General University Archives and Special Collections Resources
This research guide identifies special collections materials related to the history of the University of Tennessee, from its founding as Blount College in 1794 to the present. The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to prominent topics and themes available in our collections. To find more materials on a specific topic:
- UTK Library CatalogArchival research gets easier the more you know about your topic. Don't forget you can search the library catalog to find books and external databases that will be very helpful in your research.
- Special CollectionsThe Special Collections website provides information about how to access collections, request materials, and provides further instruction.
- Scout: Special Collections Online @ UTSCOUT is Special Collections' finding aid database. You can use SCOUT to access detailed information and find every manuscript and archive collection in Special Collections and University Archives at the University of Tennessee.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaThe DPLA provides online access to millions of books, images and other materials from libraries, archives and museums across the United States.
- Volunteer VoicesVolunteer Voices contains digital collections from libraries and other institutions across Tennessee.
- Trace: Tennessee Research and Creative ExchangeA digital archive of published and unpublished works by faculty, students, departments, programs, research centers, and institutes.
To find more information on locating primary sources, manuscripts, and archives material in Special Collections, please visit the Using Special Collection's SCOUT research guide, found at https://libguides.utk.edu/SCOUT/home.
Special Collections Contact Information
Special Collections
Contact:
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu
We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5PM. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials.
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-4480
special@utk.edu
We are open Monday-Friday: 9AM-5PM. Go to Visiting Special Collections for more information on how to request materials.
865-974-4480
Website
Subjects: Special Collections and Archives