Selected Databases
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database covers magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers and is a good place to start for any subject.
- Eight Centuries
A vast scholarly database for finding published material from the 12th century through 1960.
- JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Gale Literature Criticism
Criticism published from an author's own time to the present as well as biographical and bibliographical information. Browse by topic, author, and popular literature works.
- Literature Online
A collection of English and American poetry, drama and prose. Plus, biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources.
- Gale Literature Resource CenterBiographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
- MLA International Bibliography
Index of research in literature, language, and folklore. Also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus. Coverage from 1920 to present.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps, photographs, statistics, and other primary source documents from the 19th century. Focus is British.
- Project Muse
Full-text of scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Resources for Socio-Cultural History
- America : History and Life with Full Text
Indexes scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada. Some access to full-text articles is available.
- Everyday life & women in America : c.1800-1920
Primary source material addressing 19th and early 20th century issues including politics, social and gender issues, religion, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, pastimes, and more.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Primary source documents from 1490 to 2007 related to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes projects and archives with reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
UTK Libraries has access to the basic edition and content added through 2019.
UT Special Collections
Unique materials on the Civil War can be found in the Libraries' Special Collections, first floor Hodges Library. Additional items may be located by searching the Libraries' catalog.
- UT Special Collections' Digital Civil War CollectionThis collection includes full-text of diaries and letters from 1839-1869.
Sites Related to Authors from the American Romanticism and Transcendentalism Eras
- UVA Multi-Media Archive - Uncle Tom's Cabin and American CultureThe browse mode gives you the most direct access to the story of Stowe's story as an American cultural phenomenon.
- Walden PondWalden still inspires the conservation ethic that Thoreau first articulated in his writings.
19th Century Newspapers
Access to these databases, except when noted otherwise, is limited to UTK users.
- American PeriodicalsIncludes the full run of the Southern Literary Messenger (1834-45) and Garrison's Liberator (1831-65).
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
A collection of 19th century newspapers, including U.S. political party newspapers and news dailies that shaped the nation.
- Proquest Historical NewspapersCivil War and Reconstruction era titles include Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, Hartford Courant, Baltimore Sun, NY Times, NY Tribune, and San Francisco Chronicle. Dates vary. You can select newspapers to search from this page by clicking on change button at top of page. Link searches both newspapers and periodicals together.
- African American Newspapers. (Legacy) 1827-1909
A collection of nineteenth and early twentieth century African American newspapers. In 2024, database moved from the Accessible Archives platform to History Commons platform.
UTK has access to parts 1-13 & part 12 supplement (1927-1909)..
- African American Newspapers. Series 1, 1827-1998Series 1. The full text of over 200 U.S. newspapers published by or for African Americans.
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1993Full-text of U.S. newspapers. Comprised of two databases: Early American Newspapers Series 1 - 3 and 20th-Century American Newspapers Series 1 - 3. Covers 1960-1993.
- Chronicling America : Historic American NewspapersHistorical U. S. newspapers digitized under the auspices of the Library of Congress. UT Libraries are part of this cooperative venture and have added selected Tennessee newspapers.
The site is open to all researchers. - The Civil War Part I: A Newspaper Perspective
Full-text of Civil War newspapers (The NY Herald, The Charleston Mercury, and Richmond Enquirer). In 2024, database moved from the Accessible Archives platform to Coherent Digital's History Commons platform.
