This guide provides a list of key databases for the subject along with links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs. Call number ranges and subject headings for finding books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings in the Music Library are also included.
The home of Grove Music Online and the access point for new and forthcoming Oxford music reference subscriptions and products. The University of Tennessee Library subscribes to: Encyclopedia of Popular Music; The Oxford Dictionary of Music; Grove Music Online; and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Search for journal articles on your topic in the following databases:
The Music Periodicals Database – formerly International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP+IIMP Full Text) – supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with access to about 220 full-text titles and citations sourced from more than 600 music periodicals.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive bibliography on writings about music featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. It covers over one million publications from around the world on traditional music, popular music, classical music, and related subjects. Coverage begins in the early 19th century and extends to the present.
Full-text documents on important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health. Documents span from 1940-2014, with the bulk from 1950-1990. Formerly called: Archives of Human Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940.
LGBT Life allows searching across hundreds of books and journals related to gender and sexuality. Full text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines, newspapers, and books.
A collection of selected scholarly journals in humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Most titles do not include the most recent 3-5 years. For more current research, search one of our general or subject-specific databases.
NOTE: During the current COVID-19 situation, JSTOR has opened access to additional journals and primary source collections beyond the ones we already subscribe to as well as a collection of ebooks. This additional access will be through December 31, 2020. The access to the ebooks will be through August 31, 2020.
Listen to music by LGBTQ performers and composers in these databases:
Extensive audio and video for classical, opera, jazz, world, & American music.
Includes African American Music Reference, American song, Classical Music Library, Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online, Opera in Video, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, and Jazz Music Library.
Naxos Music Library is a streaming audio database that features a comprehensive collection of classical music. It offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues in addition to those of several other record labels. Please Log-off when finished.
Jazz Music Library is a streaming audio database containing over 60,000 jazz recordings from all over the world. Individual tracks and entire albums featuring some of the most famous artists and ensembles from the beginnings of jazz to today may be heard through this database.
Naxos Music Library: Jazz is a streaming audio database that features contemporary jazz from around the world and featuring artists and ensembles from the United States, Scandinavia, Germany, Australia and New Zealand. Limited to 10 simultaneous users. Click Log-off when finished.
Opera in Video is a streaming video database that will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. This collection is a channel on Alexander Street Video.
Berliner Philharmoniker's Digital Concert Hall streams classical music concert videos to your tablet, smartphone, smartTV or PC. The sound quality is similar to that of a CD, and the picture quality similar to HD television. This database provides access to both archived videos and live streams of Berlin Philharmonic productions, as well as several documentaries. Search this collection by composer, conductor, soloist, and/or genre.
GALA Choruses, Inc. is a not-for-profit organization serving the GLBT choral movement. The mission of GALA Choruses is to support GLBT choruses as we change our world through song. GALA Choruses is open to all GLBT and GLBT-allied choruses. Through workshops, festivals and ongoing networking and administrative support services, GALA Choruses fosters the continued artistic and organizational growth of its member choruses.