- University Libraries
- Research Guides
- Africana Studies
- Journals & Databases
Africana Studies: Journals & Databases
Journals and Databases Page Contents
- Best Bets
- Other Databases
- Africa and African Studies Selected Journals
African Diaspora (Including African American Studies)
- Best Bets
- Other Databases
- African Diaspora Selected Journals
Using the UT Databases
In order to find your articles relating to Africana Studies, you should look through our databases and Africana related journals. On the right, there is a list of good journals and databases to find the sources you need for your research as well as descriptions of what they entail.
Once in a database, when searching for your articles it is important to use the words AND, OR, and NOT. For instance, I can search "African American" AND Churches to bring up several articles on churches and hymns from historically African American roots. Give it a try!
 |
| To locate a copy of an article, look for the Find Text button located near the record of the article in the databases. Click on it to bring up a box that lists full-text and paper copy holdings. |
Savanna Image
Primary Sources
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice (1490-2007)
Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice.
If you want to look for primary sources, the African History Primary Sources research guide is a great place to find primary sources relating to the entire history of Africa and the African Diaspora.
Africa and African Studies
Africa and African Studies Databases
| |
To locate a copy of an article, look for the Find Text button located near the record of the article in the databases. Click on it to bring up a box that lists full-text and paper copy holdings. |
Best Bets
|
|
|
| The International African Bibliography (IAB) is an essential resource for all those working in the field of African studies, providing a current awareness service of the latest books, articles and papers published internationally on Africa. | Academic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject. (Formerly Academic Search Premier) |
Other Databases
- Humanities International CompleteCitations and selected full-text for key Humanities journals. Excellent for cross-discipline searching.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Indexes scholarly literature on world history, excluding the United States and Canada. Covers the time period from 1450 to the present.
Online Access - 6 simultaneous users - JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational ArchiveCollections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
Africa and African Studies Journals
- African studies quarterly (Online)
Presents "African Studies Quarterly," an electronic journal published quarterly by the Center for African Studies at the University of Florida in Gainesville. - African studies review (Online)African Studies Review, a multi-disciplinary scholarly journal published by the African Studies Association, contains articles based on original research and analysis of Africa as well as book reviews three times annually. It encourages scholarly debates across disciplines.
- African languages and cultures (Online)
Published by the School of Oriental and African Studies for the Dept. of African Languages and Cultures and the Centre for African Studies, University of London, 1988-1993.
Semiannual
African Diaspora (including African American Studies)
African Diaspora Databases
| |
To locate a copy of an article, look for the Find Text button located near the record of the article in the databases. Click on it to bring up a box that lists full-text and paper copy holdings. |
Best Bets
|
|
|
| Popular Culture in Britain & America 1950-1975: Rock and Roll Counterculture, Peace, and Protest explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975 in Britain and the U.S. Full-text of documents, images, and video. | Academic Search Complete is multi-disciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject. (Formerly Academic Search Premier) |
Other Databases
- Music Online: African American Music ReferenceCovers blues, jazz, spirituals, slave songs, civil rights songs, and other musical forms through biographies, essays, images and liner notes.
- Black Studies CenterResources related to Black Studies, including scholarly journals, essays by top scholars, historic indexes, and historical black newspapers. Coverage from 1900 to current.
- Academic Search CompleteThis multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- Contemporary Black BiographyBiographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields.
UTK Library has access to volumes 1-77,81-107, 112-118, 121-123, 139-150,152. - Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 : Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and ProtestExplores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975 in Britain and the U.S. Full-text of documents, images, and video.
- Contemporary Black BiographyBiographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields.
UTK Library has access to volumes 1-77,81-107, 112-118, 121-123, 139-150,152.