Africana Studies: Online Resources

Internet History Sourcebook

Rural mosque at Bougouni, Mail, built c. 1890.

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.

Need some help?

Afropop Worldwide

Afropop Worldwide is a Peabody award-winning radio program and online magazine dedicated to music from Africa and the African diaspora. Hosted by one of Africa’s best-loved broadcast personalities, Georges Collinet, and produced by Sean Barlow, the radio show is currently distributed by PRI Public Radio International to over 100 stations in the U.S., as well as stations in Europe and Africa.

Other Online Resources

eHRAF World Cultures
Human Relations Area Files. Full-text collection of ethnographic documents. Formerly "EHRAF Collection of Ethnography."
Internet History Sourcebook
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use
Afroberometer
The Afrobarometer is an independent, nonpartisan research project that measures the social, political, and economic atmosphere in Africa.
Maps of Africa
A digital collection of maps by Stanford University Archives.

All Africa

AllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing 700 news and information items daily from over 140 African news organizations and their own reporters to an African and global public.

Africa Past & Present

Online digital library on various topics having to do with African studies in the past and current topics produced by MSU. Includes several podcasts of presentations on African subjects and African writers.