It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UT faculty and students may view documentaries and feature films from any computer or mobile device. The Libraries video streaming collections can be found atVideo Collections. Individual titles can be looked up in the Library Catalog.
Provides a large collection of videos, including lectures, demonstrations, and live consultations, for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Search or browse for live case consultation.
From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, Theatre in Video, when complete, will offer more than 500 hours of online streaming video, available electronically for the first time. With live television broadcasts of New York productions from the 50s, revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, as well as important contemporary performances, Theatre in Video covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Unlike Hollywood adaptations, these are the actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience.
Psy-world.com is an educational site that provides regularly updated news, events, tools and information on depression, anxiety and other psychiatric disorders for health professionals, scientists, students, patients and their families.
Collections on DVD in Hodges Library: (ask for these at the Public Services Desk on the 2nd floor)
Emotion-Foucused Therapy Over Time by Jon Carlson; Leslie S Greenberg; Yevette Brown; Jon M Tullos
Call Number: RC489 .F62 E66 2007
Publication Date: 2007
This series shows a patient with depression, anxiety, and marital distress in a therapy situation. Note: Use of the video is limited to in class viewing for Masters and PhD level students and faculty.
Tarnation by Jonathan Caouette 1973-; Renee LeBlanc; Adolph Davis; Rosemary Davis 1927-1995.; David Sanin Paz, Michael Cox 1979-; John Califra; Max Avery Lichtenstein
Call Number: HV697 .T37 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Filmmaker Jonathan Caouette's documentary on growing up with his schizophrenic mother -- a mixture of snapshots, Super-8, answering machine messages, video diaries, early short films, and more -- culled from 19 years of his life.
Titicut Follies by Frederick Wiseman
Call Number: HV8742.U52 T59
Publication Date: 1967
Filmed at the Massachusetts Correctional Institution Bridgewater, this documentary shows harsh scenes of the life and treatment of the criminally insane inmates.
The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst (On order)
From Andrew Jarecki and Marc Smerling, The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst, is a six-part examination of the reclusive millionaire at the heart of three killings spanning four decades.
Psychology & Psychiatry Research
To find research on psychology and psychiatry, try these sources first:
This collection contains real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
A guide to the journal literature on performing arts – drama, theater, dance, film, television, and more – and a resource for the performing arts information and research community. Limited to 4 simultaneous users. Please click "end session" to logoff.
A guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present. Includes entries on playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, dramatic movements, classic works, commercially successful plays, and foreign figures that have influenced American dramatic development.
Ranging from ancient Greek tragedies to the latest developments around the globe, The Oxford companion to theatre and performance provides an all-embracing approach that encompasses drama and musical, opera, dance, radio, and non-dramatic performances including circuses and parades. --from publisher description