Research Support for UTIA from annviera at utk.edu, UTIA Librarian, 865-974-7338
- Bioinformatics Support
- Consult with a statistician
- PeerJ Institutional Plan
- Archive Openly to maximize impact
- ORCID--Collect & Connect!
- Research Support Personnel
- Data Management Services
- TOOLS FOR OPEN RESEARCH
- nVivo for Literature Reviews
- Finding Protocols
- IACUC / Alternatives Searching
- Open Research Benefits Road Map
- Where to publish?
- Is this publisher reputable? Think--Check--Submit
- Open Publishing Support Fund
- Troubleshooting Access Problems
- Measuring Impact: Research Metrics
- Publishing Options: Books & Other Platforms
- Funding Opportunities (Pivot, etc.)
- Communicating Research Results
- Model Scholarly Society with OA in Business Model
- Systematic Review Support
Click here for schedule: https://oit.utk.edu/research/schedule/
Increasingly the copyright transfer statements (CTAs) offered by paywall publishers allow authors to self-archive specific versions of manuscripts.
To maximize impact:
- Keep careful track of manuscript versions
- Act Upon Acceptance: deposit the version allowed by the publisher's CTA in the UTK TRACE archive and/or other digital archive of your choice.
Estimated cost to researchers: 20 minutes, based on one test with researcher 2/6/2018: 20 minutes
ORCID stands for: Open Researcher and Contributor ID
Ten Simple Rules series from PLoS:
"Written by PLoS Computational Biology Editor-in-Chief Philip E. Bourne, sometimes with collaborators, the "Ten Simple Rules" provide a quick, concentrated guide for mastering some of the professional challenges research scientists face in their careers.
Please go to http://libguides.utk.edu/veterinaryinformation/IACUC
- Peter Murray-Rust podcast May 2018 UIUC
- Heather Joseph at INKE 2018 "Open in order to..."
To all CVM graduate students and residents, their mentors and early career researchers: the preprint "The Benefits of Open Research: How Sharing Can Help Researchers Succeed" McKiernan, et al. July 2016" is a roadmap to the benefits of embracing the new rules and using the new tools for open research from a researcher's point of view. The new tools are open and inter operable, like ORCID.
Open research fully supports the discovery mission of the College of Veterinary Medicine: "To discover new knowledge and share it with the people of Tennessee and beyond"
A team of librarians are available to assist early career researchers and their mentors in acquiring an understanding of the new rules and tools with two goals:
- researchers value their intellectual property portfolio and
- understand how to openly share articles, code, data order to get the benefits of increased impact and visibility.
Open science researchers examples
- Erin McKiernan, UNAM, and founder Research and Outcomes (RIO) Journal
- Titus Brown, UCD College of Veterinary Medicine
Considering publishing in an open access journal with APCs or Article Processing Fees?
Once you've got a short list of journals, CLICK on "Is this publisher reputable?" TAB on this guide and/or Think Check Submit"
To be eligible for funds from the Open Publishing Support Fund, the journal must be listed in either of the two sources below to ensure that the publisher is transparent and adheres to best practices in scholarly publishing as defined by COPE.
- in the DOAJ or Directory of Open Access Journals OR
- be a peer-reviewed open access journal listed in the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) database which is available within the Web of Science database platform.
Hybrid open access journals are NOT eligible for funding from the Open Publishing Support Fund. Hybrid OA journals make only selected articles open access for an additional fee. Rationale: hybrid OA journals double dip.
- Hybrid OA journals charge libraries and individuals subscription fees PLUS the open access option for an additional fee. One problem with this approach from a library and individual subscriber point of view is that the publisher gains a lucrative new revenue stream without reducing subscription prices.
- With a few exceptions like PeerJ the subscription prices for libraries and individuals are not decreasing. Subscription prices for libraries increase between 10-20% per year, 2-3 times the inflation seen in the health care sector.
- An example: SPARC Europe has gone on record to support the hybrid model IF the publisher agrees to decrease subscriptions: http://sparceurope.org/hybrid-journals/.
Purpose: support researchers who need to evaluate the credibility of messages from unfamiliar publishers.
Background: Some publishers exploit the author pays business model by sending personalized messages inviting researchers to publish in their journal, serve on their editorial board, or speak at their conference.
- Even Nobel Prize winners have trouble with messages from unfamiliar publishers. In 2015 veterinarian Peter Doherty withdrew from a conference sponsored by an unfamiliar publisher: "Professor Doherty, eponymous head of the Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity in Melbourne, blamed a "temporary lapse in due diligence" for accepting an invitation late last year to appear at the conference."
Notable efforts to address the problem of invitations from unfamiliar publishers:
- October 2015: the international campaign to Think-Check-Submit launched.
- August 2016, the Federal Trade Commission filed a lawsuit against the publisher that tripped up Peter Doherty (above).
- February 2017 the World Association of Medical Editors released a statement about the issue.
