GPS Data Links
- Domestic Names DownloadU.S. Board on Geographic Names
- Tennessee LandformsTom Dunigan
- Tennessee County High PointsTom Dunigan
- US County HighpointsCounty Highpointers
GPS Utilities
- DNRGPSMinnesota Department of Natural Resources -
Transfer gps waypoint, track, and route data between a gps receiver and a computer. Data can then be saved as formats including ESRI shapefiles and Google .kml and .kmz files. - EasyGPSEasyGPS is the fast and easy way to upload and download waypoints, routes, and tracks between your Windows computer and your GPS.
- OpenStreetMap on GarminOpenStreetMap.org
- topoBuilderU.S. Geological Survey (USGS)
Create custom topographic maps on demand. - CalTopoMatt Jacobs
- How to Create Your First CalTopo MapCalTopo.com
- CalTopo TrainingCalTopo.com
- GPS VisualizerAdam Schneider
Allows user to import geographic data into Google Maps or convert data so that it can be used in Google Earth. Also useful for address geocoding, converting files, and drawing profiles. - Coordinate Conversion and Transformation Tool (NCAT)National Geodetic Survey
- ACME MapperACME Laboratories
View, search, and print full screen street maps, satellite imagery, and topographic maps. - Historical Magnetic DeclinationNOAA National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)
GPS Websites
- USGS Global Positioning Application and PracticeU.S. Geological Survey
- Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS)U.S.D.A. Forest Service
- Navigation CenterU.S. Coast Guard
Story Maps
- Out of Eden Walk: Milestone MapNational Geographic Out of Eden Walk
- On Foot in the Path of the Silk RoadNational Geographic Out of Eden Walk
- The Kinks MapNational Geographic Out of Eden Walk
- The Police Stops MapNational Geographic Our of Eden Walk
Physical books available through the UT Libraries
From here to there : the art and science of finding and losing our way by
A Wired Most Fascinating Book of the Year A wise and insightful exploration of human navigation, what it means to be lost, and how we find our way. How is it that we can walk unfamiliar streets while maintaining a sense of direction? Come up with shortcuts on the fly, in places we've never traveled? The answer is the complex mental map in our brains. This feature of our cognition is easily taken for granted, but it's also critical to our species' evolutionary success. In From Here to There, Michael Bond tells stories of the lost and found--Polynesian sailors, orienteering champions, early aviators--and surveys the science of human navigation. Navigation skills are deeply embedded in our biology. The ability to find our way over large distances in prehistoric times gave Homo sapiens an advantage, allowing us to explore the farthest regions of the planet. Wayfinding also shaped vital cognitive functions outside the realm of navigation, including abstract thinking, imagination, and memory. Bond brings a reporter's curiosity and nose for narrative to the latest research from psychologists, neuroscientists, animal behaviorists, and anthropologists. He also turns to the people who design and expertly maneuver the world we navigate: search-and-rescue volunteers, cartographers, ordnance mappers, urban planners, and more. The result is a global expedition that furthers our understanding of human orienting in the natural and built environments. A beguiling mix of storytelling and science, From Here to There covers the full spectrum of human navigation and spatial understanding. In an age of GPS and Google Maps, Bond urges us to exercise our evolved navigation skills and reap the surprising cognitive rewards.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G71.5 .B66 2020ISBN: 9780674244573Publication Date: 2020-05-12
Geographical and fingerprinting data for positioning and navigation systems : challenges, experiences and technology roadmap by
Geographical and Fingerprinting Data for Positioning and Navigation Systems: Challenges, Experiences and Technology Roadmap explores the state-of-the -art software tools and innovative strategies to provide better understanding of positioning and navigation in indoor environments using fingerprinting techniques. The book provides the different problems and challenges of indoor positioning and navigation services and shows how fingerprinting can be used to address such necessities. This advanced publication provides the useful references educational institutions, industry, academic researchers, professionals, developers and practitioners need to apply, evaluate and reproduce this book's contributions. The readers will learn how to apply the necessary infrastructure to provide fingerprinting services and scalable environments to deal with fingerprint data.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.212 .G465 2019ISBN: 9780128131893Publication Date: 2018-09-14
GPS by
A concise history of GPS, from its military origins to its commercial applications and ubiquity in everyday life. GPS is ubiquitous in everyday life. GPS mapping is standard equipment in many new cars and geolocation services are embedded in smart phones. GPS makes Uber and Lyft possible; driverless cars won't be able to drive without it. In this volume in the MIT Press Essential Knowledge series, Paul Ceruzzi offers a concise history of GPS, explaining how a once-obscure space technology became an invisible piece of our infrastructure, as essential to modern life as electric power or clean water. GPS relays precise time and positioning information from orbiting satellites to receivers on the ground, at sea, and in the air. It operates worldwide, and its basic signals are free, although private companies can commodify the data provided. Ceruzzi recounts the origins of GPS and its predecessor technologies, including early aircraft navigation systems and satellites. He describes the invention of GPS as a space technology in the post-Apollo, pre-Space Shuttle years and its first military and commercial uses. Ceruzzi explains how the convergence of three major technological developments--the microprocessor, the Internet, and cellular telephony--enabled the development and application of GPS technology. Recognizing the importance of satellite positioning systems in a shifting geopolitical landscape--and perhaps doubting U.S. assurances of perpetual GPS availability--other countries are now building or have already developed their own systems, and Ceruzzi reports on these efforts in the European Union, Russia, India, China, and Japan.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G109.5 .C47 2018ISBN: 9780262535953Publication Date: 2018-10-19
Pinpoint : how GPS is changing technology, culture, and our minds by
Over the last fifty years, humanity has developed an extraordinary shared utility: the Global Positioning System. Even as it guides us across town, GPS helps land planes, route mobile calls, anticipate earthquakes, predict weather, locate oil deposits, measure neutrinos, grow our food, and regulate global finance. It is as ubiquitous and essential as another Cold War technology, the Internet. In Pinpoint, Greg Milner takes us on a fascinating tour of a hidden system that touches almost every aspect of our modern life.While GPS has brought us breathtakingly accurate information about our planetary environment and physical space, it has also created new forms of human behavior. We have let it saturate the world's systems so completely and so quickly that we are just beginning to confront the possible consequences. A single GPS timing flaw, whether accidental or malicious, could bring down the electrical grid, hijack drones, or halt the world financial system. The use, and potential misuse, of GPS data by government and corporations raise disturbing questions about ethics and privacy. GPS may be altering the nature of human cognition--possibly even rearranging the gray matter in our heads.Pinpoint tells the sweeping story of GPS from its conceptual origins as a bomb guidance system to its presence in almost everything we do. Milner examines the different ways humans have understood physical space, delves into the neuroscience of cognitive maps, and questions GPS's double-edged effect on our culture. A fascinating and original story of the scientific urge toward precision, Pinpoint offers startling insight into how humans understand their place in the world.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G109.5 .M55 2016ISBN: 9780393089127Publication Date: 2016-05-03
