Melanie Dixson & Niki Kirkpatrick
Need Help?
Click this button to start a chat with a librarian. (Opens in a new window)
What is Evidence-Based Practice (EBP)?
"Placing the client's benefits first, evidence-based practitioners adopt a process of lifelong learning that involves continually posing specific questions of direct practical importance to clients, searching objectively and efficiently for the current best evidence relative to each question, and taking appropriate action guided by evidence." (Gibbs, 2003)
"...the conscientious, explicit and judicious use of current best evidence in making decisions about the care of the individual patient. It means integrating individual clinical expertise with the best available external clinical evidence from systematic research." (Sackett et al, 1996)
Past DNP Projects
Previous DNP Project submissions are available in TRACE. Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange (TRACE) is The University of Tennessee's Open Access repository, a publicly accessible archive featuring research and creative work by UT scholars and researchers. You can learn more about TRACE by visiting trace.tennessee.edu.
Databases
- CINAHL CompleteThe most inclusive index for the field of nursing. Includes coverage of other allied health areas such as occupational therapy, physical therapy, and more. Unlimited users.
CINAHL Tutorial - Cochrane LibraryCochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based clinical information databases for healthcare providers.
- ComDisDomeAn indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology. Coverage from 1950 to current.
- Health Policy Reference CenterFull-text resources covering all aspects of health policy and related issues.
- PubMedEssential database for biomedicine. Includes citations from MEDLINE and for biomedical articles in life science journals. A product of the National Center for Biotechnology Information.
- UpToDateAn evidence-based medicine (EBM) tools that assists healthcare providers with point-of-care decisions. Access provided by UT Medical Center.
- ACCESS Smart Search (ACESSSS)From McMaster University. A searchable database that helps "provide current best evidence for clinical decisions. It conducts searches simultaneously in several evidence-based information services (online evidence-based texts, evidence-based guidelines and pre-appraised journal publications.)" Free registration required.
- ClinicalTrials.gov"A database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world." Provided by the National Library of Medicine.
- ECRI Guidelines TrustAlternate resource for the former National Guideline Clearinghouse. "This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally- and internationally-recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies." Free to use, but registration is required.
- National Quality Measures ClearinghouseA database and web site for information on specific evidence-based health care quality measures and measure sets.
- PROSPEROInternational prospective register of systematic reviews. "Valuable resource for identifying on-going reviews to help avoid unplanned duplication."
- SUMSearchSearches for original studies, systematic reviews, and practice guidelines from multiple sources.
- TripSearches across multiple sources of best evidence.
- R2 Digital LibraryE-books and downloadable images primarily for nursing, medicine, and allied health.
- MedOne ComSciA collection of Thieme e-books containing images, videos, and cases in audiology and speech language pathology.