Citing Images
When using images in your presentation, remember to cite or provide attribution to the images. Here are some resources to help get you started:
Citing Images
This is from the University of California Irvine's Visual Literacy Guide. It includes best practices and guidelines for citing images.
Citation Examples
The University of Cincinatti provides good examples of image citations and other information related to using images.
Adding Narration
IF Skills Tutorial
IF Skills provides videos on how to create powerpoint presentations. This video focuses on how to add narration to your powerpoint.
How to Record Narration for PowerPoint for Dummies
The "for Dummies" series provides a video tutorial for how to record your narration in PowerPoint.
Studio Resources
The Studio at Hodges Library can provide you with the tools you need to create your narration. You may reserve a sound room with a USB microphone to record in or reserve a digital audio recorder to record your narration at home.
Image Resources
The resources listed below were created by Margaret Casado. For a full list of image resources, please see her Image Reserach Guide.
Image databases
- ARTStorDigital images in many subjects, including art, architecture, science and humanities
- Scholar's Resource (Archivision)High-quality images for art, all time periods and geographical areas. UT users can obtain access to additional functionality by creating an account.
- Index of Medieval ArtIndex to both articles and works of art. Some records do not have images and some images, because of copyright restrictions, will not be viewable.
- Grove Dictionary of Art OnlinePart of Oxford Art Online. Contains encyclopedia articles and imagse. Access is limited to UT users.
- Associated Press Images CollectionImages from Associated Press photographers from the 19th century to the present.
- Madison Digital Image Database (MDID)Limited to UT users. A collection of images developed by the UT faculty in Art and Architecture. Log-in with net id and password.
Image collections
- Visual CollectionsDigital images from museums, universities, and private collections.
- Lewis Walpole Library: Yale UniversityCollection primarily of English caricatures and political satirical prints from the late-seventeenth through the mid-nineteenth centuries.
- New York Public Library Digital GalleryOver 700,000 from the NYPL's extensive collections.
- OAIsterSearch for images in hundreds of archival collections. Use Advanced search - Format - Visual
Digital Collections
The University of Tennessee Libraries creates and maintains digital collections on a variety of subjects, including the Great Smoky Mountains, Tennessee history, and The University of Tennessee.
Feel free to search the digital collections of UT Libraries
Music Resources
There are many sites that offer royalty free music to use for projects and presentations. Most often, the recordings are not free, however, there are some that allow free downloads. If you search, you may find some independent artists who allow use of their music for free if you give credit in the presentation. You may also check at the Music Library for
Public Domain and Royalty Free Music
A clearinghouse of information about and links to public domain and royalty-free music. They have gathered a large group of web resources to access and purchase royalty free music.
Artist Server
This is a social music site. It provides a filter to allow you to select music that is avialable for attribution or share alike or in the public domain.
Free Sound
Free Sounds provides sound clips all with a Creative Commons licesnse allowing for reuse.
Incomptech Royalty Free Music
Incompetch provides music with attribution required.
Jamendo Pro/Track
"Royalty free music for your video, audio and interactive projects"
Musopen
Musopen is a non-profit organization that provides free music resources.
Opsound
Opsound provides free music donated by artist using a Creative Commons Licesnse.
Media Literacy Librarian
Knoxville, TN 37996
(865) 974-6396 (studio)
(865) 946-2102 (office)