Skip to main content

Library Tutorials

Basic tutorials on using library resources, evaluating information, plagiarism, and more.

UT Libraries Website Tutorials

Use the information below to help you navigate the re-designed UT Libraries website. If you have further questions about how to find something on the website, please reach out to us via chat or by using one of our other contact methods.

 

Clicking the links below will jump to the help section for each topic.

Searching the University Libraries Website

Search using the University Libraries Website

Access Databases

Access Course Reserves

Accessing Library Resources

Find a Subject Librarian

Access Research Guides

Request Library Instruction

My Account and Library Loans

Reserve a Room

Access Interlibrary Services

Getting Help

Contacting the Library

Access Chat with Us

View Library Tutorials and Videos

Access University Libraries FAQs

Library Information

View Library Hours

View Library News

Find Maps of the Library



Search using the University Libraries Website

Which search you will use on the University Libraries website is dependent upon what type of information or resource you are searching for.

Books, Articles, Databases, etc.

For books, articles, databases, and other collection resources, simply type your information (such as title, author, or subject) into the search bar and click Submit. This searches the library's One Search.

One Search keyword search.

Before clicking Submit, you can further filter your search by using the drop-down menu to select One Search, UT Collections, or Course Reserves (which are items placed on reserve for specific courses).

What’s the difference between One Search and UT Collections?

  • One Search conducts a search that includes all items within the UT Collections as well as articles and most databases.
  • A UT Collections search includes physical items held at the library (such as print books, e-books, media, etc.) but not articles and databases.

Search options - One Search, UT Collections, Course Reserves.

Or you can focus your search by using the Advanced search option, or Browse the library's holdings.

Advanced and Browse search options.

Website Search

If you are searching for other resources provided by the library (such as available Research Guides, Interlibrary Loans, or Internet Access Policies), you may want to use the Our Website search option. This option will search the University Libraries website and not resources such as books, articles, and databases.

Our Website keyword search.

Return to the top of this page.



Access Databases

Through One Search

You have a few options when it comes to accessing databases from the University Libraries homepage. First, if you know the title of the database you’d like to access, simply type the title into the search bar and click Submit. You will be taken to a list of results, and the database should be near the top (if the library has access).

One Search example with database title.

Query results searching for database title.

Using Research Tools

On the library homepage, you will also find a section titled Research Tools. Clicking this item will open a group of databases and guides that are filtered by subject.

Accessing databases by subject from the homepage.

Searching by Subject, Type, or in Alphanumeric Order

Alternately, you could select the Articles & Databases link under the Find Materials heading. Here you can access databases by name, by subject, by type, or you can view a complete list of databases in the A-Z Databases list.

Accessing databases using the Articles and Databases link.

Return to the top of this page.



Access Course Reserves

Course Reserves are items placed on reserve for specific courses. These materials have a limited loan period and can be retrieved from the Public Services Desk (Circulation) on the 2nd floor of Hodges Library.

There are a variety of ways to view materials reserved for your course on the University Libraries website. You can type the course number, instructor name, field of study, or even the material’s name (if you happen to have it) into the search bar. Then select Course Reserves from the drop-down menu and click Submit.

One Search using Course Reserves option.

You will then be taken to a results list, and, depending on how specific your search was, you will see reserved materials for the instructor, the course, or the item itself.

Query results showing course reserves.

Return to the top of this page.



Find a Subject Librarian

Subject librarians provide expertise within specific disciplines - generally in the form of research guides. To view a list of these librarians, and their area of experience, select the Subject Librarians link under the Research heading on the University Libraries homepage.

Accessing Subject Librarian from library homepage.

Return to the top of this page.



Access Research Guides

Research Guides are available for a variety of topics and fields via the library website. These guides provide useful resources and reference materials from subject matter experts. They are accessed by selecting the Research Guides link under the Research heading on the University Libraries homepage.

Accessing research guide from library homepage.

Return to the top of this page.



Request Library Instruction

Have questions about receiving specific instruction from the library staff about a course? You can request instruction or browse the DIY Library Toolkit from the Library Instruction page, which is accessible on the University Libraries homepage via the Request Instruction link.

Request instruction from library homepage.

What are some of the topics covered?

The Library Toolkit includes information on Citing Sources & Plagiarism, Research Guides, and Using Canvas. Requested Instruction sessions can be customized to most course topics or even specific assignments.

What is Library Instruction?

Library instruction helps students learn how to find, evaluate, and cite sources. These sessions introduce students to the full range of library resources and services available to UT students, both on- and off-campus. The librarians leading the sessions teach students how to identify and access relevant information resources, how to distinguish between scholarly and popular sources, how to effectively use library databases, and how to avoid plagiarism. Working in consultation with teaching faculty, librarians can also develop unique instruction sessions tailored to specific assignments, research topics, or course themes. Please note, if you Request Library Instruction, you must complete the request application prior to January 22nd for the Spring 2020 semester.

Return to the top of this page.



My Account and Library Loans

On the University Libraries site, you will find access to My Account. This is your personal library account, where you can access materials you have checked-out, fines/fees, requests for materials, and messages.

To view your library loans, as well as the other My Account options, access the University Libraries website and look for the My Account link below the search bar.

Accessing your library account from the homepage.

Enter your NetID and password. Under the Overview tab, you will see a brief list of the various My Account options (such as Loans, Fines, Fees, and Requests). Toggle through the available tabs in the navigation bar to view more information about each. Materials that are currently (or previously) checked-out will be displayed in the Loans block or under the Loans tab.

