Databases for Healthcare Related News
- Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full-text content covering all disciplines of business.
- Factiva
A collection of thousands of full-text magazines and newspapers plus corporate and stock market data.
- PubMed
Essential database for biomedicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and for biomedical articles in life science journals. A product of the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- Regional Business NewsRegional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires. Full-text coverage from 1990 to current.
Medical Databases available from UT Libraries
- CINAHL Complete
A comprehensive database for the literature of nursing and of allied health.
- MicromedexClinical drug information resources, including diseases, labs, toxicology, and patient education.
- PubMed
Essential database for biomedicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and for biomedical articles in life science journals. A product of the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- UpToDate
An evidence-based medicine (EBM) tool that assists healthcare providers with point-of-care decisions.
Access provided by UT Medical Center.
Open Access News Resources
- Becker's Hospital Review
ASC Communications is the source of business and legal information for hospital and health system leaders, owners and operators of ambulatory surgery centers and leaders of orthopedic and spine practices. Titles include Becker's Hospital Review, Becker's ASC Review and Becker's Orthopedic & Spine Review and a variety of webinars and teleconferences.
- Center for Health Care Strategies
This organization specializes in promoting quality health care service in three areas: informed purchasing, consumer action, and managed care best practices. Bibliographies and links in each of these areas lead to additional resources.
- Modern HealthCare
Modern Healthcare provides news and information for the healthcare industry.
- National Institutes of Health
This website is a part of the US Department of Health and Human Services, offers gateways to various national institutes such as the National Human Genome Research Institute and the National Library of Medicine.
- Physicians News Digest
PhysiciansNews.com is a resource of news, information and features for doctors, health professionals and patients. It focuses on practice management issues including business, finance, politics and technology in the healthcare industry.
- RAND Health
RAND Health is a nonprofit research institute that aids policy and decision making by conducting research studies and surveys.
- Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
The website offers information about links to resources and job opportunities. Information on grant application procedures is included.
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)
DHHS website contains news items and opportunities, as well as links to important government agencies such as the Food and Drug Administration, the Centers for Disease Control, and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.