It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This research guide will help students find and cite primary source materials, with special attention to resources related to topics frequently covered in ENGL 102 courses.
The library is a freely available collection of resources, including text, audio, and video with new items being added all the time. There are sub-collections for some particular bodies of material including the "american rare historical medical journal" and the "state medical society journal collections".
This collection contains materials that are categorized by the history of medicine, instructional from doctors, nursing, patent medicines (quack remedies), public health, self-help, and organized by Library of Congress subject headings.
Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain.
The collection emphasizes the role played by a racially and ethnically diverse cast of Texan disability rights activists, many of whom attended or have worked at UT Arlington, in fighting for equal access to education, work, union membership, public transit, and sports in the late 1960s.
This collection's documents and visual stills show the cultural and social history of people with disabilities across the lifespan and diagnosis categories. The records detail everyday practices, dominant ideologies, and alternative perspectives.
collection of primary sources exploring the social and political history of the disability movement from the 1960s to the present. Investigate related projects on artists with disabilities and the Self-Advocacy Movement.
This collection chronicles deaf life in America through photographs from the past two centuries. The online exhibit is a scaled-down adaptation of a traveling exhibition (active from 2001 to 2006) that highlighted the social and cultural history of deaf people in the United States.
Offers access to various images documenting the efforts of the American Eugenics Movement to breed better humans during the 20th century. Offers insight into the social stigma attached to mental illness during this era. Click the "enter the archive button" to launch its module.
One of the world's major resources for the study of medical history. They also offer a growing collection of material relating to contemporary medicine and biomedical science in society. This collection includes free digitized material and original documents in their archives and manuscripts.