Fandom and Fanfiction studies includes the study of group thinking and attitudes. This can include fans from sports, television shows, books, comics, manga, and other groups that meet in person or online for the promotion of their fandom.
Selected Websites
Selected Websites
- TV TropesIncludes tropes of television shows and other forms of media. Link to the trope, fandom.
- Archive of Our OwnA fan-created, fan-run, non-profit, non-commercial archive for transformative fanworks, like fanfiction, fanart, fan videos, and podfic.
- Fanfiction.netOnline repository of fanfiction from across medias and the world.
- Sports Fans .orgNon-profit organization made up of sports fans who want to have a say in how the sports industry works, and to put fans first.
Looking for more sports?
Looking for more on sports?
For more information on sports, check out the Sports' Studies Guide.
Databases & Books on Fandom and Fanfiction
Selected Journals and Databases
 |
To locate a copy of an article, look for the Find Text button located near the record of the article in the databases. Click on it to bring up a box that lists full-text and paper copy holdings. |
Databases
- APA PsycINFOProvides indexing and abstracts of international psychological literature from the 1800s to present.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteIncludes full-text coverage of journals in communication and mass media studies.
- Academic Search CompleteThis multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- SPORTDiscus with Full TextSports and sports medicine full-text journals from 1975 to present.
- SAGE KnowledgeA large collection of social sciences content published by SAGE and CQ Press. Contains e-books, reference materials, videos, and business cases.
- Web of ScienceA multidisciplinary citation index covering journal articles and conference proceedings in sciences, social sciences, and humanities from 1900 to current. Provides cited reference searching and journal impact factors.
- Google ScholarSearch across scholarly publications. Review the linked tutorial to personalize your Google Scholar and connect with our University of Tennessee subscriptions.
Journals
- Media, culture & society (Online)Media, Culture & Society provides a major peer-reviewed, international forum for research and discussion on the media, including the newer information and communication technologies, within their political, economic, cultural and historical contexts.
Selected Books
 |
Want help finding books using OneSearch at UT Libraries? The OneSearch tutorial takes you through the highlights. |
Fan Culture by
Fan CULTure explores how present-day fans interact with the films, television shows, books, and pop culture artifacts they love. From creating original works of fanfiction to influencing the content of major primetime series through social media, fans are no longer passive consumers. They have evolved into active participants in creating and shaping these works. The all-new essays in this collection provide in-depth analyses of how fans interact with such popular franchises as Harry Potter, Lost, Supernatural, Lord of the Rings and Joss Whedon's Serenity, and examines as well topics not based on media-like fans of LEGO building blocks, Disneyland, and NFL quarterback Tim Tebow.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2013-11-07
New Narratives: stories and storytelling in the digital age by
Just as the explosive growth of digital media has led to ever-expanding narrative possibilities and practices, so these new electronic modes of storytelling have, in their own turn, demanded a rapid and radical rethinking of narrative theory. This timely volume takes up the challenge, deeply and broadly considering the relationship between digital technology and narrative theory in the face of the changing landscape of computer-mediated communication. New Narratives reflects the diversity of its subject by bringing together some of the foremost practitioners and theorists of digital narratives. It extends the range of digital subgenres examined by narrative theorists to include forms that have become increasingly prominent, new examples of experimental hypertext, and contemporary video games. The collection also explicitly draws connections between the development of narrative theory, technological innovation, and the use of narratives in particular social and cultural contexts. Finally, New Narratives focuses on how the tools provided by new technologies may be harnessed to provide new ways of both producing and theorizing narrative. Truly interdisciplinary, the book offers broad coverage of contemporary narrative theory, including frameworks that draw from classical and postclassical narratology, linguistics, and media studies.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2011-12-01
Fandom Unbound by
In recent years, otaku culture has emerged as one of Japan’s major cultural exports and as a genuinely transnational phenomenon. This timely volume investigates how this once marginalized popular culture has come to play a major role in Japan’s identity at home and abroad. In the American context, the word otaku is best translated as “geek”—an ardent fan with highly specialized knowledge and interests. But it is associated especially with fans of specific Japan-based cultural genres, including anime, manga, and video games. Most important of all, as this collection shows, is the way otaku culture represents a newly participatory fan culture in which fans not only organize around niche interests but produce and distribute their own media content. In this collection of essays, Japanese and American scholars offer richly detailed descriptions of how this once stigmatized Japanese youth culture created its own alternative markets and cultural products such as fan fiction, comics, costumes, and remixes, becoming a major international force that can challenge the dominance of commercial media. By exploring the rich variety of otaku culture from multiple perspectives, this groundbreaking collection provides fascinating insights into the present and future of cultural production and distribution in the digital age.