- December 2017, Librarian Shea Swaguer, in C&RL News, characterized the problem of evaluating the credibility of an unfamiliar publisher as one of information literacy.
- January 2018 Librarian Rachel Caldwell gave a lunch-and-learn on unfamiliar journals for the UTIA OSP. Access to the video is limited to UTK personnel; slides are freely available.
Use the Think-Check-Submit checklist, an international effort in 26 languages, to evaluate the credibility of a journal.
CRITERIA FOR EVALUATING THE CREDIBILITY OF AN UNFAMILIAR PUBLISHER: ( developed Ann Viera circa 2015 and enhanced by Caroline Zeglen in 2016)
WARNING SIGN #1:
You have never heard of the publisher or have no relationship with them. Publishers who exploit the author pays model increasingly send out personalized solicitations that usually include a citation to a researcher's abstract presented at a conference along with an invitation to publish an article about the project in their journal.
WARNING SIGN #2:
The journal is not listed in the Directory of Open Access Journals. Journals included in the DOAJ are transparent and credible; journals with the DOAJ Seal adhere to an exceptionally high level of publishing standards. Click here to learn more about quality control for open access publishers listed in the DOAJ.
WARNING SIGN #3:
The publisher is not a member of the Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association. The OASPA promotes best practices and ethical standards for scholarly communication.
WARNING SIGN #4:
The publisher's website is poorly designed, difficult to navigate, or contains grammar or spelling errors. Unprofessional or haphazard websites often indicate predatory publishers. Difficulty finding the Article Processing Charge or (APC) to publish with the journal is another warning sign. The publishers' journals often have generic titles or titles that are confusingly similar to legitimate journal titles.
WARNING SIGN #5:
The publisher makes it difficult to understand its business model.
It is crucial that authors and editors fully understand publishers' business models.
How does the business model compare with an award winning, high integrity, innovative open access journal like PeerJ? PeerJ puts authors at the center of its business model. Does the unfamiliar journal--or the journals on your short list of places to publish-- have a preprint server, article level metrics, open peer review, and a Who We Are and What We Believe page? Do they have a transparent Reviewer Match system?
PeerJ offers lifetime publishing plans that are affordable and that and allow authors to publish one article per year in PeerJ. How does the PeerJ pricing plan compare with the publisher that has contacted you?
Has your library entered into an institutional plan with the PeerJ? If so, the library can pay the APC to publish in PeerJ.
- Note: if you have already tried open access publishing using this fund, please do not use it again so that more UTK authors will be able to try publishing in open access journals. The intent of this fund was to expand the number of people who have a chance to try open access, not to become another pot of money researchers can request funding from again and again. Open access supports the land-grant mission and allows everyone who wants it barrier-free access, increasing impact. Build Article Processing Charges (APCs) into grant proposals. Funders expect it. The OA Publishing Fund is available to cover costs of publishing in Open Access journals that meet the following criteria: "Peer-reviewed open access journals listed in the Directory of Open Access Journals are eligible, as are peer-reviewed open access journals that are listed in the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) database. Hybrid journals that make only selected articles open access are not eligible for funding."
- See TAB above labeled "Is this publisher reputable -- Think Check Submit" for help choosing where to publish.
Pendergrass has established a publishing plan with PeerJ to pay your costs to publish in PeerJ because the business model, affordability, and innovations offered by PeerJ fully support the land-grant mission.
Follow these troubleshooting tips to access Libraries databases:
1) Make sure you are recognized as a UT affiliate:
- Start at the Libraries website to find and enter databases.
- If you are using OneSearch, sign in first.
- If you are using Google Scholar, configure the settings to link to UT Libraries.
- If you are off campus, use a Proxy Bookmark or Network Connect VPN.
2) Troubleshoot browser problems:
- Clear your cache.
- Try a different browser.
- Make sure your browser is set to accept cookies and has Java enabled.
3) Troubleshoot firewall problems:
- Determine whether your computer is protected by a firewall.
- If so, use a Proxy Link to access Libraries databases: http://proxy.lib.utk.edu:90 or https://proxy.lib.utk.edu:2050.
4) Report your problem using the online form. Include in the form:
- What were you searching for when access was denied?
- Is this a problem with all databases, or a few? If a few, which databases?
- Did your problem occur on or off campus?
- How were you searching? UT Libraries OneSearch? Google?
- What links did you follow? Include URLs when possible.
- What error message did you see?
- What type of browser are you using? What is your browser version? Have you refreshed the browser?
- What type of device are you using? PC or Mac?
- What is the IP address when the access problem occurred? Check your IP address here.
- Do you have firewalls on your computer?
- Is this a recurring problem?
For more information, visit the Off-Campus Users Guide.
DRAFT 10/2016, began 6/2016
Purpose: to increase understanding of impact, research metrics, and research profiling systems.