Finding north : how navigation makes us human by
Navigation is the key human skill. It's something we do everywhere, whether feeling our way through a bedroom in the dark, or charting a ship's course. But how does navigation affect our brains, our memory, ourselves? In 1844, Foy's great-great grandfather, captain of a Norwegian cargo ship, perished at sea after getting lost in a snowstorm. Foy decides to unravel the mystery by re-creating his ancestor's trip using only period instruments. At the heart of Foy's story is this fact: navigation and the brain's memory centres are inextricably linked. As Foy unravels the secret behind Halvor's death, he also discovers why forsaking our navigation skills in favour of GPS may lead not only to Alzheimers and other diseases of memory, but to losing a key part of what makes us human.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks VK15 .F69 2016ISBN: 9781250052681Publication Date: 2016-05-10
GNSS Interference, Threats, and Countermeasures by
GNSS Interference Threats and Countermeasures: Modern society is highly reliant on global navigation satellite systems (GNSS) and satellite and radio navigation are evolving at an accelerating pace. This new resource provides a comprehensive survey of the effect of radio-frequency interference (RFI) on GNSS, along with a detailed presentation of spoofing threats. Through in-depth case studies and practical applications, this book ultimately helps engineers and scientists design and implement robust systems to meet the needs of their challenging projects. The techniques investigated in this book take advantage of the increased computational capabilities of GNSS receivers, allowing for the implementation of more sophisticated signal processing algorithms. Contents Overview: The Interference Threat; Classification of Interfering Sources and Analysis of the Effects on GNSS Receivers; The Spoofing Menace; Analytical Assessment of Interference on GNSS Signals; Interference Detection Strategies; Classical Digital Signal Processing Countermeasures to Interference in GNSS; Interference Mitigation Based on Transformed Domain Techniques; Antispoofing Techniques for GNSS. Book jacket.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks TK6553 .G57 2015ISBN: 9781608078103Publication Date: 2015-01-31
Indoor Wayfinding and Navigation by
Outdoor wayfinding and navigation systems and services have become indispensable in people's mobility in unfamiliar environments. Advances in key technologies (e.g., positioning and mobile devices), has spurred interest in research and development of indoor wayfinding and navigation systems and services in recent years. Indoor Wayfinding and Navigation provides both breadth and depth of knowledge in designing and building indoor wayfinding and navigation systems and services. It covers the types of sensors both feasible and practical for localization of users inside buildings. The book discusses current approaches, techniques, and technologies for addressing issues in indoor wayfinding and navigation systems and services. It includes coverage of the cognitive, positioning, mapping, and application perspectives, an unusual but useful combination of information. This mix of different perspectives helps you better understand the issues and challenges of building indoor wayfinding and navigation systems and services, how they are different from those used outdoors, and how they can be used efficiently and effectively in challenging applications. Written by well-known specialists in the field, the book addresses all aspects of indoor wayfinding and navigation. It includes the latest research developments on the topic, succinctly covers the fundamentals, and details the issues and challenges in building new systems and services. With this information, you can design indoor wayfinding and navigation systems and services for a variety of uses and users.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks TK5103.48323 .I54 2015ISBN: 9781482230840Publication Date: 2015-03-25
Time and Navigation : The Untold Story of Getting from Here to There by
If you want to know where you are, you need a good clock. The surprising connection between time and placeais explored inaTime and Navigation- The Untold Story of Getting from Here to There, the companion book to the National Air and Space Museum exhibition of the same name. Today we use smartphones and GPS, but navigating has not always been so easy. The oldest "clock" is Earth itself, and the oldest means of keeping time came from observing changes in the sky. Early mariners like the Vikings accomplished amazing feats of navigation without using clocks at all. Pioneering seafarers in the Age of Exploration used dead reckoning and celestial navigation; later innovations such as sextants and marine chronometers honed these techniques by measuring latitude and longitude. When explorers turned their sights to the skies, they built on what had been learned at sea. For example, Charles Lindbergh used a bubble sextant on his record-breaking flights. World War II led to the development of new flight technologies, notably radio navigation, since celestial navigation was not suited for all-weather military operations. These forms of navigation were extended and enhanced when explorers began guiding spacecraft into space and across the solar system. Astronauts combined celestial navigation technology with radio transmissions. The development of the atomic clock revolutionized space flight because it could measure billionths of a second, thereby allowing mission teams to navigate more accurately. Scientists and engineers applied these technologies to navigation on earth to develop space-based time and navigation services such as GPS that is used every day by people from all walks of life. While the history of navigation is one of constant change and innovation, it is also one of remarkable continuity. Time and Navigationtells the story of navigation to help us understand where we have been and how we got there so that we can understand where we are going.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks VK555 .J64 2015ISBN: 9781588344915Publication Date: 2015-05-19
Close up at a distance : mapping, technology, and politics by
The past two decades have seen revolutionary shifts in our ability to navigate, inhabit, and define the spatial realm. The data flows that condition much of our lives now regularly include Global Positioning System (GPS) readings and satellite images of a quality once reserved for a few militaries and intelligence agencies, and powerful geographic information system (GIS) software is now commonplace. These new technologies have raised fundamental questions about the intersection between physical space and its representation, virtual space and its realization. In Close Up at a Distance, Laura Kurgan offers a theoretical account of these new digital technologies of location and a series of practical experiments in making maps and images with spatial data. Neither simply useful tools nor objects of wonder or anxiety, the technologies of GPS, GIS, and satellite imagery become, in this book, the subject and the medium of a critical exploration. Close Up at a Distance records situations of intense conflict and struggle, on the one hand, and fundamental transformations in our ways of seeing and of experiencing space, on the other. Kurgan maps and theorizes mass graves, incarceration patterns, disappearing forests, and currency flows in a series of cases that range from Kuwait (1991) to Kosovo (1999), New York (2001) to Indonesia (2010). Using digital spatial hardware and software designed for military and governmental use in reconnaissance, secrecy, monitoring, ballistics, the census, and national security, Kurgan engages and confronts the politics and complexities of these technologies and their uses. At the intersection of art, architecture, activism, and geography, she uncovers, in her essays and projects, the opacities inherent in the recording of information and data and reimagines the spaces they have opened up.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G70.4 .K87 2013ISBN: 9781935408284Publication Date: 2013-03-26
The Lost Art of Finding Our Way by
