Skip to content
Popular vs. Scholarly Article Activity
Want More Information?
Librarians are here to help! Use the Research Guides to find more information in your subject area, or contact Kelly Tilton (email@example.com) for more information about ENG101 resources.
Using the Library
For help with searching, go to the Libraries' Tutorials page, which has tutorials about:
- Searching for Articles
- Searching for Books in Hodges Library
Find articles for English 101 assignments. Use these Library Databases:
Academic Search Complete
This multi-disciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject. (Formerly Academic Search Premier)
CQ Researcher (1923-present)
Contains reports about current and controversial issues. Excellent for finding overviews, pros/cons and lists of key resources.
Education Source (1929- )
A comprehensive source for articles in all areas of education and complements the ERIC database with a broad coverage of topics related to education.
PsycINFO (1800s - present)
The premier database for journal articles, books, and dissertations in all areas of psychology.
mental health psychinfo psyc info psych
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides overviews and pro/con essays on social issues. One of the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) databases.
PLEASE NOTE: This resource has been replaced by Nexis Uni. Access to LexisNexis Academic will not be available after September 30, 2017.
News content from around the world, including newspapers, broadcast transcripts, magazines, wire services, and blogs. Coverage varies, but most content dates from 1990s to present. Also includes Hoover's and other company profiles as well as federal and state laws and court decisions. Mobile interface
Points of View Reference Center
Provides information on multiple sides of a current issue.
Sources for Statistics
You may find statistics from governmental agencies by adding site:.gov to the end of a Google search. For example, a Google search for high school graduation rates site:.gov would bring back information and statistics from the U.S. Department of Education (ed.gov) and other government agencies.
CQ Researcher is another good place to find statistics. Search by topic, then look under the "Maps/Graphs" heading on the left of each topical report.