Library Tutorials: Tutorials

Video-Based Guide

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes less than 2 minutes.
•   Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major devices.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/utk-mind-map

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/XOvJ2o8N0sw" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Define a mind map, explaining its purpose and usefulness as a visual tool for organizing and representing information.
• Create a basic mind map, including the use of central topics, branches, and keywords to convey relationships and hierarchy within the information.

Video-Based Guide

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes 5 minutes.
•   Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major devices.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/information-cycle

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/bpv6SRISk-4" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Learning Objectives

• Users will explore how different publication formats (e.g., articles, books, websites) are affected by the information cycle, considering factors such as immediacy, depth, and editorial processes.

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Analyze the stages of the information cycle, including creation, dissemination, and transformation of information, to understand how information evolves over time.
• Assess how the information cycle influences the availability, relevance, and reliability of sources, guiding them in making informed decisions about source selection for research.
• Apply knowledge of the information cycle to analyze real-world examples, enhancing their practical understanding of how information evolves and impacts different fields of study.

Text-Based Guide

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Time varies depending on need.
•   Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major devices.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/search-tips

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Identify and apply a diverse range of techniques essential for effective academic research.
• Demonstrate an understanding of various academic research strategies.
• Display an awareness of and proficiently utilize keyboard shortcuts that enhance efficiency during the research process, improving navigation, document handling, and overall productivity.
• Integrate identified research techniques seamlessly into their workflow, optimizing their ability to gather, analyze, and synthesize information for academic projects.

Interactive Guide

• There is a 5-question quiz at the end of the guide.

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes 5-10 minutes.
•  Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works best on desktop / laptop or tablet.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/finding-books

Learning Objectives

• Users will practice and apply advanced searching strategies within OneSearch to refine results and find specific types of resources, such as books and scholarly articles.

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Proficiently utilize OneSearch to conduct searches and locate a variety of resources, including books and electronic materials, on the University Libraries website.
• Demonstrate the ability to create an account on the University Libraries website and display familiarity with account management features to enhance their resource access experience.
• Display understanding of how to access both physical resources (e.g., books, journals) and electronic resources available through the University Libraries and on the University Libraries website.

Interactive Guide

• There is a 5-question quiz at the end of the guide.

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes 5-10 minutes.
•  Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works best on desktop / laptop or tablet.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/finding-articles

Learning Objectives

• Users will practice and apply effective searching strategies within academic databases to retrieve scholarly articles and other relevant materials.

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Successfully navigate the Articles and Databases page on the University Libraries website to locate a variety of academic resources.
• Proficiently use OneSearch to conduct searches, locate relevant articles, and explore resources available on the University Libraries website.

Applied Learning

• Quiz questions are included throughout the module.

• Certificate of Completion available.

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes 10-30 minutes.
•  Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works best on desktop / laptop or tablet.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/primary-vs-secondary

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Define primary sources, recognizing them as firsthand, original, or raw materials that provide direct evidence or insight into a particular topic, event, or time period.
• Define secondary sources, identifying them as interpretations, analyses, or summaries of primary sources created by individuals not directly involved in the events or research.
• Differentiate between primary and secondary sources based on given circumstances, considering factors such as authorship, proximity to the event, and purpose.
• Articulate the key differences between primary and secondary sources, highlighting the unique characteristics, strengths, and limitations of each in the context of academic research.

Applied Learning

• Quiz questions are included throughout the module.

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes 15-20 minutes.
•  Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major devices.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/evaluating-sources

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Define the term "reliable" in the context of evaluating information sources.
• Comprehend how the context of information, including its source and publication, can influence its reliability.
• Apply lateral reading techniques to gather additional information about an information source
• Critically assess the reliability, bias, and authority of information sources.

Applied Learning

• Quiz questions are included throughout the module.

• Certificate of Completion available.

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes 10-30 minutes.
•  Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works best on desktop / laptop or tablet.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/citing-sources-works

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Articulate the purpose of citations and their significance in academic and creative works.
• Employ effective strategies to avoid plagiarism and responsibly integrate sources into their work.
• Distinguish between plagiarism and copyright infringement, recognizing the distinct ethical and legal considerations associated with each.
• Demonstrate awareness of available research assistance services at the University Libraries, including reference materials, expert guidance, and online resources.

Video-Based Guide

Tutorial Series

• Topics covered:
• Introduction & Access
• Keyword Searching
• Subject Headings
• Limiting Your Search
• Managing Citations
• Finding Full Text Articles

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes 5-30 minutes.
•   Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major devices.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/cinahl_tutorial

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/videoseries?list=PLGHVffJdEZvEiQdNzeMCxUOabKsKiJNgZ" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Proficiently execute a basic search in the CINAHL database, employing appropriate keywords and filters.
• Navigate the process of accessing full-text articles in the CINAHL database using their UTK credentials.
• Demonstrate proficiency in utilizing citation management features within the CINAHL database.