Long before GPS, Google Earth, and global transit, humans traveled vast distances using only environmental clues and simple instruments. John Huth asks what is lost when modern technology substitutes for our innate capacity to find our way. Encyclopedic in breadth, weaving together astronomy, meteorology, oceanography, and ethnography, The Lost Art of Finding Our Way puts us in the shoes, ships, and sleds of early navigators for whom paying close attention to the environment around them was, quite literally, a matter of life and death. Haunted by the fate of two young kayakers lost in a fogbank off Nantucket, Huth shows us how to navigate using natural phenomenaâe"the way the Vikings used the sunstone to detect polarization of sunlight, and Arab traders learned to sail into the wind, and Pacific Islanders used underwater lightning and âeoereadâe#157; waves to guide their explorations. Huth reminds us that we are all navigators capable of learning techniques ranging from the simplest to the most sophisticated skills of direction-finding. Even today, careful observation of the sun and moon, tides and ocean currents, weather and atmospheric effects can be all we need to find our way. Lavishly illustrated with nearly 200 specially prepared drawings, Huthâe(tm)s compelling account of the cultures of navigation will engross readers in a narrative that is part scientific treatise, part personal travelogue, and part vivid re-creation of navigational history. Seeing through the eyes of past voyagers, we bring our own world into sharper view.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks VK15 .H87 2013ISBN: 9780674072824Publication Date: 2013-05-15
GPS/GNSS Antennas by
This practical resource provides a current and comprehensive treatment of GPS/GNSS antennas, taking into account modernized systems and new and developing applications. The book presents a number of key applications, describing corresponding receiver architectures and antenna details. You find important discussions on antenna characteristics, including theory of operation, gain, bandwidth, polarization, phase center, mutual coupling effects, and integration with active components. Moreover, you get expert guidance on the design of adaptive arrays and signal processing techniques used to mitigate interference such as jamming. Addressing critical GNSS antenna high precision requirements, this in-depth book explains the relationships between antenna gain, satellite visibility, geometric dilution of precision, and the carrier-to-noise density ratio. The book delineates requirements for both dual-band and tri-band antennas. You get detailed coverage of a wide range of antenna designs, including microstrip patch, quadrafilar helix, axial mode helix, spiral, inverted L, and planar inverted F antennas. Moreover, you find a discussion on new magnetic metamaterialù substrates and other dielectric substrate materials. Further, this comprehensive book presents designs for very compact GNSS antennas for personal handheld devices and automobiles.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks TK7871.6 .R3 2013ISBN: 9781596931503Publication Date: 2012-10-31
Landscape surveying using handheld GPS receivers by
SWAAG is a group of enthusiasts in the northernmost Yorkshire dales who are contributing to the historical knowledge base through archaeological and related activity. With the examples described are archaeological, the techniques can be directly applied to any landscape feature in any area of interest. The methods described are in easy to follow steps and illustrated with diagrams. All software requirements (mainly freeware) are described, along with guidelines on buying a suitable GPSr.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G109.5 .E37 2012ISBN: 1471062961Publication Date: 2012
The science of navigation : from dead reckoning to GPS by
In today's world of online maps and travel directions delivered wirelessly to hand-held devices, getting from place to place requires little thought from most of us--which is a good thing, since accurate navigation can be tricky. Get your bearings with Mark Denny--an expert at explaining scientific concepts in non-technical language--in this all-encompassing look at the history and science of navigation. Denny's tour kicks off with key facts about the earth and how its physical properties affect travel. He discusses cartography and early mapmakers, revealing fascinating tidbits such as how changes over time of the direction of true north, as well as of magnetic north, impacted navigation. Denny details the evolution of navigation from the days of coastal piloting to GPS and other modern-day technologies. He explains the scientific breakthroughs in accessible, amusing terms and provides an insightful look at their effects on societies, cultures, and human advancement. Throughout, Denny frames the long history of navigation with amazing tales of such people as Pytheas, an ancient Greek navigator, and Sir Francis Drake and of such discoveries as the magnetic compass and radio direction finding. Whether you have an interest in orienteering and geocaching or want to know more about the critical role navigation has played in human survival and progress since ancient people learned to use lodestones, The Science of Navigation is for you. With it you'll finally understand the why of wayfinding.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks VK559 .D44 2012ISBN: 9781421405117Publication Date: 2012-06-29
GPS & Google Earth for development : how to create, share and collaborate with maps on the net by
This book shows you how to use a GPS and Google Earth to create simple and expressive maps to share on the web like the one shown on the cover. With a reading time of a mere 10 hours you will learn to work with a GPS without making mistakes, to use it with Google Earth including in areas without internet access and to quickly create diverse interactive maps that other people can see and modify over the internet without the need for experts or unnecessary complications. Even though it has been written in the context of Relief and Development work, the same process is valid for whatever other application.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G109.5 .A76 2012ISBN: 9788461602353Publication Date: 2012-09-01
Backpacker Magazine's using a GPS : digital trip planning, recording, and sharing by
Backpacker's Using a GPS: Digital Trip Planning, Recording, and Sharing is a complete guide to the digital mapping revolution including how to do it and how to join it. Plan your trip, record it with GPS, edit and enhance your maps (photos and videos), and share with the world. Include out-in-the-field instructions for using a GPS; how GPS works; basic field techniques; computer-based mapping with GPS; conventional navigation skills, etc. This handy pocket-sized guide is 96 pages, includes two popouts, and incorporates color photos, charts, and illustrations as needed throughout the interior.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GV191.623 .G78 2011ISBN: 9780762756551Publication Date: 2011-02-01
U. S. Army Map Reading and Navigation by
It requires no prior knowledge of these subjects. Sections include map care, comprehension of map symbols, military symbols, grid reference systems, and interpretation of aerial photographs. After the basics are covered, the second half moves to land navigation - varying terrains, elevations, day-night variations. Map and compass work is thoroughly explained. Finally, extreme scenarios - desert, mountain, jungle, arctic, and urban terrains - are all explored.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks UA990 .U48 2009ISBN: 9781602397026Publication Date: 2009-07-27
UTM Using your GPS with the Universal Transverse Mercator Coordinate System by
This booklet is a great starting point for beginning GPS users and folks that want to learn about UTM, MGRS, and USNG coordinates. With lots of illustrations and step by step instructions, readers will be converting between map locations and UTM coordinates in no time! Inexpensive GPS receivers have brought the ability to determine accurate geographic positioning to both professionals and recreational users. To relate the GPS reading to a map, the user needs to understand how to use geographic coordinate systems. Many new GPS users are discovering what military and rescue forces have known for years. UTM coordinates are much easier to work with than latitude longitude coordinates. Includes a 1:24,000 scale, 1km, pocket sized, UTM Grid Tool for use with 7.5 minute USGS topographic maps.