Researchers are encouraged to be "impact-active" and administrators, institutions, funders, publishers and researchers are trying to measure impact. An array of metrics and research profiling systems are available, including ImpactStory, which has an #OAscore.
- Inside HigherED on: American Sociological Association 2016 "What Counts: Evaluating Public Communication in Tenure and Promotion"
"Another big finding is that “every academic should become educated about the social media terrain -- its advantages and disadvantages, though we think on balance the former outweigh the latter,” McCall said, “and make an informed decision about whether and how to participate in it, and in the broader process of public communication.”
- What are altmetrics? "We’ve endeavored to make this site a comprehensive and objective source of information for researchers and librarians interested in altmetrics. If you have suggestions for ways we can improve this site, we’d love to hear them at firstname.lastname@example.org."
- Backgrounder https://www.timeshighereducation.com/features/metrics-how-to-handle-them-responsibly 7/2015 by Paul Jump
- Stephen Curry 2015 Slideset for Recon "Re-thinking research with a view to impact: an academic perspective"
- Beat it, impact factor! Publishing elite turns against controversial metric: Senior staff at Nature, Science and other journals want to end inappropriate use of the measure. by Ewen Callaway
- Stefano Bertuzzi, executive directory ASCB.
- "Broadening the visibility of your research by Charlie Rapple/Kudos Blog"
- "The tyranny of metrics" from the LSE blog by Alex Lancaster on human-centered open science
- ORCID is fundamental to the infrastructure of the research ecosystem. ORCID is an open source community driven solution to connecting individuals unambiguously with their research outputs.
- Are the metrics used by your department, or college transparent and widely understood and shared? Lack of transparency and a top-down approach to metrics may result in research fraud if expectations are unrealistic.
- UTK is using the research profiling system Symplectic Elements.
- Login to UTK Elements here.
- Fall 2016 two departments will pilot using Elements for annual reporting.
- Elements is integrated with ORCID.
- UTK is about to join ORCID as a member, which means ORCID will be a data source for importing works into Elements.
- ImpactStory, a free online metric service, is available to those who have Twitter accounts and includes an OA Score.
- Other online or altmetric services have different business models and use different data sources to generate metrics.
- Authors who chose in modern journals like, PeerJ, benefit from the modern suite of tools, including metrics built right into the journal workflow.
- For example, PeerJ makes it easy to follow the Veterinary Medicine subject overlay.
- Google Scholar metrics
- Legacy publishers examples:
- Example from Elsevier: "Sharing and promoting your article"
- Example from Wiley: (from email received 6/2016):
- deGruyter OpenScience Web site--see bottom for help "How to Optimize a Paper for Search Engines" etc.
- Funder examples
- NIFA/USDA Twitter Account " NIFA Impacts Share Your Science"
- Individual researcher examples:
- Antony Williams: http://www.chemconnector.com
- Antony Williams: http://www.chemconnector.com
To find the right publishing partner, first educate yourself about copyright and "...what's out there in the publishing landscape". (Laura Leichum, April 2015)
- "Get it Right: Negotiating the Publishing Contract" Laura Leichum, Georgetown University Press: 2015
- Learn more about digital publishing from Lynda.com at UTK .
- UTK Libraries' support for authors includes a Scholarly Publishing Toolkit and a Scholarly Communications Librarian.
- UTK OIT Instructional Support "...offers resources and support to assist faculty in their efforts to effectively integrate technology into teaching and learning. You can work with us in a variety of ways."
Publishers and other resources*:
*Listing publishers below is not an endorsement. Some criteria for listing below; publishes in vet med or agriculture, innovative, open access.
Publishers--UTK/veterinary medicine focus
Guides, why-to and how-to resources
Notice: The author of this page in not a lawyer and the information provided does not constitute legal advice.
Pivot is the gold standard for funding opportunities, according to Louise Nuttle/UTK ORE. Anyone at UTK is able to claim a Pivot profile to get funding opportunity alerts. Pivot replaces Community of Science and is a service of the UTK Office of Research.
Add your ORCID number to your profile to lower the barriers to participating fully in Pivot:
For Early Career Researchers:
Supporting policy with research:
For veterinary society members: the scholarly society ECS has made open access part of the business model. Called the ECS Free the Science Initiative, ECS also provides podcasts, blog posts, annual reports, case studies, and videos about it.
Why this is relevant to veterinary societies: The ECS is similar to veterinary medicine in that it has a very large mandate and an even smaller community of practice. The ECS is choosing to remain an independent publisher while making the change to open science with a membership of about 8,000.
"The Electrochemical Society is creating uninhibited availability of the science through open access and accelerating scientific discovery and innovation."
Please reach out to a librarian early and often if you are planning a systematic review.
Here are two resources to get the conversation started:
- Last Updated: Jul 28, 2018 10:14 AM
- URL: https://libguides.utk.edu/veterinaryinformation
- Print Page