Data Services: Data Repositories
This guide provides information on managing data and obtaining secondary data for research.
A data repository provides long-term storage for data that support scholarly research and publications. Data repositories serve to ensure research data is accessible beyond the life of a grant, research project, or individual researcher careers. The following information is provided to UTK researchers to help meet grant funder and publisher requirements to share data openly.
| UT Libraries encourages researchers to deposit datasets in Dryad using our Data Archiving and Sharing Support Fund |
To use this fund to deposit your data, please fill out the form below.
Data Archiving and Sharing Fund Application
- DryadDryad is a general data repository that allows data upload by anyone. They also provide curation services. There is a cost, but this cost can often be included in grant funds.
- ZenodoZenodo is an open data repository for all disciplines provided by the OpenAIRE project in Europe.
- FigshareA repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner
- Harvard DataverseHarvard Dataverse is a repository for research data hosted by Harvard University.
- openICPSRopenICPSR is a no-cost, self-publishing repository for social, behavioral, and health sciences research data that is particularly well-suited for researchers who need to publish data associated with a journal article to advance scientific transparency, meet funder requirements for data sharing, and allow other researchers to replicate their findings.
- GenBankGenBank is the NIH genetic sequence database, an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
- Knowledge Network for Biodiversity (KNB)KNB is an international repository intended to facilitate ecological and environmental research.
- Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)Hosted by the University of Michigan, ICPSR is a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion ResearchThe Roper Center is hosted by Cornell University and collects, preserves, and disseminates public opinion data.
- Qualitative Data Repository(QDR) is hosted by Syracuse University and archives and disseminates qualitative data.
- Post 45 Data CollectiveThe Post45 Data Collective peer reviews and houses post-1945 literary data on an open-access website designed, hosted, and maintained by Emory University’s Center for Digital Scholarship. User can browse and deposit data.
- The Nineteenth-Century Data CollectiveThe Nineteenth-Century Data Collective peer-reviews and houses literary or cultural data, circa 1800-1900, on an open access website designed, hosted, and maintained by Princeton University Library.
- CORE RepositoryCORE is a full-text, interdisciplinary, non-profit social repository designed to increase the impact of work in the humanities.
- Electronic Literature Knowledge BaseThe ELMCIP Knowledge Base is a research resource for electronic literature and it is open for new contributions and submissions.
- ISIDOREIsidore is a platform and a search engine allowing the access to digital data of Humanities and Social Sciences. Open to all and especially to teachers, researchers, PhD students and students.
- GitHubGitHub is an online service where developers store, manage, and share software code.
- GitLabGitLab is a web-based Git repository that provides free open and private repositories, issue-following capabilities, and wikis.
- FigShareFigshare is an online open access repository where researchers can preserve and share their research outputs, including figures, datasets, images, and videos.
If none of the preceding data repositories meet your needs, please reach out to the UT Libraries' Data Services Team at dataservices@utk.edu for a consultation. Additional curated listings of data repositories are provided below.
- Re3Data - the Registry of Research Data RepositoriesRe3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It includes repositories that enable permanent storage of and access to data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers, and scholarly institutions.
- Open Access Directory of Data RepositoriesThis wiki is an openly maintained registry of data repositories.
- Data Repository Guidance from NatureThis page from Nature provides general guidance on selecting a data repository as well as a listing of repositories in several disciplines.
- NIH Supported Domain-Specific Data Sharing RepositoriesThis table lists NIH-supported domain-specific data repositories that make data accessible for reuse and are open for both submitting and accessing data. Submission is typically limited to data of a certain type or related to a certain discipline.