Call Number: HM646 .F36 2010Publication Date: 2012-02-28
Cult Collectors by
Cult Collectors examines cultures of consumption and the fans who collect cult film and TV merchandise. Author Lincoln Geraghty argues that there has been a change in the fan convention space, where collectible merchandise and toys, rather than just the fictional text, have become objects for trade, nostalgia, and a focal point for fans personal narratives. New technologies also add to this changing identity of cult fandom whereby popular websites such as eBay and ThinkGeek become cyber sites of memory and profit for cult fan communities. The book opens with an analysis of the problematic representations of fans and fandom in film and television. Stereotypes of the fan and collector as portrayed in series such as "The Big Bang Theory "and films like "The 40 Year Old Virgin" are discussed alongside changes in consumption practices and the mainstreaming of cult media. Following this, theoretical chapters consider issues of gender, representation, nostalgia and the influence of social media. Finally, extended case study chapters examine in detail the connections between the fan community and the commodities bought and sold. Topics discussed include: The San Diego Comic-Con and the cult geographies of the fan convention Hollywood memorabilia and collecting cinema history The "Star Wars "franchise, merchandising and the adult collector Online stores and the commercialisation of cult fandom Mattel, Hasbro and nostalgia for animated eighties children s television "
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2014-02-24
Millennial Fandom by
No longer a niche or cult identity, fandom now colors our notions of an expansive generational construct--the millennial generation. Like fans, millennials are frequently cast as active participants in media culture, spectators who expect opportunities to intervene, control, and create. At the same time, long-standing fears about fans' cultural unruliness manifest in rampant stories of millennials' technological over-dependence and lack of moral boundaries. These conflicting narratives of entrepreneurial creativity and digital immorality operate to quell the growing threat represented by millennials' media agency. With fan activities becoming ever more visible on social media platforms including YouTube, Facebook, LiveJournal, Twitter, Polyvore, and Tumblr, the fan has become the avatar of our digital hopes and fears. In an ambitious study encompassing a wide range of media texts, including popular television series like Kyle XY, Glee, Gossip Girl, Veronica Mars, and Pretty Little Liars and online works like The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, as well as fan texts from blog posts and tweets to remix videos, YouTube posts, and image-sharing streams, author Louisa Ellen Stein traces the circulation of the contradictory tropes of millennial hope and millennial noir. Looking at what millennials do with digital technology demonstrates the molding impact of commercial representations, and at the same time reveals how millennials are undermining, negotiating, and changing those narratives. This generation--and the fans it represents--is actively transforming the media landscape into a dynamic, culturally transgressive space of collective authorship. Offering a rich and complex vision of the relationship between fandom and millennial culture, Millennial Fandom will interest fans, millennials, students, and scholars of contemporary media culture alike.
Call Number: PN1992.55 .S74 2015Publication Date: 2015-08-15
Sportista: female fandom in the United States by
The typical female sports fan remains very different from her male counterparts. In their insightful and engaging book, "Sportista," Andrei S. Markovits and Emily Albertson examine the significant ways many women have become fully conversant with sportsOCoacquiring a knowledge of and passion for them as a way of forging identities that until recently were quite alien to women. a "Sportista" chronicles the relationship that women have developed with sports in the wake of the second wave of feminism of the late 1960s and early 1970s. The changes women athletes have achieved have been nothing short of revolutionary. But, as Markovits and Albertson argue, womenOCOs identities as sports fans, though also changed in recent decades, remain notably different from that of men. "Sportista" highlights the impediments to these changes that women have faced and the reality that, even as bona fide fans, they OC speakOCO sports differently from and remain largely unaccepted by men. In the series Politics, History and Social Change, edited by John C. Torpey
Call Number: GV715 .M35 2012Publication Date: 2012-08-31
Pop Culture Freaks by
Love it or hate it, popular culture permeates every aspect of contemporary society. In this accessibly written introduction to the sociology of popular culture, Dustin Kidd provides the tools to think critically about the cultural soup served daily by film, television, music, print media, and the internet. Utilizing each chapter to present core topical and timely examples, Kidd highlights the tension between inclusion and individuality that lies beneath mass media and commercial culture, using this tension as a point of entry to an otherwise expansive topic. He systematically considers several dimensions of identity--race, class, gender, sexuality, disability--to provide a broad overview of the field that encompasses classical and contemporary theory, original data, topical and timelyexamples, and a strong pedagogical focus on methods. Pop Culture Freaks encourages students to develop further research questions and projects from the material. Both quantitative and qualitative analyses are brought to bear in Kidd’s examination of the labor force for cultural production, the representations of identity in cultural objects, and the surprising differences in how various audiences consume and use mass culture in their everyday lives.
Call Number: HM621 .K5293 2014Publication Date: 2014-03-04