Call Number: Hoskins Storage Map Reference GA110 .C37 2007ISBN: 9780971090118Publication Date: 2007-02-01
Cartographies of Travel and Navigation by
Finding one's way with a map is a relatively recent phenomenon. In premodern times, maps were used, if at all, mainly for planning journeys in advance, not for guiding travelers on the road. With the exception of navigational sea charts, the use of maps by travelers only became common in the modern era; indeed, in the last two hundred years, maps have become the most ubiquitous and familiar genre of modern cartography. Examining the historical relationship between travelers, navigation, and maps, Cartographies of Travel and Navigation considers the cartographic response to the new modalities of modern travel brought about by technological and institutional developments in the twentieth century. Highlighting the ways in which the travelers, operators, and planners of modern transportation systems value maps as both navigation tools and as representatives of a radical new mobility, this collection brings the cartography of travel--by road, sea, rail, and air--to the forefront, placing maps at the center of the history of travel and movement. Richly and colorfully illustrated, Cartographies of Travel and Navigation ably fills the void in historical literature on transportation mapping.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GA108 .C35 2006ISBN: 0226010740Publication Date: 2006-10-01
Fun with GPS by
For the millions of GPS owners who love their GPS units but don't know all they can do with them, this fun guide shows that a GPS can do a lot more than just calculate a location. Dozens of illustrated examples show how a GPS can be attached to a multitude of devices, including dogsleds, race cars, hot-air balloons, windsurfers, pet animals, ski racers, hockey players, and sailboats. Each example includes maps and photographs to inspire hobbyists, airline passengers, athletes, animal lovers, drivers, teachers, and students to track and map their activities. How to incorporate GPS mapping technology in the classroom in order to reinforce science, math, and geography curricula, provide the groundwork for project-based learning, and show students that their schoolwork is important and relevant is discussed.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks G109.5 .C645 2005ISBN: 9781589480872Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Geocaching : hike and seek with your GPS by
This is the only book out on a phenomenon that has been growing at exponential rates since its introduction in 2000: hundreds of thousands of people participate. * Geocaching has received wide coverage on television, radio, newspapers, and magazines--it is particularly popular with extreme sports and high-tech aficionados. * Teaches navigation techniques, including GPS, compass, and map; offers effective strategies for geocaching tournaments and events.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GV1202 .G46 S54 2004ISBN: 9781590591222Publication Date: 2004-04-07
e-Books available through the UT Libraries
Global navigation satellite systems : new technologies and applications by
Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) and their associated technologies have advanced by leaps and bounds in the nine years since the first edition of this book was published. The concept of survey has changed, especially in the disciplines of geomatics and geoinformatics. This revised and updated second edition provides a thorough understanding of the basic principles and techniques of GNSS, analyzes all four active systems, and explains clearly how each of these systems works. Because of its straightforward treatment of the subject, readers will gain an insight into the techniques, trends, and applications of GNSS and develop knowledge on selecting an appropriate GNSS instrument. Written for students and practitioners in geoinformatics, geomatics engineering, surveying, and remote sensing and GIS, this introductory and practical book includes questions and exercises in each chapter. Key Features: * Furnishes detailed information on GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou, and other regional and augmented systems * Provides practical guidance for surveying, mapping, and navigation with GNSS * Sheds light on the latest developments and modern trends of GNSS * Includes a detailed glossary of related terms * Contains many illustrations that complement the text * Exercises for each chapter * MCQ, solution manual for mathematical problems, and PPT as online resources
ISBN: 9781003148753Publication Date: 2021-05-09
Global Navigation Satellite System Monitoring of the Atmosphere by
Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) monitoring of the atmosphere is an interdisciplinary topic: a collaboration between geodetic and atmospheric communities. As such, this topic requires sufficient basic knowledge about both GNSS and the atmosphere. Global Navigation Satellite System Monitoring of the Atmosphere begins by introducing GNSS, its components, and signals. It then explains the basics of the atmosphere, starting from the ionosphere to the troposphere. The GNSS tropospheric monitoring is separated for application in numerical weather prediction and nowcasting. Further chapters focus on the application of GNSS for monitoring the climate as well as soil moisture. Finally, the book concludes by discussing GNSS processing along with introducing the latest developments and applications for using atmospheric data to provide precise real-time GNSS products. Explains the basics of GNSS positioning and signals Includes the state of the art in GNSS observations of the atmosphere and hydrosphere Presents the basics of numerical weather prediction and analysis
ISBN: 9780128191538Publication Date: 2021-09-11
Spatial Computing by
An accessible guide to the ideas and technologies underlying such applications as GPS, Google Maps, Pokémon Go, ride-sharing, driverless cars, and drone surveillance. Billions of people around the globe use various applications of spatial computing daily--by using a ride-sharing app, GPS, the e911 system, social media check-ins, even Pokémon Go. Scientists and researchers use spatial computing to track diseases, map the bottom of the oceans, chart the behavior of endangered species, and create election maps in real time. Drones and driverless cars use a variety of spatial computing technologies. Spatial computing works by understanding the physical world, knowing and communicating our relation to places in that world, and navigating through those places. It has changed our lives and infrastructures profoundly, marking a significant shift in how we make our way in the world. This volume in the MIT Essential Knowledge series explains the technologies and ideas behind spatial computing. The book offers accessible descriptions of GPS and location-based services, including the use of Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and RFID for position determination out of satellite range; remote sensing, which uses satellite and aerial platforms to monitor such varied phenomena as global food production, the effects of climate change, and subsurface natural resources on other planets; geographic information systems (GIS), which store, analyze, and visualize spatial data; spatial databases, which store multiple forms of spatial data; and spatial statistics and spatial data science, used to analyze location-related data.
ISBN: 9780262356800Publication Date: 2020-01-24
Global Navigation Satellite Systems, Inertial Navigation, and Integration by
Covers significant changes in GPS/INS technology, and includes new material on GPS, GNSSs including GPS, Glonass, Galileo, BeiDou, QZSS, and IRNSS/NAViC, and MATLAB programs on square root information filtering (SRIF) This book provides readers with solutions to real-world problems associated with global navigation satellite systems, inertial navigation, and integration. It presents readers with numerous detailed examples and practice problems, including GNSS-aided INS, modeling of gyros and accelerometers, and SBAS and GBAS. This revised fourth edition adds new material on GPS III and RAIM. It also provides updated information on low cost sensors such as MEMS, as well as GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou, QZSS, and IRNSS/NAViC, and QZSS. Revisions also include added material on the more numerically stable square-root information filter (SRIF) with MATLAB programs and examples from GNSS system state filters such as ensemble time filter with square-root covariance filter (SRCF) of Bierman and Thornton and SigmaRho filter. Global Navigation Satellite Systems, Inertial Navigation, and Integration, 4th Edition provides: Updates on the significant upgrades in existing GNSS systems, and on other systems currently under advanced development Expanded coverage of basic principles of antenna design, and practical antenna design solutions More information on basic principles of receiver design, and an update of the foundations for code and carrier acquisition and tracking within a GNSS receiver Examples demonstrating independence of Kalman filtering from probability density functions of error sources beyond their means and covariances New coverage of inertial navigation to cover recent technology developments and the mathematical models and methods used in its implementation Wider coverage of GNSS/INS integration, including derivation of a unified GNSS/INS integration model, its MATLAB implementations, and performance evaluation under simulated dynamic conditions Global Navigation Satellite Systems, Inertial Navigation, and Integration, Fourth Edition is intended for people who need a working knowledge of Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS), Inertial Navigation Systems (INS), and the Kalman filtering models and methods used in their integration.