Video-Based Guide

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes less than 5 minutes.
•   Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major devices.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/GoogleScholar

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/i6pfCzpJkEQ" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Successfully connect Google Scholar to their University Libraries account.
• Comprehend the advantages of connecting Google Scholar to their University Libraries account.

Text-based Guide

Tutorial Series

• Topics covered:
• Windows Installation and Mac Tips
• Exporting References from a Database into EndNote
• Importing PDFs into EndNote
• Typing in a Reference
• Managing an EndNote Library
• Getting an Output Style into EndNote
• Backing Up and Synching an EndNote Library
• Cite While You Write
• Find Full Text

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes 10-90 minutes. (Approximately 10 minutes per tutorial.)
•  Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works best on desktop / laptop or tablet.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/EndNote

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Successfully install EndNote on different operating systems, including Windows and macOS.
• Proficiently be able to perform basic functions in EndNote, including adding references to their library and managing the references using groups, searching, and sorting.
• Demonstrate proficiency in utilizing advanced features, such as Cite While You Write, locating and integrating full-text documents, and employing tagging functionality.

Video-Based Guide

Tutorial Series

• Topics covered:
• Introduction / Location
• EBSCO Account
• Thesaurus
• Types of Searches
• Search Tips
• Filters
• Search Examples
• Viewing, Citing, and Saving Results
• Finding Full Text Articles
• Getting Help

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes 5-40 minutes.
•   Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major devices.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

http://tiny.utk.edu/ERIC_Tutorials

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/videoseries?list=PLGHVffJdEZvEHtR3lMtpWr18fu_-WCZ_0" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Successfully create an EBSCO account, understanding the benefits and features associated with account registration.
• Proficiently perform a basic search in the ERIC database, employing effective keywords and utilizing advanced search options if needed.
• Navigate the process of accessing full-text articles in the ERIC database using their UTK credentials.
• Effectively utilize ERIC's Thesaurus to identify and apply appropriate subject terms for refining search queries.
• Utilize features within ERIC to save and organize selected articles for future reference, including creating folders and exporting citation information.

Video-Based Guide

Tutorial Series

• Topics covered:
• Introduction / Location
• JSTOR Account
• Types of Searches
• Search Tips & Filters
• Example Searches
• Viewing, Saving, and Citing Results
• Help with JSTOR & Other Resources

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes 5-30 minutes.
•   Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major devices.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

http://tiny.utk.edu/JSTOR_Tutorials

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/videoseries?list=PLGHVffJdEZvFlsNGX5bqykhDrHq4RiU_F" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Successfully create a JSTOR account, understanding the benefits and additional features available through account registration.
• Proficiently perform a basic search in the JSTOR database, utilizing effective search strategies and understanding Boolean operators if applicable.
• Effectively save selected articles, creating and managing collections or folders within JSTOR for future reference.

Video-Based Guide

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes less than 5 minutes.
•   Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major devices.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/libkey-nomad

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/tgDodKpI0a0" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Successfully access the LibKey Nomad tool and connect it to their University Libraries account.
• Recognize resources that utilize LibKey Nomad for accessing full-text articles.
• Successfully retrieve the full-text version of an article using LibKey Nomad.

Video-Based Guide

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes less than 10 minutes.
•  Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works best on desktop / laptop or tablet.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/powernotes

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Successfully install PowerNotes on Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.
• Demonstrate the ability to create a new project within the PowerNotes platform
• Display proficiency in exporting resources, including citations and notes, from PowerNotes.

Interactive Guide

Tutorial Series

• Topics covered:
• Introduction
• MyAccount
• Search Tips
• Results
• Thesaurus
• Tips for Advanced Searching

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Time varies depending on need.
•  Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works best on desktop / laptop or tablet.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/psycinfo-tutorial

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Successfully create a PsycINFO account, understanding the advantages and additional features associated with account registration.
• Proficiently perform a basic search, utilizing appropriate keywords and filters, and an advanced search, including the use of Boolean operators, proximity operators, and other advanced search options to refine results.
• Effectively utilize the PsycINFO Thesaurus to identify and apply relevant subject terms for refining search queries.

