Skip to main content

Genealogy

Guide for the purpose of directing patrons to the necessary resources and institutions qualified for the study of genealogy

Calvin M. McClung Collection

The Calvin M. McClung Historical Collection is a research library located in the East Tennessee History Center of Downtown Knoxville.  The institution was established in 1921 to act as the genealogy and history branch of the Knox County Public Library system, and it provides support for the preservation and research of genealogy in East Tennessee.  The McClung collection preserves a large collection of books, printed genealogies, microfilm records, photographs, and manuscripts of East Tennessee Families, and it is an essential resource to anyone interested in East Tennessee genealogy.  

The McClung collection's materials are non-circulating, and they are not available to be interlibrary loaned.  Outside of limited online access to their materials, a physical visit is required to view items in the collection.  The McClung collection is open to the general public, and more in-depth research consultations are available by appointment.   

Digital Resources

Physical Resources

  • Reference Books on Genealogy Research
    Set of books instructing users on the research practices of professional genealogy, this offers an excellent resource to patrons just beginning their genealogical research
  • Collection of Printed Genealogies
    Set of books providing access to local genealogy that has already been completed by members of the local East Tennessee communities.  These books may provide genealogists with clues as to the relationships of their own ancestors with members of the East Tennessee community
  • First Families of Tennessee Manuscript Collections
    Collection of primary sources produced by the First Families of Tennessee, an organization whose members have created a genealogical collection proving the lineage of a member as having descended from a person living in any part of Tennessee by the year 1796 in which statehood was achieved 
  • Microfilm collection of state, local government, and newspaper records
    Collection of various primary source materials produced by the governing and reporting social institutions of East Tennessee
  • Complete set of Knoxville city directories from 1859-present
    Collection of directories providing alphabetical lists of names and addresses of individuals living in Knoxville.  Directories may reveal where an ancestor has lived or conducted business in the past, and it may also reveal the occupations of past family members
  • Set of Knoxville telephone directories dating back to 1898
    Collection of directories providing location information of residents and businesses operating in Knoxville during the corresponding year

Genealogy Workshops

In support of independent local genealogy research, the Calvin M. McClung Collection provides a variety of workshops on the topic.  The courses range in skill level from beginner to advanced, and they are an invaluable resource for those interested in researching their ancestry.  Class size for these workshops is limited, and pre-registration is required for most classes.