ISBN: 9781119547815Publication Date: 2020-02-05
Human spatial cognition and experience : mind in the world, world in the mind by
This book offers students an introduction to human spatial cognition and experience and is designed for graduate and advanced undergraduate students who are interested in the study of maps in the head and the psychology of space. We live in space and space surrounds us. We interact with space all the time, consciously or unconsciously, and make decisions and actions based on our perceptions of that space. Have you ever wondered how some people navigate perfectly using maps in their heads while other people get lost even with a physical map? What do you mean when you say you have a poor "sense of direction"? How do we know where we are? How do we use and represent information about space? This book clarifies that our knowledge and feelings emerge as a consequence of our interactions with the surrounding space, and show that the knowledge and feelings direct, guide, or limit our spatial behavior and experience. Space matters, or more specifically space we perceive matters. Research into spatial cognition and experience, asking fundamental questions about how and why space and spatiality matters to humans, has thus attracted attention. It is no coincidence that the 2014 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded for research into a positioning system in the brain or "inner GPS" and that spatial information and technology are recognized as an important social infrastructure in recent years. This is the first book aimed at graduate and advanced undergraduate students pursuing this fascinating area of research. The content introduces the reader to the field of spatial cognition and experience with a series of chapters covering theoretical, empirical, and practical issues, including cognitive maps, spatial orientation, spatial ability and thinking, geospatial information, navigation assistance, and environmental aesthetics.
ISBN: 9781351251297Publication Date: 2020-06-15
Basic Principles of Topography by
This book gives a comprehensive overview of all relevant elements in topography and their practical application. It elaborates on the classical representation of terrain on maps such as cartographic projections, together with their classification, scale, and geographical elements. It is richly illustrated with photographs, maps and figures, in which the theoretical explanations are clarified. Readers will become acquainted with the physical characteristics of the ground, i.e. tectonic and erosive shapes, the importance and classification of terrain, genetic (fluvial, abrasive, glacial, karst) and topographic types such as higher (mountains, hills, peaks) and lower terrain (valleys, fields). In addition, the book discusses cartometry and coordinate systems, orientation in space (geographic, topographic, tactical) including by means of maps, instruments and the night sky and elaborates new techniques and technologies such as aerial photogrammetric imagery, global navigation satellite systems and LiDAR. The book also includes methods for the practical execution of concrete measurement operations, such as determining position and movement on land with maps, compass and azimuth which makes it especially useful for practitioners and professionals, e.g., for landscape planning, military exercises, mountaineering, nature walks etc. As such it offers a valuable guide not only for undergraduate students but also for researchers in the fields of geography, geosciences, geodesy, ecology, forestry and related areas looking for an overview on topography. Uniquely, the book also features an extensive glossary of topographical terms.
ISBN: 9783319721477Publication Date: 2018
Understanding GPS/GNSS : principles and applications by
Providing a comprehensive treatment of the Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), this reference offers both a quick overview of GNSS essentials and an in-depth treatment of advanced topics exploring all the latest advances in technology, applications, and systems.
ISBN: 9781630814427Publication Date: 2017
Surveying Instruments and Technology by
With the advent of GPS/GNSS satellite navigation systems and Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS) surveying profession is nowadays facing its transformative stage. Written by a team of surveying experts, Surveyor's Instruments and Technology gives surveying students and practitioners profound understanding of how surveying instruments are designed and operating based on surveying instrument functionality. The book includes the required basic knowledge of accurate measurements of distances and angles from theoretical principles to advanced optical, mechanical, electronic and software components for comparative analysis. Readers are presented with basic elements of UAS systems, practical interpretation techniques, sensor components, and operating platforms. Appropriate for surveying courses at all levels, this guide helps students and practitioners alike to understand what is behind the buttons of surveying instruments of all kinds when considering practical project implementations.
ISBN: 9781498762380Publication Date: 2017-06-12
After the Map : Cartography, Navigation, and the Transformation of Territory in the Twentieth Century by
For most of the twentieth century, maps were indispensable. They were how governments understood, managed, and defended their territory, and during the two world wars they were produced by the hundreds of millions. Cartographers and journalists predicted the dawning of a "map-minded age," where increasingly state-of-the-art maps would become everyday tools. By the century's end, however, there had been decisive shift in mapping practices, as the dominant methods of land surveying and print publication were increasingly displaced by electronic navigation systems. In After the Map, William Rankin argues that although this shift did not render traditional maps obsolete, it did radically change our experience of geographic knowledge, from the God's-eye view of the map to the embedded subjectivity of GPS. Likewise, older concerns with geographic truth and objectivity have been upstaged by a new emphasis on simplicity, reliability, and convenience. After the Map shows how this change in geographic perspective is ultimately a transformation of the nature of territory, both social and political.
ISBN: 022633936XPublication Date: 2016-07-01
GPS : Theory, Algorithms and Applications by
This reference and handbook describes theory, algorithms and applications of the Global Positioning System (GPS/Glonass/Galileo/Compass). It is primarily based on source-code descriptions of the KSGsoft program developed at the GFZ in Potsdam. The theory and algorithms are extended and verified for a new development of a multi-functional GPS/Galileo software. Besides the concepts such as the unified GPS data processing method, the diagonalisation algorithm, the adaptive Kalman filter, the general ambiguity search criteria, and the algebraic solution of variation equation reported in the first edition, the equivalence theorem of the GPS algorithms, the independent parameterisation method, and the alternative solar radiation model reported in the second edition, the modernisation of the GNSS system, the new development of the theory and algorithms, and research in broad applications are supplemented in this new edition. Mathematically rigorous, the book begins with the introduction, the basics of coordinate and time systems and satellite orbits, as well as GPS observables, and deals with topics such as physical influences, observation equations and their parameterisation, adjustment and filtering, ambiguity resolution, software development and data processing and the determination of perturbed orbits.
