- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- First-Year Composition
- Writing & Citing
What is PowerNotes?
PowerNotes is a tool to help you save, annotate, organize, and cite sources you access from databases and the Web. PowerNotes helps you take notes on and keep track of your online sources, create a research outline, avoid accidental plagiarism, and more.
- Capture online source material: PowerNotes allows students to highlight and file away information to one of their custom topics in a project.
- Annotate online sources while they read: To add a thought to any highlighted text, students simply type a note, and they don't need to copy/paste in the URL of the site—PowerNotes does this automatically.
- Organize sources: Highlights, notes, and URLs are saved to custom topics in a project—an organized and accessible way to preserve what students have collected.
- Download outline and notes: When it’s time to write the paper, students can download their project to Word.
Where to Begin
WHEN IN DOUBT, CITE YOUR SOURCE
A citation is needed usually when:
You are stating someone else's words, thoughts, or ideas
New information that is considered "uncommon knowledge"
You refer to or use an image, clip, tweet, post, website, etc.
You use your own words, thoughts, or ideas that you have stated in previous work.
A citation is not usually needed when:
You are stating YOUR opinion on a subject (i.e. I really do not think the new Star Wars movie was as good as it was hyped up to be.)
It is common knowledge (i.e. Nashville is the capital of Tennessee in the United States.)
Herbert Writing Center
The Judith Anderson Herbert Writing Center provides free and individualized help for both undergraduate and graduate students throughout the writing process including citation assistance! Trained tutors can help with in-text citations and references for APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more!
Check out their website for more information about services and how to schedule an appointment!
Frequently Used Citation Styles
AMA (American Medical Association)
The AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors, Eleventh Edition is mainly used for medical or scientific publishing. Below are some great resources to cite in AMA.
AMA Manual of StyleOnline version of the AMA Manual of Style.
Take A Tour of AMA Manual of StyleProvides a video tour for using the AMA Manual of Style's online site. It also includes print versions of tour information.
Style QuizzesAn extensive list of resources for assistance in following the AMA Manual of Style guidelines.
SI Conversion CalculatorConversion calculator for a variety of measurements including metric measures and selected laboratory tests with reference ranges and conversion factors.
APA (American Psychological Association)
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is commonly used to cite in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, and engineering to name a few. Please check with your department or professor to see what citation style is preferred. Some resources include:
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th (Print)Location: Public Services/Research Assistance Desk (2nd floor, Hodges)Call Number: BF76.7.P83
APA Style and Grammar GuidelinesBreaks down the APA Style as described in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition.
APA Style BlogHave a difficult citation and not sure how to cite it? Check out the Style Blog for assistance.
Instructional AidsProvides access to tutorials and webinars, handouts and guides, and sample papers to assist anyone wishing to learn more about APA.
Looking for 6th edition resources? Check out the APA Style Sixth Edition Resources page for links to the archived style blog, sample papers, quick answers, and supplemental materials.
This style is mainly used in Historical Research. Below are some great resources to cite in Chicago or Turabian.
The Chicago-Style Citation Quick GuideDescriptions of Chicago's two basic documentation systems and examples from the 15th ed. (2003)
The Chicago Manual of Style FAQFrequently asked questions - and answers - from the manuscript editing department at the University of Chicago Press
Turabian Help GuideExamples from the Turabian manual, 7th ed. (2007)
How To Cite Primary SourcesA guide by the Library of Congress on how to cite the most common primary sources
MLA (Modern Language Association)
The MLA Handbook, Eighth Edition is mainly used to cite in the humanities. The MLA Style Center is a great place to start when beginning to format your paper in MLA. Additional resources include:
MLA Handbook, 8th edition (Print)Location: Public Services/Research Assistance Desk (2nd floor, Hodges)
Call Number: LB2369.G53 2009
Using MLA FormatFrom the MLA Style Center. Provides resources for getting started with MLA style. Includes a Works Cited Quick Guide, Digital Citation Tool, and more!
MLA Style FAQAnswers basic as well as more complex questions about the MLA Style Manual.
Sample Papers in MLA FormatShowcases essays that won the 2019 MLA Student Paper Contest that provide excellent examples of the MLA paper formatting and style.
Citing Your Sources and Creative Works
This interactive module provides scenarios and explanations about how to cite sources.
• Quiz questions are included throughout the module.
• Certificate of Completion available.
- Tutorial completion time.
- Takes 10-30 minutes.
- Which device types will tutorial work on?
- Works best on desktop / laptop or tablet.
- Which browsers will tutorial work on?
- Works on all major browsers.
More Citation Resources
- Purdue Owl Chart for using MLA, APA, and ChicagoHelpful chart detailing how to cite different types of sources in MLA, APA and Chicago. Also helps clarify the differences between the styles.
- iThenticateUT's Office of Research and Engagement provides access to iThenticate, a premier plagiarism detection tool for faculty and student researchers.
- Citation Management (Endnote/Zotero)/Style GuidesThis guide will introduce you to Endnote and Zotero, two citation management programs available to students at UTK.
- The Writing Center at UTK
Serves student writers in all disciplines of the UTK academic community by offering free and individualized help throughout the writing process
- Sweetland Writing Center Guides
You have your sources- now what? This guide created by the University of Michigan's Sweetland Writing Center walks you through ways to integrate information from sources into your paper.