Selected Microform Collections
The UT Library holds several microform sets of primary source materials that are valuable for research. While titles of microform sets are searchable in the online catalog, only the contents for some sets have been analyzed for catalog searching. Many sets have printed guides and finding aids that specify content locations within the set. Microfilm collections are located in Storage in the Hoskins Library. Request items from the catalog or visit Storage. Guides to microform sets are located on the first floor, 120 Hodges Libary.
Connect to the guide for English Studies Guide
A selective list of literary microform sets:
- American Culture Series - Microfilm.
Books published in the U.S. 1493 - 1875, Storage E187.U5
Finding aid: DocMic E187.U5 Guide
Bibliography: Bibliography of American Culture, 1493-1875. Stacks E 18 .A54 1957. - American Periodical Series - Microfilm. Storage AP2.U5 & AP2.U51& AP2.U53. Periodicals 1741-1900.
American Periodical Series Online - Black Literature, 1827-1940 - Microfiche.DocMic PS508.N3B43
Online Index available only at Hodges Library computers. - British and Continental Rhetoric and Elocution - Microfilm. Storage PN 6121 .B75
- British Literary Manuscripts from Cambridge University Library - Microfilm.Storage PR 1120 .B75 1984
- British Literary Manuscripts from the British Library, London - Microfilm. Storage PR 1134 .B75
- British Literary Manuscripts from the National Library of Scotland Edinburgh - Microfilm. Storage PR 8633 .B75
- The Bronte Manuscripts, Literary Manuscripts and Correspondence of the Bronte Family - Microfilm. Storage PR 408 .P67 P64
- Charles Dickens - Research Collection - Microfilm. Storage PR4581.C52
Finding aid: DocMic PR 4581 .C52 Guide - Manuscripts of Charles Dickens - Microfilm. Storage PR 4552 .V5
- Dime Novels: Escape Fiction of the Nineteenth Century - Microfilm. Storage PS 374 .D5D5
Finding aid: DocMic PS 374 .D5 D5 Guide - Drury Lane Under Sheridan, 1776-1812: Manuscript Plays and Managerial Correspondence - Microfilm. Storage PR 1269 .D78
- Dunbar, Paul. The Paul L. Dunbar Papers: at the Ohio Historical Society - Microfilm. Storage PS 1556 .A4
Finding aid: DocMic PS 1556 .A4 Guide - Early American Imprints, Part 1, 1639-1800 Microfiche. DocMic PS 530 .E37
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800, Online
Bibliography: Evans, American Bibliography; Bristol, Supplement to Evans. REF Z 1215 .E92
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 Online
Bibliography: Shaw and Shoemaker, continues Evans. REF Z 1215 .S48 - Early English Books Online (EEBO) 1475-1700
Early English Books I - The Short Title Catalog (STC) - Microfilm Storage Z2002.U57. Books published 1475-1640.
Finding aid: DocMic Z 2002 .U572 Guide
Bibliography: Pollard and Redgrave (STC I), REF D 228 .P64 1950. Online index: ESTC
Early English Books II - The Short Title Catalog II (STC II) - Microfilm Storage Z2002.U576. Books published 1641-1700.
Finding aid: DocMic Z 2002 .U576 Guide. Bibliography: Wing (STC II) REF D 246 .W55. Online index: ESTC - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) 1701-1800
The Eighteenth Century. Microfilm. Storage CB411.E53.
Eighteenth Century Short Title Catalogue. Microfiche. DocMic Z 2002 .B7 1983.
Finding aid: 18th Century, Guide to Microformat Collection DocMicCB 411 .E53. Online index: ESTC - English and American Drama of the 19th Century - Microfilm Storage PN 6111 .E45.
Finding aid: DocMic PN 6111 .E45 Continued by Nineteenth Century English and American Drama. Storage PN 6111 .E45 - English Linguistics. Microfiche. DocMic P 25 .E5
Finding aid: DocMic & Stacks P 25 .E5 Index
Bibliography: Alston, Bibliography of the English Language . . . HODGES Z 2015 .A1 A4 - English Literary Periodicals.Microfilm. Storage AP 4 .E54
Finding aid: Accessing English Literary Periodicals DocMic AP 4 .E54 Guide - Gaskell, Elizabeth. Elizabeth Gaskell and Nineteenth Century Literature. - Microfilm Storage PR 4711 .A42 1989
Finding aid: DocMic PR4711 .A42 1989 Guide - Hardy, Thomas. Original Manuscripts and Papers of Thomas Hardy - Microfilm Storage PR 4742 .D6
Finding aid: DocMic PR 4742 .D6 Index - Hughes, Langston. Langston Hughes Collection.Microfilm. Storage: PS 3515 .U274 1995
Finding aid: DocMic PS 3515 .U274 - Martineau, Harriet. Women, Emancipation and Literature: The Papers of Harriet Martineau 1802-1876 - Microfilm. Storage PR 4984 .M5 Z477 1991
Finding aid: DocMic & Stacks PR4984 .M5Z477 - Michigan Early Modern English Materials. Microfiche. DocMic: PE 895 .M53
Finding aid: DocMic PE 895 .M53 Guide - Nineteenth Century Literary Manuscripts, Part 1: The Browning, Eliot, Thackeray and Trollope Manuscripts from the British Library London -
Pt.2 - Correspondence and records of Smith, Elder & Co. from the National Library of Scotland; Pt.3 - Correspondence and literary manuscripts of Arthur Hugh Clough, 1819-1861 from the Bodleian Library, Oxford ; Pt.4 - Correspondence and papers of John Gibson Lockhart (1794-1854), editor of the Quarterly review, from the National Library of Scotland; Pt.5 - Papers of Caroline Bowles (1787 i.e. [1786]-1854) and Robert Southey (1774-1843) from the British Library, London.
Microfilm. Storage PR 1143 .N56 1800-1900 pts. 1-5
Finding aid: DocMic PR 1143 .N56 1800-1900 pts. 1-5 - Popular Literature in 18th and 19th Century Britain - Microfilm. Storage PR 408 .P67 P64
Finding Aid: DocMic PR408 .P67 P64 - Renaissance Rhetoric: Key Texts, 1479-1602 - Microfiche.DocMic PN 185 .R4
- Thomason Tracts, 1640-1661. - Microfilm. Storage DA 400 .T5
Finding aid: DocMic D400.T52
Bibliography: Fortescue, Catalogue of the pamphlets, books, newspapers, and manuscripts relating to the Civil War, the Commonwealth, and Restoration. REF Z 2018 .B85 1977. Online index: ESTC - Woolf, Virginia. The Virginia Woolf Manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection at the New York Public Library - Microfilm. Storage PR 6045 .O72 A1 1993
- Woolf, Virginia. Virginia Woolf Manuscripts from the Monks House Papers at the University of Sussex - Microfilm. Storage PR 6045 .O72 A6 1985
- Wright American Fiction 1774-1905 - Microfilm. Storage PS504.W73
Finding aid: DocMic PS 504 .W733 Guide
Bibliography: Wright, American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography REF PS377.W74