ISBN: 9783662503676Publication Date: 2016-07-27
GNSS Interference, Threats, and Countermeasures by
GNSS Interference Threats and Countermeasures: Modern society is highly reliant on global navigation satellite systems (GNSS) and satellite and radio navigation are evolving at an accelerating pace. This new resource provides a comprehensive survey of the effect of radio-frequency interference (RFI) on GNSS, along with a detailed presentation of spoofing threats. Through in-depth case studies and practical applications, this book ultimately helps engineers and scientists design and implement robust systems to meet the needs of their challenging projects. The techniques investigated in this book take advantage of the increased computational capabilities of GNSS receivers, allowing for the implementation of more sophisticated signal processing algorithms. Contents Overview: The Interference Threat; Classification of Interfering Sources and Analysis of the Effects on GNSS Receivers; The Spoofing Menace; Analytical Assessment of Interference on GNSS Signals; Interference Detection Strategies; Classical Digital Signal Processing Countermeasures to Interference in GNSS; Interference Mitigation Based on Transformed Domain Techniques; Antispoofing Techniques for GNSS. Book jacket.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks TK6553 .G57 2015ISBN: 1608078108Publication Date: 2015-01-31
Global Navigation Satellite Systems, Inertial Navigation, and Integration by
An updated guide to GNSS, and INS, and solutions to real-world GNSS/INS problems with Kalman filtering Written by recognized authorities in the field, this third edition of a landmark work provides engineers, computer scientists, and others with a working familiarity of the theory and contemporary applications of Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS), Inertial Navigational Systems, and Kalman filters. Throughout, the focus is on solving real-world problems, with an emphasis on the effective use of state-of-the-art integration techniques for those systems, especially the application of Kalman filtering. To that end, the authors explore the various subtleties, common failures, and inherent limitations of the theory as it applies to real-world situations, and provide numerous detailed application examples and practice problems, including GNSS-aided INS (tightly and loosely coupled), modeling of gyros and accelerometers, and SBAS and GBAS. Drawing upon their many years of experience with GNSS, INS, and the Kalman filter, the authors present numerous design and implementation techniques not found in other professional references. The Third Edition includes: Updates on the upgrades in existing GNSS and other systems currently under development Expanded coverage of basic principles of antenna design and practical antenna design solutions Expanded coverage of basic principles of receiver design and an update of the foundations for code and carrier acquisition and tracking within a GNSS receiver Expanded coverage of inertial navigation, its history, its technology, and the mathematical models and methods used in its implementation Derivations of dynamic models for the propagation of inertial navigation errors, including the effects of drifting sensor compensation parameters Greatly expanded coverage of GNSS/INS integration, including derivation of a unified GNSS/INS integration model, its MATLAB® implementations, and performance evaluation under simulated dynamic conditions The companion website includes updated background material; additional MATLAB scripts for simulating GNSS-only and integrated GNSS/INS navigation; satellite position determination; calculation of ionosphere delays; and dilution of precision.
ISBN: 9781118523537Publication Date: 2015-03-11
Indoor Wayfinding and Navigation by
Outdoor wayfinding and navigation systems and services have become indispensable in people's mobility in unfamiliar environments. Advances in key technologies (e.g., positioning and mobile devices), has spurred interest in research and development of indoor wayfinding and navigation systems and services in recent years. Indoor Wayfinding and Naviga
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks TK5103.48323 .I54 2015ISBN: 9781482230857Publication Date: 2015-03-25
GPS Satellite Surveying by
Employ the latest satellite positioning tech with this extensive guide GPS Satellite Surveying is the classic text on the subject, providing the most comprehensive coverage of global navigation satellite systems applications for surveying. Fully updated and expanded to reflect the field's latest developments, this new edition contains new information on GNSS antennas, Precise Point Positioning, Real-time Relative Positioning, Lattice Reduction, and much more. New contributors offer additional insight that greatly expands the book's reach, providing readers with complete, in-depth coverage of geodetic surveying using satellite technologies. The newest, most cutting-edge tools, technologies, and applications are explored in-depth to help readers stay up to date on best practices and preferred methods, giving them the understanding they need to consistently produce more reliable measurement. Global navigation satellite systems have an array of uses in military, civilian, and commercial applications. In surveying, GNSS receivers are used to position survey markers, buildings, and road construction as accurately as possible with less room for human error. GPS Satellite Surveying provides complete guidance toward the practical aspects of the field, helping readers to: Get up to speed on the latest GPS/GNSS developments Understand how satellite technology is applied to surveying Examine in-depth information on adjustments and geodesy Learn the fundamentals of positioning, lattice adjustment, antennas, and more The surveying field has seen quite an evolution of technology in the decade since the last edition's publication. This new edition covers it all, bringing the reader deep inside the latest tools and techniques being used on the job. Surveyors, engineers, geologists, and anyone looking to employ satellite positioning will find GPS Satellite Surveying to be of significant assistance.
ISBN: 9781119018285Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Global Navigation Satellite Systems and Their Applications by
Dr. Madry, one of the world's leading experts in the field, provides in a condensed form a quick yet comprehensive overview of satellite navigation. This book concisely addresses the latest technology, the applications, the regulatory issues, and the strategic implications of satellite navigation systems. This assesses the strengths and weaknesses of satellite navigation networks and review of all the various national systems now being deployed and the motivation behind the proliferation of these systems.
ISBN: 9781493926084Publication Date: 2015-04-22
You are here : from the compass to GPS, the history and future of how we find ourselves by
The story of the rise of modern navigation technology, from radio location to GPS#151;and the consequent decline of privacy What does it mean to never get lost? You Are Here examines the rise of our technologically aided era of navigational omniscience#151;or how we came to know exactly where we are at all times. In a sweeping history of the development of location technology in the past century, Bray shows how radio signals created to carry telegraph messages were transformed into invisible beacons to guide ships and how a set of rapidly-spinning wheels steered submarines beneath the polar ice cap. But while most of these technologies were developed for and by the military, they are now ubiquitous in our everyday lives. Our phones are now smart enough to pinpoint our presence to within a few feet#151;and nosy enough to share that information with governments and corporations. Filled with tales of scientists and astronauts, inventors and entrepreneurs, You Are Here tells the story of how humankind ingeniously solved one of its oldest and toughest problems#151;only to herald a new era in which it’s impossible to hide.
