Many articles are available online through the UT Libraries databases. If you are doing research on a specific topic use the databases listed in this guide, or select from the list of SUBJECT DATABASES.
If you already have article citations and want to find the full-text, here are two quick ways to get online access.
If you know the title of the article, place it in quotes in the search box and click "search."
If you have the article citation, use the CITATION LINKER to locate the full text article in a UT Libraries database. Click on the embedded link. Enter the citation into the appropriate fields and click "Go." A window will pop up with the option to click to go to the full text of the article if available.
Check this out if you experience accessing problems.
If you do your research a lot off-campus, check out this link for some convenience measures for you.
Use one of these UT Libraries Research Guides for quick tips on finding the business information you need, whether a library database, a website, or a book.
Are you new to business information research? Not a problem. This Business Research Center will guide you to identify useful resources in the field of business information research. Clicking the tabs above will direct you to a particular page on various topics within the business research series. Each page focuses on relevant research resources such as books, magazine/journal articles within or outside the library system. Even more than that, you will find suggested databases or free web resources for your research. If you still have no idea how or where to start doing your research, visit AskUsNow to chat with our librarian on duty at the Reference Desk, call us at (865) 974-4351 or just drop by the Reference Assistant Desk on 2/F Hodges library.
Here is a list of handy references to look up business jargons or terminologies and policies templates.
In Factiva, click on "All Publications" next to "Source", then click on "Remove". The Source will change to "All Sources". Click on it and type in "Wall Street Journal" into the search box.
In LexisNexis, Use "Search the News" section, type "New York Times" into the search box under "by Source Title", and key in your search terms in "Search For".
If you find Factiva and LexisNexis inconvenient to browse, consider browsing the journal websites such as WSJ, NYT to identify your articles, and then use one of these databases to look up the articles by title.
Note: The Hodges Library has NYT in e-version only.
= = = Harvard Business School Cases = = =
Due to copyright restrictions, Harvard Business school case studies are unavailable through the library or its course reserve service. As per the Harvard Business School Baker Library's Inter-library loan policy, HBS cases: Baker Library is prohibited from copying cases.
You can order a print or electronic case for a fee by going to their website. If you need a case for a class, ask your professor to register with the Harvard Business Publishing Educator's website so that you can get cases at a discounted price.
The Harvard Business Review does not include the Business School cases, however it does publish one case study abstract per issue. The Harvard Business Review is available online via Business Source Complete database. Select "Case Study" under Document Type in combination with company names or terms of interest for old cases.
= = = Harvard Business Articles = = =
Starting from August 2013, some changes are made to Harvard Business Review (HBR) article access via databases. Please see the attached list (down below) with 500 articles that HBR limits their access in EBSCO Business Source Complete database. These articles are "read only", meaning no download to print or save on a disk. Some viewers may find it inconvenience. An alternative is to get the in-print version at the UTK Libraries.
The UTK Library System has a print subscription and a microfilm subscription to Harvard Business Review. The Call number is HF5001.H3
As per EBSCO, these 500 articles are the ones that HBR has chosen. It is a static list and it will not change yearly. However, HBR owns the content and can certainly make a change again if they choose to. These articles are clearly marked "read only" in the database in order to differentiate them from the rest of HBR articles.
Also check out Harvard Business Review's feedback about using these article as course materials on FT.com ( - "These articles remain available for researchers and research use – we simply limited the means by which they can be assigned and distributed as course materials."