Food & Drink in the Modern South -- HIST499: Open Access Resources

Images for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. From Duke University.

Thousands of television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s. From Duke University.

From Duke University. Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920 relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.

Full-text highlights from the Motion Picture Archives at the Library of Congress.

Includes hundreds of advertisements on a wide array of subjects.

Selections from various Library of Congress collections that document the rise of consumer culture. Especially strong for advertising.

Online collection of images and text documenting Florida's citrus industry.

Primarily text collections. Click on collections link to see a list of collections.

From Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information. Collection of some of the most famous documentary photographs for the U.S.

A core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century from Cornell University.

From the Smithsonian Institution, images of rural life and farm equipment.

Interviews with Southerners who grow, create, serve, and consume food and drink.

Website contains 20 interviews on the impact of globalization on the Florida citrus industry.

A collection of books and government publications documenting the national effort to promote and implement a plan to make food the key to winning World War I.

From Michigan State University. A collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century.

University of Iowa collection that includes more than 4,000 promotional recipe pamphlets, published mainly by food and appliance manufacturers and trade associations documenting the evolution of the American diet.

From the Nation's Attic, the Smithsonian Institution. Images of everything from yogurt makers to shopping carts.

Information and images about iconic NYC food. From the NewYork Public Library.

Full and partial images of thousands of books and periodicals digitized by Google. To limit results to full-text, click on "full-view only." Particularly good resource for finding the complete text of older books and periodicals.

Open access to full-text of books and periodicals.

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.