This is the "Locating Materials" page of the "Microform Research Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Skip to Main Content

Services for Individuals with Disabilities

Frequently Used Tools:


Microform Research Collections  

Subject research collections reproduced on microfilm, microfiche, or microcard.
Last Updated: May 28, 2013 URL: http://libguides.utk.edu/microform Print Guide RSS Updates

Locating Materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Microforms

Microforms are provided in different formats. Formats include:
Microfilm (35mm film on reels) - popular for newspapers, magazines, and large research sets.
Microfiche (4x6 Or 3x5 film sheets) - popular for government documents, dissertations, technical reports.

 

Other Library Holdings

You may request microform items that are not owned by UT Libraries through Interlibrary Services

Search the Library Catalog

To search other library catalogs, use these links:

 

Finding Microform Research Collections

Research Microforms
Collections include government documents, manuscripts, personal papers, and other
primary source materials. All collections are cataloged with Library of Congress classification numbers. Check the online catalog for content information and locations. Collections may be received in microfilm, microfiche, or microcard formats.

Locating Microfilm Collections
Research materials on microfilm and microcard are located in the Storage collection in
the Hoskins Library basement on Cumberland Avenue.Check the Hoskins Storage/Closed Stacks page for access to materials in Storage.

Locating Microfiche Collections 
Microfiche are arranged in cabinets located in Room 120 on the first floor of the John C. Hodges Library. Print guides to microform sets are shelved at the  back of the room. Collections are accessible during regular library hours. Ask for help at the Research Assistance desk. 

 

General Collections

City directories of the United States
E154.5.U5
Pre- 1860: microfiche, Hodges, room 120 
1860-1901:
microfilm, Storage Collection

Need help?

Profile Image
Research Services
Contact Info
Research Assistance
209 Hodges Library
(865) 974-4171
Send Email
 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip