About The 1619 Project
This guide includes resources that explore the topic of The 1619 Project, which was a group-read of the University of Tennessee Libraries and UT's School of Information Science in Spring 2024. In addition to books and e-books, selected lists of media resources (DVDs, streaming audio and video), journals, databases, and websites are featured.
Books Related to The 1619 Project
The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story
The New York Times Magazine's award-winning 1619 Project issue re-framed our understanding of American history by placing slavery and its continuing legacy at the center of our national narrative. This book substantially expands on that work, weaving together eighteen essays that explore the legacy of slavery in present-day America with thirty-six poems and works of fiction that illuminate key moments of oppression, struggle, and resistance.
Before the Mayflower: A History of Black America
The black experience in America-- starting from its origins in western Africa up to the present day-- is examined in this seminal study from a prominent African American figure. The entire historical timeline of African Americans is addressed, from the Colonial period through the civil rights upheavals of the 1960s and 1970s.
Slavery and Public History: TheTough Stuff of American Memory
America's slave past remains one of the most contentious issues in U.S. memory. In recent years, the culture wars over the way that slavery is remembered and taught have reached a new crescendo. This collection explores current controversies and offers a bracing analysis of how people remember their past and how the lessons they draw influence American politics and culture today.
Inequality in Early America
This book was designed as a collaborative effort to satisfy a long-felt need to pull together many important but separate inquiries into the nature and impact of inequality in colonial and revolutionary America.
Remembering the Revolution: Memory, History, and Nation Making from Independence to the Civil War
In this collection of essays, historians and literary scholars consider how the first three generations of American citizens interpreted their nation's origins. They show how the memory of the Revolution became politicized early in the nation's history, as different interests sought to harness its meaning for their own ends.
Databases, Journals, Media, and Other Sources Related to The 1619 Project
- America : History and Life with Full TextThis database indexes scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada. Some access to full-text articles is available.
- National Anti-Slavery Standard, 1840-1870.This database provides the text of the weekly newspaper of the American Anti-Slavery Society. It was established in 1840 by abolitionists and contributed to the fight against slavery.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social JusticeThis database includes primary source documents from 1490 to 2007 related to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational ArchiveThis database covers collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.