Finding Articles
Subject databases focus on indexing publications in a specific field and are an ideal starting point for searching the literature. Feel unsure about your searching skills? We have some ERIC and PsycINFO tutorials to help you get started.
- ERIC from EBSCO
This link opens in a new window
The primary database for education. Also available through ProQuest. - Education SourceHas some overlap with ERIC. but covers more journals and non-scholarly articles.
Searching Multiple Databases
Although some advanced search options are not available when searching multiple databases at once, these convenient combinations can be useful for basic searches. Not recommended for evidence synthesis reviews.
Multidisciplinary
These three databases cover scholarly publications from a wide range of disciplines and should be included in comprehensive searches or if your topic spans multiple research areas.
- Academic Search CompleteAlso includes non-peer reviewed publications.
STEM Education
Consider searching the scientific literature for education-related topics.
- Engineering Village: CompendexAn index to the engineering literature
- MathSciNet via EBSCOProvides reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for the mathematical sciences literature.
- Web of Science
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database covering the top journals in the sciences.
Finding Background Information
- SAGE KnowledgeA large collection of social sciences ebooks, reference materials, and videos published by SAGE.
- OneSearchExplore the many encyclopedias we have through OneSearch. Try using a broad topic keyword along with the word encyclopedia or handbook.
- Oxford BibliographiesThese annotated bibliographies are compiled by scholars and include topics related to childhood studies, education, psychology, and more.
Finding Dissertations
If these databases do not have the full text of the thesis/dissertation you need, you can request it through Resource Sharing.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses GlobalDissertations and theses from participating institutions from around the world. Note: UTK has not participated since the 1990s.
- UTK Dissertations & Theses, TRACE
The digitized collection of dissertations and theses completed at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and DissertationsSearch for theses and dissertations from institutional repositories around the world.