. Mencken, 2006. KF224.S3 M46 2006
Their Stage Drew All the World: A New Look at the Scopes Evolution Trial by R.M. Cornelius, 1981. KF224.S3 C673 1981
Searching in Special Collections
Use the following terms to locate general information and resources related to the Scopes Trial at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville, or the Scopes Trial, more generally. Try combining several terms to return more relevant results.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Digital Resources on the Scopes Trial
- Scopes Photography CollectionProvides a selection of digitized photographs taken throughout the course of the trial.
- Of Monkeys and Men: Public and Private Views from the Scopes TrialCollection of documents and photographs pertaining to the trial.
An Evening with Gordon Burghardt on the Scopes Trial and Evolution in East Tennessee
- Lecture presented by Dr. Gordon Burghardt, UT Alumni Distinguished Service Professor in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary BiologyPresented at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville in November 2024. Recording available via National Center for Science Education
Special Collections and University Archives
1015 Volunteer Blvd.
Knoxville, TN 37996
Go to Special Collections for more information.