Interactive Guide

Tutorial Series

• Topics covered:
• Introduction to PubMed
• My NCBI Account
• Keyword Searching
• Limiting Your Search
• Single Citation Searching
• MeSH Definition
• MeSH Searching
• Managing Citations
• Finding Full Text Articles

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Time varies depending on need.
•  Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works best on desktop / laptop or tablet.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/PubMed-Tutorials

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Successfully create an NCBI account, understanding the benefits and additional features associated with account registration.
• Proficiently perform a basic search, utilizing appropriate keywords and filters, and an advanced search, including the use of Boolean operators and other advanced search options to refine results.
• navigate the process of locating and accessing full-text articles in PubMed using their UTK credentials.
• Effectively perform Single Citation Searching in PubMed, locating specific articles using citation details such as author names, titles, or publication years.
• Proficiently utilize Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) for searching in PubMed, enhancing the precision and relevance of search queries.
• Utilize features within PubMed to save and organize selected articles, including creating bibliographies and managing citation collections.

Interactive Guide

Tutorial Series

• Topics covered:
• Introduction
• Scopus Account
• Basic Searching
• Advanced Searching
• Refining Results
• Article Overview
• Finding Full Text
• Additional Documents
• Expanding Searches
• Authors & Affiliations
• Source Search

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Time varies depending on need.
•  Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works best on desktop / laptop or tablet.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/scopus-tutorial

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Successfully create a Scopus account, understanding the advantages and additional features associated with account registration.
• Proficiently perform a basic search, utilizing appropriate keywords and filters, and an advanced search, including the use of Boolean operators and other advanced search options to refine results.
• Navigate the process of locating and accessing full-text articles in Scopus using their UTK credentials.
• Understand and apply features in Scopus that assist in broadening search results, including the use of Authors and Affiliations searches and Source searches.

Video-Based Guide

Tutorial Series

• Topics covered: (each topic is a separate Visible Body app)
• Human Anatomy Atlas
• Anatomy and Physiology
• Muscle Premium

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes ~30 minutes to complete the entire series.
•  Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works best on desktop / laptop or tablet.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/VisibleBodyTutorials

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Successfully access the Visible Body software, understanding the login process and interface navigation across each app.
• Demonstrate the ability to explore various anatomical views within Visible Body, including regional views, systems views, and cross-sectional views.
• Effectively use interactive tools provided in Visible Body, such as zoom, rotate, and pan, to examine anatomical structures in detail.
• Explore and understand the functional systems available in Visible Body.

Interactive Guide

Tutorial Series

• Topics covered:
• Introduction
• Account Creation
• Types of Searches
• Tips for Searching
• Search Results
• Cited Reference Search
• Other Resources

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes 5-60 minutes.
•  Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works best on desktop / laptop or tablet.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/WOS-tutorial

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Successfully create a Web of Science account, understanding the benefits and additional features associated with account registration.
• Proficiently perform a basic search, utilizing appropriate keywords and filters, and an advanced search, including the use of Boolean operators and other advanced search options to refine results.
• Effectively conduct cited reference searches in Web of Science, identifying and exploring articles that have cited a particular reference.

Video-Based Guide

Tutorial Series

• Topics covered:
• Introduction & Access
• Interface
• Example Search
• Dissertations & Theses

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes 5-15 minutes.
•   Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major devices.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/WorldCat-tutorial

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/videoseries?list=PLGHVffJdEZvFVK5zYvZDZzP-wM1klSQdK" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Successfully navigate the WorldCat interface, understanding the layout, search options, and menu features.
• Proficiently perform searches in WorldCat, utilizing effective keywords and filters to locate a variety of materials.
• Locate and access dissertations and theses within WorldCat, understanding the unique features and scope of the Dissertations & Theses database.

Applied Learning

• Quiz questions are included throughout the module.

• PDF Completion Report available.

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Takes 30-45 minutes.
  (Question-Only Version takes approximately 30 minutes.)
•  Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works best on desktop / laptop or tablet.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

* A question only version of this tutorial is also available. This version can be accessed at https://tiny.utk.edu/jargon-blaster-quest Opens in a new window.

https://tiny.utk.edu/jargon-blaster

https://tiny.utk.edu/jargon-blaster-quest

Learning Objectives

By completing this tutorial, users will be able to:

• Identify and locate library services that offer assistance.
• Recognize and use common library terminology when conducting research.
• Differentiate between similar library concepts when researching.

Interactive Guide

Tutorial Information

• Tutorial completion time.
• Time varies depending on choices made.
•  Which device types will tutorial work on?
• Works best on desktop / laptop or tablet.
•   Which browsers will tutorial work on?
• Works on all major browsers.

https://tiny.utk.edu/using-university-libraries

Learning Objectives

After completing this tutorial, learners will be able to:

• Navigate the physical layout of the University Libraries and locate key areas.
• Use the University Libraries' resources to efficiently search for books, journals, and other scholarly materials related to their research topics.
• Identify and access the various support services offered by the library, including research assistance, resource sharing services, and contacting a librarian.