Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health & Wellness: Services

Learn about what resources and events are available through the library!

Research Assistance

Needing help in locating health & wellness resources? We are here to help! 

  • Stop by the Public Services desk near the 2nd floor Melrose entrance

  • Request an appointment.

  • Text in your questions to 865-940-0821.

  • Call us at 865-974-4351.

  • Email the Research Assistance staff anytime. We’ll get back to you within one business day (and often sooner).

  • Chat in your questions using the box below!

Need Help?

Click this button to start a chat with a librarian. (Opens in a new window)

Library Collections

Sometimes all it takes is a great movie to calm the nerves or help escape the deadlines. Check out the library's dvd collection. You can pick dvd's from the Public Services desk located near the Melrose Entrance.

There is also free movies provided through Resident Life Cinema for on-campus use at Movies.utk.edu.

Needing an escape? The library's leisure reading collection provides a wide variety of books for every interest. Check out the Leisure Reading New Books feed to what is new in the collection.

Programs & Services

De-Stress for Success logoDe-Stress for Success is slate of activities and spaces offered during final exams to relive student anxiety and stress. This includes academic support, massages, and H.A.B.I.T. dogs along with a "living room" space with games, coloring materials, and free food.  Please visit the De-Stress for Success events page to learn more about the current schedule of events.

The mission of the Seed Library, in conjunction with the University of Tennessee Knoxville's (UTK) mission, the UTK Seed Library seeks to "move forward the frontiers of human knowledge and enrich and elevate the citizens of the state of Tennessee, the nation, and the world," through engagement in experiential learning and empowering students to lead healthy, sustainable lifestyles, while facilitating food access, community connections, and enhancement of the student experience.

In working with our campus partners, the Library provides tutoring services from Student Success Center, Math Tutorial Lab, and the Writing Center. These services are located in the North Commons towards the staircase. Please click the links below to learn more.

Spaces

Outfitted with standing height desks, pedal resistance laptop workstations, and zynergy balance chairs, the space provides students with an alternative to sitting for long periods of time while studying or completing assignments.

Building on the idea that a less sedentary lifestyle produces both psychological and physical benefit, we hope you will stop by and check out the space for yourself!

The Active Learning Space is the center of Commons South overlooking the staircase.

The Silent Room is designed for all members of the University of Tennessee community seeking a few moments of quiet in their day. The room is open to all, provided that they maintain quiet and respect for others using the space for reflection and contemplation.

No food or drink is allowed in the room. Electronic devices should be set to silent mode. Please see the Hodges 5th floor map for specific location.

The Studio provides a Virtual Reality Room equipped with an HTC Vive system to help you escape the stress of approaching papers and exams. You may reserve this room in advance. The room is 9’x15′ with enough space for a person to play and a couple of people to watch.

Have a suggestion? Fill out this feedback form if you have ideas for apps we should purchase.