Databases
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- America : History and Life with Full Text
Indexes scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada. Some access to full-text articles is available.
- Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full-text content covering all disciplines of business.
- Eight Centuries
A vast scholarly database for finding published material from the 12th century through 1960.
- Gale Academic OneFile
Multidisciplinary full-text and citations database. A great place to begin your research!
- Gale General OneFile
An interdisciplinary database covering general interest magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers, and more.
- Google Scholar
This link opens in a new window
Search across scholarly publications. Review the linked tutorial to personalize your Google Scholar and connect with our University of Tennessee subscriptions. - Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Indexes scholarly literature on world history, excluding the United States and Canada. Covers the time period from 1450 to the present.
Online Access - 6 simultaneous users - Humanities International CompleteCitations and selected full-text for key Humanities journals. Excellent for cross-discipline searching.
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- AHRnet biographical dictionary of British and Irish architects 1800-1950
The AHRnet Biographical Dictionary of British and Irish Architects 1800-1950 includes approximately 3,000 entries extracted from the Art History Research net database Arts+Architecture ProFiles (A+AP). Includes biographical and historical data on over 45,000 architects, painters, sculptors, designers, craftspeople, firms, studios, workshops, guilds, and organizations. It is an ongoing project so will be updated and revised.
- Britannica Academic
Extensive reference material across multiple disciplines from Encyclopædia Britannica and Merriam-Webster's dictionary. Explore through articles, videos, primary sources, biographies, and more.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures who shaped British history.
Online Access - 1 simultaneous user - Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides thousands of biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.
- Tennessee Encyclopedia of History & Culture
A fully searchable version of the print edition. Features updated entries, additional images, plus audio and video files related to Tennessee.
- Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an
An encyclopedic dictionary of quranic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within quranic studies.
- Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Covers popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music.
- Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
An encyclopedia about music all over the world.
- World Book Online
A general encyclopedia covering a wide range of topics.
- Literary EncyclopediaAuthoritative reference work about literary and cultural history with rapid publication and frequent updating of articles.
- Grove Encyclopedia of American Art
A comprehensive and current reference resource for with all aspects of American art and architecture from Native American art to Colonial art to contemporary American art.
- Project Muse
Full-text of scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