ISBN: 9780465080984Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Handbook of Satellite Orbits : From Kepler to GPS by
Fifty years after Sputnik, artificial satellites have become indispensable monitors in many areas, such as economics, meteorology, telecommunications, navigation and remote sensing. The specific orbits are important for the proper functioning of the satellites. This book discusses the great variety of satellite orbits, both in shape (circular to highly elliptical) and properties (geostationary, Sun-synchronous, etc.). This volume starts with an introduction into geodesy. This is followed by a presentation of the fundamental equations of mechanics to explain and demonstrate the properties for all types of orbits. Numerous examples are included, obtained through IXION software developed by the author. The book also includes an exposition of the historical background that is necessary to help the reader understand the main stages of scientific thought from Kepler to GPS. This book is intended for researchers, teachers and students working in the field of satellite technology. Engineers, geographers and all those involved in space exploration will find this information valuable. Michel Capderou's book is an essential treatise in orbital mechanics for all students, lecturers and practitioners in this field, as well as other aerospace systems engineers. --Charles Elachi, Director, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
ISBN: 9783319034164Publication Date: 2014-04-23
Principles of GNSS, Inertial, and Multi-Sensor Integrated Navigation Systems by
Principles of GNSS, Inertial, and Multisensor Integrated Navigation Systems offers you a current and comprehensive understanding of satellite navigation, inertial navigation, terrestrial radio navigation, dead reckoning, and environmental feature matching. It provides both an introduction to navigation systems and an in-depth treatment of INS/GNSS and multisensor integration. The second edition offers a wealth of added and updated material, including a brand new chapter on the principles of radio positioning and a chapter devoted to important applications in the field. Other updates include expanded treatments of map matching, image-based navigation, attitude determination, acoustic positioning, pedestrian navigation, advanced GNSS techniques, and several terrestrial and short-range radio positioning technologies.
The book shows you how satellite, inertial, and other navigation technologies work, and focuses on processing chains and error sources. In addition, you get a clear introduction to coordinate frames, multi-frame kinematics, Earth models, gravity, Kalman filtering, and nonlinear filtering. Providing solutions to common integration problems, the book describes and compares different integration architectures, and explains how to model different error sources. You get a broad and penetrating overview of current technology and are brought up to speed with the latest developments in the field, including context-dependent and cooperative positioning.
ISBN: 9781608070060Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Sky Alert! : When Satellites Fail by
"Sky Alert! What Happens When Satellites Fail" explores for the first time what our modern world would be like if we were suddenly to lose most, if not all, of our space assets. The author demonstrates humankind's dependence on space satellites and show what might happen to various aspects of our economy, defense, and daily lives if they were suddenly destroyed. The book opens with a consideration of how our space assets might be lost in the first place: through orbital debris, war, and solar storms. The author then looks at what would happen if our satellites were lost, including the effect on weather forecasting, and the Global Positioning System, explaining GPS in detail and its importance to the military, including spy satellites and military reconnaissance, commerce, civilians, communications and remote sensing - both resource monitoring and locating and environmental monitoring and science. The effects of losing such assets as the International Space Station as well as such research satellites as the Hubble Space Telescope or the Chandra X-Ray Observatory are also considered. Part III of the book looks at how we can protect our satellites, preparing for the worst, reducing the growth and amount of orbital debris, preventing acts of war in space and hardening against space radiation. The book ends on an optimistic note: most spacefaring nations are now working together to develop new technologies to reduce the threat posed by orbital debris and in-space nuclear detonations and treaties exist to limit the development and use of weapons in space. Finally, it is hoped that it will not be long before we will be able to better predict and take precautions against solar storms. The global economy has now become so dependent upon satellites that their loss would be devastating - to the economy, to national security, and potentially, to the day-to-day survival of those who live in the world's most advanced economies.
ISBN: 9781461418306Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Essentials of Positioning and Location Technology by
Mystified by locating and positioning technologies? Need to get the best from your location system? This guide is invaluable for understanding how the positions and movements of objects can be measured and used for real-world applications. From it, you'll learn how to optimise and manage system performance by working with parameters such as velocity, orientation, time, proximity and direction, and consider not only accuracy, but also reliability, integrity, response time and uncertainty. Packed with practical examples, this concise book gives you an overview of terrestrial radiolocation techniques, including comparative system architectures and real-world performance and limitations. It describes inertial navigation principles and techniques, including low-cost MEMS sensors for consumer products, and a range of applications, such as those benefiting from hybrid positioning techniques.
ISBN: 0511843860Publication Date: 2013-04-05- The Lost Art of Finding Our Way by
Long before GPS, Google Earth, and global transit, humans traveled vast distances using only environmental clues and simple instruments. John Huth asks what is lost when modern technology substitutes for our innate capacity to find our way. Encyclopedic in breadth, weaving together astronomy, meteorology, oceanography, and ethnography, The Lost Art of Finding Our Way puts us in the shoes, ships, and sleds of early navigators for whom paying close attention to the environment around them was, quite literally, a matter of life and death. Haunted by the fate of two young kayakers lost in a fogbank off Nantucket, Huth shows us how to navigate using natural phenomenaâe"the way the Vikings used the sunstone to detect polarization of sunlight, and Arab traders learned to sail into the wind, and Pacific Islanders used underwater lightning and âeoereadâe#157; waves to guide their explorations. Huth reminds us that we are all navigators capable of learning techniques ranging from the simplest to the most sophisticated skills of direction-finding. Even today, careful observation of the sun and moon, tides and ocean currents, weather and atmospheric effects can be all we need to find our way. Lavishly illustrated with nearly 200 specially prepared drawings, Huthâe(tm)s compelling account of the cultures of navigation will engross readers in a narrative that is part scientific treatise, part personal travelogue, and part vivid re-creation of navigational history. Seeing through the eyes of past voyagers, we bring our own world into sharper view.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks VK15 .H87 2013ISBN: 9780674072824Publication Date: 2013-05-15
GPS/GNSS Antennas by
This practical resource provides a current and comprehensive treatment of GPS/GNSS antennas, taking into account modernized systems and new and developing applications. The book presents a number of key applications, describing corresponding receiver architectures and antenna details. You find important discussions on antenna characteristics, including theory of operation, gain, bandwidth, polarization, phase center, mutual coupling effects, and integration with active components.Moreover, you get expert guidance on the design of adaptive arrays and signal processing techniques used to mitigate interference such as jamming. Addressing critical GNSS antenna high precision requirements, this in-depth book explains the relationships between antenna gain, satellite visibility, geometric dilution of precision, and the carrier-to-noise density ratio. The book delineates requirements for both dual-band and tri-band antennas.You get detailed coverage of a wide range of antenna designs, including microstrip patch, quadrafilar helix, axial mode helix, spiral, inverted L, and planar inverted F antennas. Moreover, you find a discussion on new magnetic OC metamaterialOCO substrates and other dielectric substrate materials. Further, this comprehensive book presents designs for very compact GNSS antennas for personal handheld devices and automobiles.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks TK7871.6 .R3 2013ISBN: 9781596931510Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Antennas for Global Navigation Satellite Systems by
