Industry & Market Research
- Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full-text content covering all disciplines of business.
- Catalyst
This link opens in a new window
Provides U.S. consumer statistics on product usage, spending behavior, and media habits that can be used to create customized reports. The data is generated from the Simmons National Consumer Study (NCS), which samples the U.S. population several times a year.
Online Access - 11 concurrent users. Please log-off when leaving site. - GuideStarProfiles on nonprofit organizations, including mission, legitimacy, impact, reputation, finances, programs, transparency, governance, and more. Provided by Haslam College of Business.
- IBISWorld
Offers current Industry Reports and Risk Reports with market trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, industry growth rates, and more.
- Mintel Academic. Mintel ReportsOffers category specific market research for USA Reports. Each report includes trends, consumer profiles, and interactive databooks.
- NetAdvantageProvides access to publications related to financial markets and investing.
UTK Library has access to a limited version of S&P Capital IQ. - Value Line
Investment analysis and research for corporations, industries, markets and economies.
Online Access - 3 simultaneous users
Company Research
- Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full-text content covering all disciplines of business.
- Gale Business. Entrepreneurship
Planning, funding, starting, and managing resources for starting and operating a business. Provides sample business plans, journals, multimedia content, and more.
- Gale Business Insights
Provides company histories, market share articles, business ranking annual, company profiles and industry profiles.
- IBISWorld
Offers current Industry Reports and Risk Reports with market trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, industry growth rates, and more.
- Mergent Online
Corporate profiles, downloadable financial data, stock prices, and annual reports for U.S. and international corporations.
Online Access - 20 simultaneous users - Morningstar Investment Research Center
Current top mutual fund, stock, and ETFs data with portfolio tools and analyst reports.
Morningstar recently discovered incorrectly assigned Morningstar Quantitative Ratings, including associated Quantitative Pillar Ratings, to 1,406 U.S., Canadian, and Luxembourg-registered funds between June 2017 and March 2023. The errors were corrected on March 24, 2023. Any reports using any of the impacted funds, Morningstar Quantitative Rating or associated Quantitative Pillar Ratings from June 2017 through March 2023 in Morningstar Investment Research Center, should be re-run to reflect the current Morningstar Analyst Rating data instead.
Online Access - 7 simultaneous users - PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
Provides business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
Demographics & GIS
- Data Axle Reference Solutions
Directory information and data on millions of U.S. businesses and consumers.
- PolicyMap
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, heath, jobs and more in communities across the U.S. Use for research, market studies, business planning, grant application, and impact analysis.
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
A current summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
- Social Explorer
Current and historical census data and demographic information. Users can create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Online Access - 5 simultaneous users
- U.S. CensusFreely available secondary data collected by the government.
➡️ If you're interested in GIS, check out our other research guide!