Research Guides: Sociology: Home

Selecting the Most Relevant Databases to find Articles

Due to Sociology's multidisciplinary nature, there are several databases that you can search depending on your specific research topic. Below are the most appropriate databases for sociology overall. There are several specialized databases that focus on niche fields located in the More Sociology Databases section below.

If you are unsure which database to use or are not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact me. I'm your librarian. -Donna Braquet

Sociological Abstracts
Abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews covering the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1952 to present.
Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary citation index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities from 1900 to current. Provides cited reference searching and journal impact factors. Also includes access to Essential Science Indicators.
Please see this FAQ for accessibility workarounds for accessing Web of Science. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature in science, engineering, medicine, social sciences, and some arts & humanities. Coverage is strongest from 1996 to present. Chrome is the preferred browser for this platform.
APA PsycINFO
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of international psychological literature from the 1800s to present.

Criminology

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Full-text for many important journals and magazines related to criminal justice and criminology.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Critical Race and Ethnic Studies

Black Studies Center
Resources related to Black Studies, including scholarly journals, essays by top scholars, historic indexes, and historical black newspapers. Coverage from 1900 to current.
Components include:
• Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience
• Black Studies Periodicals Database (formerly IIBP)
• The Chicago Defender
• Black Literature Index
In addition, two historical Black newapapers can be search on Black Studies Center. These are:
• Atlanta Daily World (1932-2003)
• New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
Ethnic Newswatch
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press of the United States.
Race Relations Abstracts
Contains bibliographic records covering areas relating to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other relevant topics. Coverage dating back to 1903. Access through November 2026.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering urban studies, urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Access through November 2026.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.

Environmental Issues and Globalization

AGRICOLA
Covers publications in agriculture and other related fields from 1970 to present. Also available as a free database from USDA.
Please see this FAQ for extra instructions about accessing EBSCOhost databases or ebooks via screen reader or keyboard navigation. For more help, please contact eproblems@utk.edu.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
Covers articles, proceedings, and reports in agriculture, environmental science, and pollution management from 1960 to present, as well as Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
AGRIS
Free agricultural database with an international focus produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) from 1975 to present.
CABI: CAB Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Provides research information on agriculture, environment, leisure/tourism, and related applied life sciences. Search using CABI indexes including CAB Thesaurus, CABICODES, and subject descriptors. Coverage from 1910 to present.
Environmental Science Index
Provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines from 1960 to current.
Access also includes
- TOXLINE – collection of online bibliographic information covering the pharmacological, biochemical, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals from 1960-current.
- Sustainability Science Abstracts -- which explores sustainable development, population and demography, and societal issues involving natural resource management from 1985 to current. Can be searched separately from other content on Environmental Science Index.

Political Economy and Globalization

CIAO : Columbia International Affairs Online (1991-current)
Resources devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.
If the content of a CIAO resource is inaccessible to you, please contact eproblems@utk.edu to request an accessible alternative format. Users of screen readers are advised to avoid Android devices.
PAIS Index
Covers public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations, and includes journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and more.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
International index of journals in political science, including international relations, law, public administration and public policy. Coverage from 1975 to current.