University Libraries My Account page with Loans highlighted.

If you have conducted a search and are no longer on the library's homepage, My Account is accessed by clicking your NetID (or Menu if you are not logged into your account) in the top right corner.

Return to the top of this page.



Reserve a Room

There are several rooms and room types that can be reserved in the library - including study rooms, presentation rooms, and studio spaces. To reserve these rooms, access the University Libraries homepage and look for the Reserve a Room link below the search bar.

Reserving a room in the library from the homepage.

Select the room type/location you would like to reserve and use the calendar to select your desired date/time. (Note: Not all room types can be reserved by students.)

Return to the top of this page.



Access Interlibrary Services

Interlibrary Services (ILS) is a method of obtaining materials not available at the University Libraries. ILS provides short-term (generally two weeks) access to materials, and requests can be made through the Interlibrary Services link on the University Libraries homepage.

Accessing Interlibrary Services from the library homepage.

Return to the top of this page.



Contacting the Library

Need to communicate with someone from University Libraries? Well, there are plenty of ways to get in touch without having to visit. (Although, we’d love to have you stop by!)

Chat with Us

From the University Libraries homepage, and from most other pages within the library site, you will find a Chat with Us button that moves around the page with you. As long as the library is open and a staff member is available, you can chat with a member of the library staff. If the library is not currently open, or if no staff is available, you can still submit a question via chat.

Chat with us icon.

Ask Us Now

Chatting is not your only option. You can also text, call, email, or schedule a one-on-one, in-person session. For more information about these options, select the Contact or AskUsNow option from the University Libraries homepage.

Accessing Ask Us Now and Contact on library homepage.

FAQs

Alternately, if you’re more of a DIYer, you can browse the libraries' FAQ page, which is also accessed from the University Libraries homepage.

Accessing frequently asked questions from library homepage.

Return to the top of this page.



Access Chat with Us

Throughout the University Libraries website, you will see a button labeled Chat with Us. On most pages the button appears as an oval that follows you as you scroll through the page; however, if you are conducting a search or viewing the FAQ page, the Chat with Us option is an orange tab. As long as the library is open and a staff member is available, you can chat with a member of the library staff. If the library is not currently open, or if no staff is available, you can still submit a question via chat.

Chat With Us icon.     Chat With Us icon.

Additional contact resources can be found on the libraries' Ask Us Now page.

Return to the top of this page.



View Library Tutorials and Videos

Basic tutorials on using library resources, evaluating information, plagiarism, and more are available through the libraries' website. To access these guides, click on the Tutorials link from the University Libraries homepage.

Accessing tutorials from library homepage.

Return to the top of this page.



Access University Libraries FAQs

The University Libraries has accumulated a list of Frequently Asked Questions that can be accessed from the library’s homepage by clicking the FAQ link.

Accessing frequently asked questions from library homepage.

What kind of information can be found in the FAQs?

Questions deal with policies, procedures, and general queries - such as how do I print/scan in the library, how do I reserve group study space, where is the library's auditorium, etc.

How do you search the FAQs?

You can browse through a list of topics or type your question’s general subject into the search bar and use the filters (Topics, Keywords, and Groups) to narrow your search.

Frequently asked questions keyword search.

What happens if you can't find an answer using the FAQs?

If you cannot find an answer to your question, you can also use the options in the Need help? box to contact the University Libraries staff or Submit Your Question, which allows you to submit a specific question, enter extra details, and even upload an image or file. This option can be found at the bottom of the query page.

Accessing library contact information from the FAQ page.      Submitting a question on the FAQ page.

Return to the top of this page.



View Library Hours

Daily Opening/Closing Times

There are multiple library locations around campus, each with their own opening and closing times that can fluctuate depending on the time of year. To find the locations and current hours of each library, access the University Libraries homepage and look for the Libraries & Locations heading. There you will find a list of library locations and the current date's opening/closing time for each.

List of libraries' daily opening and closing times.

Calendar of Opening/Closing Times

If you would like to view the opening/closing hours for an upcoming or previous date, check out the Hours page, which is accessed via the University Libraries homepage. Here, you will also find semester hours and exceptions to general opening/closing times when the libraries may be closed, such as holidays. This page also includes hours for specific locations inside Hodges Library, like The Studio and Special Collections.

Accessing libraries' hours through the homepage.

 

 

Return to the top of this page.



View Library News

There’s always something going on at the library. To check out the latest news and events, visit the Recent Events and Upcoming Events sections near the bottom of the University Libraries homepage or navigate to the News & Events page, which is also found on the libraries' homepage under the About University Libraries heading.

Recent and upcoming library news features.

Accessing library news and events through the homepage.

Return to the top of this page.



Find Maps of the Library

Sure there are books at the library, but there’s also so much more. The only problem - how do you find everything?

Hodges Library

Hodges Library can be a bit overwhelming, but luckily there are maps on every floor of the library across from the elevators. You can also access floor maps through the University Libraries website. From the homepage, select the Maps and Directions link under the About University Libraries heading.

Access a floor map of Hodges Library from the homepage.

On this page, you will find a PDF map of each floor as well as a list of materials and services that can be found on each.

DeVine, Pendergrass, Hoskins, and Law Libraries

Although floor maps to these branches of the University Libraries are not available, they each have their own websites with useful details and resources specific to each branch.

George F. DeVine Music Library

Pendergrass Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine Library

Hoskins Library Storage & Reading Room

Joel A. Katz Law Library

Return to the top of this page.