This book addresses the fundamentals and practical implementations of antennas for Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) In this book, the authors discuss the various aspects of GNSS antennas, including fundamentals of GNSS, design approaches for the GNSS terminal and satellite antennas, performance enhancement techniques and effects of user's presence and surrounding environment on these antennas. In addition, the book will provide the reader with an insight into the most important aspects of the GNSS antenna technology and lay the foundations for future advancements. It also includes a number of real case studies describing the ways in which antenna design can be adapted to conform to the design constraints of practical user devices, and also the management of potential adverse interactions between the antenna and its platform. Key Features: Covers the fundamentals and practical implementations of antennas for Global Navigation Satellite Systems (GNSS) Describes technological advancements for GPS, Glonass, Galileo and Compass Aims to address future issues such as multipath interference, in building operation, RF interference in mobile Includes a number of real case studies to illustrate practical implementation of GNSS This book will be an invaluable guide for antenna designers, system engineers, researchers for GNSS systems and postgraduate students (antennas, satellite communication technology). R&D engineers in mobile handset manufacturers, spectrum engineers will also find this book of interest.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks TK7871.6 .A532 2012ISBN: 9781119993674Publication Date: 2012-04-23- The science of navigation : from dead reckoning to GPS by
In today's world of online maps and travel directions delivered wirelessly to hand-held devices, getting from place to place requires little thought from most of us--which is a good thing, since accurate navigation can be tricky. Get your bearings with Mark Denny--an expert at explaining scientific concepts in non-technical language--in this all-encompassing look at the history and science of navigation. Denny's tour kicks off with key facts about the earth and how its physical properties affect travel. He discusses cartography and early mapmakers, revealing fascinating tidbits such as how changes over time of the direction of true north, as well as of magnetic north, impacted navigation. Denny details the evolution of navigation from the days of coastal piloting to GPS and other modern-day technologies. He explains the scientific breakthroughs in accessible, amusing terms and provides an insightful look at their effects on societies, cultures, and human advancement. Throughout, Denny frames the long history of navigation with amazing tales of such people as Pytheas, an ancient Greek navigator, and Sir Francis Drake and of such discoveries as the magnetic compass and radio direction finding. Whether you have an interest in orienteering and geocaching or want to know more about the critical role navigation has played in human survival and progress since ancient people learned to use lodestones, The Science of Navigation is for you. With it you'll finally understand the why of wayfinding.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks VK559 .D44 2012ISBN: 9781421405605Publication Date: 2012-06-29
Applied GPS for Engineers and Project Managers by
Applied GPS for Engineers and Project Managers introduces civil engineers--especially those who are not already licensed surveyors--to the fundamental principles of global positioning technology (GPS). This book covers GPS basics, including positioning and measuring principles, techniques to improve accuracy, and an analysis of low-cost versus high-precision systems. Subsequent chapters explain the considerations for selecting and implementing a GPS system and then demonstrate specific applications of GPS in a variety of engineering situations, including monitoring the health of structures, robotics and machine control, maritime operations, material tracking in large construction sites, site control and design, and monitoring geohazards. This book will be valuable for all civil engineers interested in benefiting from the use of GPS technologies. About the Author Clement A. Ogaja, Ph.D., L.S., is an assistant professor of geomatics engineering in the Department of Civil and Geomatics Engineering at California State University in Fresno.
ISBN: 9780784476192Publication Date: 2011-08-31
Fundamentals of GPS Receivers : A Hardware Approach by
Fundamentals of GPS receivers covers GPS receivers' theory and practice. The book begins with the basics of GPS receivers and moves onward to more advanced material. The book examines three types of GPS receiver implementations: first is the custom design by the author; second is an industry standard design, now part of the open source network; the third relates to the receiver designed by JPL /NASA. Each receiver is unique allowing the reader to see how each design solves the same problems. Chapters discuss carrier phase measurements and GPS time and frequency measurements. The overall text is measurement oriented as opposed to processing the measurements. With a focus on the fundamentals of measurements the reader will be building their intuition for the physical phenomenon at work.
ISBN: 9781461404095Publication Date: 2011-10-22
Manual of Geospatial Science and Technology by
Following in the tradition of its popular predecessor, the Manual of Geospatial Science and Technology, Second Edition continues to be the authoritative volume that covers all aspects of the field, both basic and applied, and includes a focus on initiating, planning, and managing GIS projects. This comprehensive resource, which contains contributio
ISBN: 9781420087345Publication Date: 2010-03-05
Using GIS with GPS by
What Is GIS? 1
GPS-GAP Changes the Way We View the Earth 3
GIS and GPS Integration Eases Public Road Inventory 9
Dominion and Verizon Use Mobile GIS and GPS to Conduct
Joint-Use Pole Survey 13
A Cost-Effective Approach to GPS/GIS Integration for
Archaeological Surveying 17
Facilities Survey Feasible With GIS and GPS 23
Publication Date: 2009
Be Expert with Map and Compass by
The classic map and compass navigation guide-revised for the age of GPS GPS devices are great, but they can break, get lost, or easily be hampered by weather conditions, making basic map and compass skills essential for anyone who spends time outdoors. This popular, easy-to-use orienteering handbook has been helping people find their way for more than fifty years. Now updated to include information on GPS as well as current Web sites, references, sources, and photographs, it remains the book of choice for professional outdoorsmen, novice orienteers, and outdoor organizations as well as teachers, scout leaders, recreational hikers, hunters, and others around the world. Coverage includes understanding map symbols; traveling by map alone, by compass alone, or by map and compass together; finding bearings; sketching maps; and traveling in the wilderness. Explains basic map and compass skills clearly Fully updated edition, including information on GPS Includes up-to-date Web site addresses, references, and sources Features a fresh, rugged design Ideal book for beginners If you're looking to feel more comfortable in the wilderness, this updated guide is an indispensable reference.
ISBN: 9780470508541Publication Date: 2009-11-16
Geocaching : Hike and Seek with Your GPS by
A guide to geocaching, a game that uses the Global Positioning System to find "treasure" that is hidden around the world by a network of people.
Call Number: Hodges Library Stacks GV1202 .G46 S54 2004ISBN: 9781430206804Publication Date: 2004
Navigation : Principles of Positioning and Guidance by
Global positioning systems like GPS or the future European Galileo are influencing the world of navigation tremendously. Today, everybody is concerned with navigation even if unaware of this fact. Therefore, the interest in navigation is steadily increasing.This book provides an encyclopedic view of navigation. Fundamental elements are presented for a better understanding of the techniques, methods, and systems used in positioning and guidance.The book consists of three parts. Beside a historical review and maps, the first part covers mathematical and physical fundamentals. The second part treats the methods of positioning including terrestrial, celestial, radio- and satellite-based, inertial, image-based, and integrated navigation. Routing and guidance are the main topics of the third part. Applications on land, at sea, in the air, and in space are considered, followed by a critical outlook on the future of navigation.This book is designed for students, teachers, and people interested in entering the complex world of navigation.
ISBN: 9783709160787Publication Date: 2003
Route finding : navigating with map and compass by
Explains step-by-step map reading land navigation and route finding techniques crucial to success and safety in the outdoors
ISBN: 0585252823Publication Date: 1999-01-01
