Art

New and improved Art Research Guide coming soon - fall 2024. Please contact me if you have questions or suggestions!

- - Louisa Trott, Arts & Humanities Librarian

Resources - Art, general

Full-text Databases

Art full text (H.W. Wilson)
A multidisciplinary database of art information featuring full-text articles dating back to 1995, indexing and abstracting dating as far back as 1984 as well as indexing and abstracting of art dissertations.

Online Access - 4 simultaneous users.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Humanities International Complete
Citations and selected full-text for key Humanities journals. Excellent for cross-discipline searching.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing JSTOR electronic books and articles. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Project Muse
Full-text of scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Oxford Art Online
Search all aspects of art research, including biographies, art forms, geographical areas and time periods, collectors, patrons, styles and themes.
Content includes: Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Citation Indexes

Use Interlibrary Loan to get articles or books you find but that we don't have in our collections. Scroll down to "Borrowing from Other Libraries" at the end of this page to find out more.

ARTbibliographies Modern
Search this index for journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Art Index Retrospective
An archive index chronicling art literature, including fine, decorative and commercial art from 1929 to 1984.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index : A & HCI
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary section of Web of Science covering scholarly literature in the arts and humanities from 1975 to present.
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
International Bibliography of Art
Bibliography for scholarly literature on Western art. Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
Bibliographic access to design, craft and applied arts journals and newspapers, and data on designers and studios. Coverage from 1973 to current.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Click on the LOG IN button to get full access. Select University of Tennessee, Knoxville from the drop-down list, and log in with your NetID/password.

Art Discovery Search more than 6 million records in 60 art library collections around the world within one WorldCat group catalog. The Art Discovery Group Catalogue (ADGC) brings together into one freely accessible search interface millions of records for art resources, many previously not discoverable through OCLC, including Kubikat citations and SCIPIO auction catalog records.

Find Art journals through Browzine or in the stacks

Use OneSearch to locate specific items in UT Libraries' collections or search across a subject area to give broader results.

Use WorldCat to find items at other libraries.

Browse the stacks in Hodges Library! Most of our art books can be found on the 4th floor but some oversized items can be found on the 3rd floor.

Floor plan fourth floor Hodges Library Floor plan Hodges Library third floor

Image Collections

Visit our Images research guide for tips on where to start your search for images.

Our Copyright research guide provides information about the re-use and fair use of images, and other intellectual property rights topics including artificial intelligence (AI).

ARTstor
- This link opens in a new window
With more than 2 million images* (and growing), Artstor is a cross-disciplinary collection of rights-cleared images from around the world.
*Note: The number of images available varies by country due to copyright restrictions.
For more information see ARTStor on JSTOR libguide.
Index of Medieval Art
Images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between late Antiquity and the sixteenth century.
Users of tab/swipe navigation should use the drop-down fields under Filters instead of the checkboxes under "Search Expressions" in Advanced Search. Users of tab/swipe navigation should avoid using an iPad on this website."

Library of Congress

Digital Public Library of America

Discover millions of images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States

Europeana

Discover Europe’s digital cultural heritage - search, save and share art, books, films and music from thousands of cultural institutions. Sections include:

Art Explore artists and art movements, and discover stories about the history of art and its paintings, drawings, engravings and sculptures.
Photography Explore the history of photography, discover incredible images and find out about the photographers behind them.

Your Subject Librarian