Primary Sources
- Proquest Historical NewspapersIncludes Arizona Constitution, Atlanta Constitution, Atlanta Daily News, Baltimore Sun, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Detroit Free Press, Hartford Courant, Indianapolis Sun, Los Angeles Times, Nashville Tennessean, New York Amsterdam News, New York Times, New York Tribune St. Louis Post-Dispatch, San Francisco Chronicle, Wall Street Journal & Washington Post. Dates vary. Link allows user to search both newspapers and periodicals together. To change the titles searched, click on the "change" link at top of page.
- American PeriodicalsFull-text access to periodicals published between 1740 and 1940. Can be searched in combination with the Proquest Historical Newspapers. Link allows user to search both newspapers and periodicals together. To change the titles searched, click on the "change" link at top of page.
- Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers
Digitized historical U.S. newspapers. The UT Libraries has added selected Tennessee newspapers to this cooperative venture.
- Black Studies Center
Resources related to Black Studies, including scholarly journals, essays by top scholars, historic indexes, and historical black newspapers. Coverage from 1900 to current.
- The Nation Archive Premium EditionFull-text access to The Nation, America's oldest weekly magazine with 135+ years of reporting, opinion, and criticism.
- ProQuest History VaultPrimary source materials including the records of the NAACP, Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters and Southern Christian Leadership Conference as well as the papers of key individuals.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes projects and archives with reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
UTK Libraries has access to the basic edition and content added through 2019.
- Associated Press Images Collection
Contemporary and historical images from the Associated Press.
- Films On Demand
A collection of thousands of educational streaming videos in the Humanities and Sciences. Browse by topic and popular producers.
- Academic Video Online
A multidisciplinary streaming video collection containing documentaries, films, interviews, music, news programs, and performances.
History and Medieval Studies Librarian
Parade, Virginia, 1922
1925 March on Washington
Click here to see film footage of Washington march.